Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

8.6

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,245 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Feb 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000 (electrical system) and 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Far Rock Away, NY, USA

problem #24

Feb 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V634000 (electrical system) and 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Crowley , LA, USA

problem #23

Sep 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts), 14V634000 (electrical system). The dealer was unable to determine when the part would become available to schedule the recall repairs. The contact called the dealer for weeks and was not able to schedule an appointment for both recalls. The manufacturer was notified and was not able to provide a reasonable timeframe of when the recalls would be performed. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Marion Center, PA, USA

problem #22

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V634000 (air bags, seat belts) and 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the parts were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/31/15 updated 06/24/2015

- Weslaco, TX, USA

problem #21

Jan 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- North Bellmore, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

Aug 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Fort Hood, TX, USA

problem #19

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V634000 (electrical system), and 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #18

Dec 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts) and 14V391000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the parts were unavailable. The dealer stated that only a limited amount of parts were available and placed the contact on a waiting list. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wausau, WI, USA

problem #17

Dec 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts) and stated that the parts needed were unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #16

Dec 082014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts), NHTSA campaign id number: 14634000 (electrical system), NHTSA campaign id number: 14V391000 (electrical system), and NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Mailed out 01/13/15 updated 02/02/15 updated 02/19/15

- New Berlin , WI, USA

problem #15

May 202014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000 (electrical system) and 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the parts needed for both recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs to be performed. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/22/15. Status updated 03/25/15.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #14

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,900 miles
Was driving in the last leg of my 1100 mile trip and warning lights of my seatbelt being unbuckled and airbag maintenance required. Dealership in Alabama said it was the orc mod that is bad.

- Long Branch, NJ, USA

problem #13

Jul 192014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 5,767 miles
Incident: While operating vehicle, visual display screen went black (no data). Computer attempted reboot and displayed a vehicle phone requires service message. Simultaneously, a service air bag and driver seatbelt unbuckled warning visual and audible displayed on the instrument panel and would not shut off. Computer continued to attempt rebooting. History: The repeated rebooting of the computer has been occurring several times a month since it was purchased in June 2013. Three dealer attempts to repair have failed to correct the rebooting. Dealer has not replaced any hardware, reportedly only reloaded software. A search of the internet regarding these issues display page after page of related problems with this vehicle.

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #12

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 11,000 miles
As I was driving the car the seat belt and air bag warning lights came on, but the seat belt was buckled. The warning said driver seat beat was unbuckled and the air bag system warning light came on with a warning message. Brought car to dealer, who informed me that the parts are back ordered for a month - what does that say about the part.

- Darnestown, MD, USA

problem #11

Jun 182014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 11,500 miles
During a trip of approx 250 miles, after 4 hours of driving the vehicle exhibited numerous alarms as follows; "air bag system requires service", "drivers seatbelt disconnected", "front passenger seatbelt disconnected", and "vehicle phone requires service". at all times both driver and passenger had their seatbelt on, positively connected. The vehicle would randomly repeat the chimes as if the alarms were coming in repeatedly. After approx. 1/2 hour, all alarms reset. 2 days later on the return trip, about 1 hour into the trip the same problems as listed above repeated itself, except it will no longer reset. Presently vehicle, upon startup goes through the above mentioned alarms with the seatbelt light, and airbag light constantly on. After researching this problem on Jeep forums for the WK2 model, their appears to be number failures of the orc module for this vehicle. My vehicle has not been analyzed by Chrysler at this time, but a service date is scheduled. Currently as stated by a Chrysler employee, there are 400 orc modules backorderd for this year vehicle.

- Millersville, PA, USA

problem #10

Jun 132014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 25,055 miles
Alert came up stating airbags need to be serviced. Then alert came on saying drivers seatbelt not fastened (it was buckled). I pulled over and put the car in park. Turned the engine off and restarted. Alerts came back on. Also came up with alert that onboard service/emergency phone needed to be serviced. Took to dealership and they said it is the orc module. The part is back ordered and I am concerned about driving the car for several weeks without functioning airbags. Also, not sure if there is an issue with seatbelts given the alert.

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #9

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10,855 miles
Purchased a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo in June of 2013. Have experienced no problems with operation throughout first 10031 miles driven. Departed on extended vacation trip at end of May. After traveling 824 miles, air bag light came on with alarm and dashboard notification advising to have air bags serviced immediately. Shortly thereafter, the seat belt alarm activated with the bell warning, advising that the driver side belt was not engaged, when it was securely set. This condition would continue throughout each driving day. I have now traveled over 3400 miles, experiencing the same annoying, and unsafe condition, including the cruise control now turning off without warning. I have checked with several dealerships, only to be told that this problem could not be identified. There remains 3000 miles to be traveled to return to my home. I do intend on meeting this situation head on through my dealer with Jeep.

- Coraopolis, PA, USA

problem #8

May 092014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 12,500 miles
On May 9, 2014 my husband & I were driving on the freeway when all of the sudden the seat belt & airbag lights started alarming. I immediately referenced our vehicle guide and followed the instructions, contacting the dealership right away. My car was evaluated 3 days later and I was informed that my entire airbag module was non-functional and needed to be replaced. It has now been a month that I have been driving without functional airbags because the part is apparently on back order at Chrysler. Not to mention the fact that I was told that there is no way to disable the alarms while awaiting the fix, so I have to drive with the distraction of constant "dinging" everywhere I go. This is a serious safety concern! in general, this vehicle has been a pain since I purchased it!! three recalls in one year, a tire that needed to be replaced just after purchase (pretty sure it had a hole when we drove it off the lot), and now this. I definitely would not purchase this vehicle again.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #7

May 262014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 20,250 miles
1. allegedly repaired two weeks earlier, the "ocr, " an airbag sensor, failed. This part apparently is located under the front passenger seat. "service airbag system" was displayed. 2. on Monday, May 26, 2014 a seat belt warning appeared on the electronic display and a chime rang for 10 minutes or so. Both the driver and the passenger in the front seat were belted in. 3. on Monday, May 26, 2014 the cruise control became inoperative. The electronic display showed "cruise control unavailable." In the past the forward collision warning (fcw) has shown phantom alerts, telling me to "brake! brake! brake!" even though there no vehicles or objects in front of the Jeep. At other times, the fcw showed no alert even though another vehicle suddenly appeared in front of the Jeep.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #6

May 312014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Airbags system failed and rendered car unsafe to drive. Passenger airbag disabled even when passenger was in the passenger seat. At the same time adaptive cruise control failed while being in use which potentially could result in a crash. Drove 5H hours home and then dropped the car at the dealer. Issue connected with failed orc module. Numerous similar incidents reported by other drivers on internet forum. Failure always results in loss of airbags, seat belts pretension, adaptive head restrain and adaptive cruise control, forward collision warning system.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?