Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,265 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #99

Jul 112016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (air bags). The part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The VIN was not provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Stampford, CT, USA

problem #98

Jul 182016

Grand Cherokee

  • 44,846 miles
The airbag indicator light is on. I took it to adel Chrysler dealer to investigate. The said "44846 open in orc module need to replace orc module" I investigated and discovered Chrysler recall P67 for 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. However, when I contacted Chrysler, they said my VIN number was not included in the recall. My car has the exact same problem as the recall describes yet it is not included in the recall!! I think it should be included and that Chrysler should replace the orc module at no charge. While Chrysler did offer to give me the part free, I would still have to pay labor $150. I think it should be done free. So I am filing this complaint. Meanwhile my airbags won't deploy until this is fixed. The NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000

- Adel, IA, USA

problem #97

Apr 152016

Grand Cherokee

  • 44,000 miles
Takata, on April 15, 2016 I had a head on collision with a 2004 Ford pick up truck on state highway 28 in seneca SC the Jeep was totally destroyed and I suffered multiple serious bodily injuries. The airbags did not deploy. If the airbags had deployed it would not have concluded in broken ribs, broken hand, multiple cuts and bruises and the loss of 90 % of my site. Even the state trooper said he had never witnessed such a travesty.

- Walhalla, SC, USA

problem #96

Dec 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Leander, TX, USA

problem #95

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Have 2 recalls, P36/NHTSA 14V-391 and P67/NHTSA 14V-643, that have yet to be fixed. The P36 is from August 2014 and P67 from approx 1yr ago.the dealer, now apple Chrysler/Jeep hanover, pa, told me I am on a waiting list due to no parts to fix for P36 and have asked them several times for P67 to include during normal service. Neither have been fixed to date. Wrote Chrysler some 6 months ago about the problem and they passed me to the dealer who said they would get back to me - still no response. Emailed a complaint to Chrysler Corp again today. My wife only drives the vehicle when she must, for fear it may catch fire or the passive restraint system to fail with grandchildren aboard. These recalls, over a year old, shows Chrysler has no regard for it's customers letting them drive unsafe vehicles for a long period of time.

- Hanover, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #94

Oct 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts) and 15V461000 (equipment); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issues. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #93

Jun 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V634000 (electrical system) and 14V634000 (air bags, seat belts). The parts to do the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Aravada, CO, USA

problem #92

Dec 222014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #91

Dec 042015

Grand Cherokee

  • 24,000 miles
I was in an accident in this vehicle and the air bags did not deploy.

- Almont, MI, USA

problem #90

Apr 162013

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,000 miles
Bought new in April 2013. Since then, Jeep has been in dealers service dept for many electrical problems, transmission problems, down loads to control modules and front and rear bumpers just falling off. Radio was replaced, wiring harness replaced, many control modulars replaced, generator and battery replaced and the dealer even added an extra negative wire to the Jeep to stop the exterior and interior lights from just turning off and on, altering the Jeep design. My Jeep then began turning on and off certain controls, like the wipers would just come on and off, the radio would go up and down in sound then the whole screen would go black, turning off on its own, dealer had to replace the entire radio system. Recent repairs were the transmission, which have been an ongoing problem within month of purchase. The Jeep would not go higher the 2nd gear. Dealer had to remove certain codes, replace with new codes and reprogram the tcm control module. This has been done many times. Just last month, the front and rear bumpers just began to fall apart. Dealer had to send Jeep to a body shop for repairs. The Jeep is in mint condition and aways has. It's service record is proof of proper mainteance on schedule. On one occasion after the dealer attemptedto finx the lights from going out and had the Jeep for sevral weeks, the dealer told me they go the lights to at least not go out but it still has a slight flicker. When I told the dealership that's not fixed right, the dealer told me that they considered the repairs commercially acceptable. It's been almost a year since I hired an attorney to address this under the lemon law but Chrysler continues to drag this issue out without addressing the safety issues my family continues to endure on a daily basis. Asking the attorney to become more involved, I was told they have to do what the law allows

- Williamstown, NJ, USA

problem #89

Mar 162015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 11/12/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 1/4/2015

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #88

Dec 292014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V643000 (air bags) and 15V461000 (equipment); however, the parts were not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repairs. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #87

Sep 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • 11,240 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was parked, it suddenly accelerated independently and crashed into a building. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred while being outside of the vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 11,240.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #86

May 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V634000 (electrical system), 14V636000 (electronic stability control), and 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oakwood, GA, USA

problem #85

Aug 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Carson City , NV, USA

problem #84

Jan 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lascruces, NM, USA

problem #83

Feb 162015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to complete unintended side curtain air bag deployment and occupant restraint control module recall notices. The consumer referenced recall numbers 14V643000, 15V041000 and 15V041000. Chrysler informed the consumer, there were no such recalls.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #82

Dec 222014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 20,100 miles
Event occurred December 22, 2014. After multiple monthly check engine lights and "replace" of the computer, the vehicle information center gave a warning of "incorrect def detected." (only mopar def had been used). Within 10 miles the vic warning stated "vehicle will not restart in 200 miles." Return to the dealer again after the previous visit 3 days prior to "reflash" the computer indicated a recent tsb for replacement of the catalytic converter. I also had them check the def pump and nozzle which was clogged with crystallized def. After two weeks of waiting with them not able to find a catalytic converter and new oxygen sensor I was forced to trade the vehicle at a loss. (Chrysler would not offer any help on the trade). Update 9/15/15 on June 7, 2014 the traction control light illuminated, the steering sensor shorted out. On August 12, 2014, the check engine light illuminated and the PCM software was updated. On August 14, 2015, the clockspring was replaced. The engine light illuminated several more times. The catalytic converter was replaced. Updated 10/01/15 updated 12/23/15.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #81

Jun 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 09/10/15

- Weaverville, NC, USA

problem #80

Jun 162015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 14,561 miles
Made an appointment for the recall since I got the recall notice. Appointment confirmation number #X03qbqoq38 with napleton Chrysler in kissimmee, fl. They verified the part was in. Showed up for appointment and after two hours, I got an oil change, tire rotation some updates and no safety recall. Totally unacceptable that I had to take a day off work for a recall I have been waiting on since October and it did not happen. These recalls are just scams to get the owner to have other work done. I can't believe a national Agency is involved with this type of scam. Re: P67/NHTSA 14V-643....updated 08-06/15

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?