Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,321 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Mar 112016

Grand Cherokee

  • 42,874 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I believe there to be a defect with the air suspension compressor in this vehicle, and the same model from other years starting from 2011 until the current model year. At the time of submitting this complaint, there are approximately 200 orders of this part on back order across Canada, and I was told it would take up to 2 months before the part is available for installation. This sounds like a manufacturing defect. I was simply driving on the highway when the display in the car told me to "service air suspension immediately". I drove straight to the dealer to check it out. This part needs to be investigated further as I am very clearly not the only one experiencing issues with major failure of this part, which is crucial to the safe operation of the suspension in this car. Please see the following links for more people who experienced this: www.jeepgarage.org/F109/quadra-lift-air-suspension-failure-77262.html www.jeepgarage.org/F107/quadralift-failed-22444.htm

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #26

Jun 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle shook violently without warning. The failure only occurred when towing a motor home. In order for it to stop, the vehicle had to be brought to a complete stop. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 8,000. Updated 02/05/16

- Venetia, PA, USA

problem #25

Jan 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 4,960 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the gear was shifted into park and the vehicle rolled approximately ten feet backwards. The vehicle shifted into reverse independently. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 4,960.

- Howard Beach, NY, USA

problem #24

Nov 272013

Grand Cherokee

  • 2,210 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was in a level parking lot with a boat and trailer attached. Vehicle was in park configuration with engine running. Vehicle was left unattended for about 1 minute and it rolled about 100 feet, through the parking lot and across a road and down a levee where it hit a tree on the left front side. The driver was not in the vehicle when it hit the tree. The California highway patrol arrived at the scene and there was no citation issued. There was no other property damage other than to the vehicle and the boat trailer. The insurance company paid for the damage to the vehicle less the deductible.

- Shingle Springs, CA, USA

problem #23

Jul 312015

Grand Cherokee

  • 16,850 miles
The 2014 Grand Cherokee summit, was serviced on 7/30/15. I had the tires rotated and an oil change. The next day, I got on the freeway and proceeded to do 65mph when the front end and or the steering wheel started shaking violently. I am getting the tires balanced/serviced on 8/19/15 to see if that will fix the problem.

- Bedford Hts, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Oct 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V392000 (suspension) however, the part needed to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mount Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #21

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recently purchased a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. At highway speeds the vehicle will turn, not drift but turn, to the left. I have had the vehicle in for service three times for this issue each time by the service department at cross Jeep in louisville. I was told today that the Chrysler engineers have determined that this issue is "normal" for the 2014/15 Grand Cherokee because of the air suspension. To me this is certainly not normal. At a minimum this is a nuisance problem but also a safety issue when a vehicle will turn to the left on its own. I am very concerned about this issue and equally concerned about Chrysler response or rather lack of response.

- Elizabethtown, KY, USA

problem #20

Jul 172014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 320 miles
The contact owns 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland. The contact stated that the steering wheel vibrated with force when driving over 60 mph. The dealer rotated and balanced the tires several times, however the failure was not corrected. The vehicle was also take to a tire specialist and an independent mechanic, who both inspected the vehicle and advised the contact that the tires were operating normally and the failure could have been due to a defective suspension. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 320. Updated 12/30/14 updated 05/29/2015

- North Wales , PA, USA

problem #19

Oct 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V392000 (suspension); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Blair, NE, USA

problem #18

Sep 042014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
Noticed vehicle has creaking noise from the rear portion of the car. Especially when driving at low speed. Suspected was the rear suspension busing. Made an appointment at the dealership to check up.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #17

Jul 072014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 1,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I saw grease leaking out of both half shaft boots on front wheels and brakes car is in shop to have half shafts replace hoe ever don't no when my car will be fixed.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #16

May 292014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 185 miles
Both cv axle boots leaked all the grease out. Had the axles replaced with new parts from the mfg, and both boots leaked again after only 475 miles or less. Appears that the bands on the boots are not tight enough, or the boots may be too short. They seem to pull apart if wheels are steered close to maximum radius. The issue is that the grease is slung all over the wheels and onto the front disc brake assemblies. This can cause loss of brakes or severe braking issues that can lead to a serious accident. I called Jeep customer service and they are aware of the issue but told me no recall is current. They called my dealer in wilmington nc, and I have another appointment to replace. These will be the third set of cv axles. The Jeep forums online are full of this issue. Seems to be a problem with vehicles built around March/April 2014. This should be a recall with a recognized approved fix. There are probably several vehicles that are affected by this and the owners are completely unaware of the problem as it requires you to look for it. Dangerous.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #15

Jun 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • 455 miles
Driver's side front outer cv joint boot slipped due to an improperly-installed boot clamp and the grease from the joint migrated to the brake splash guard, suspension components, and inside of the wheel on that side. No grease apparent on the brake rotor at this time, however the dealer, grapevine Dodge Chrysler Jeep, in grapevine, tx, has instructed me to drive the vehicle to them for service in a few days. Any grease on the brake rotor could cause a brake failure on that side (leading to loss of control) and would require some parts to be replaced. I understand that this is a common problem with Jeep Grand Cherokee manufactured in March and April of 2014, however the dealer's service advisor whom I spoke with appears to be unaware of the trend and largely ignorant of the danger that it presents.

- Justin, TX, USA

problem #14

Jun 112014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 1,165 miles
Front cv boot clamp failure: Noted grease on left front wheel, looked underneath to find axle grease splattered all over inside of the rim, brake caliper, and most front left axle components. Clamp which holds the cv joint boot in place at the wheel was missing and cv boot was off, allowing grease to escape from cv joint. The same problem has been reported numerous times on this site, as well as on the Jeep owner forums, and seems to affect 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee built between early March and mid-April. Many owners have reported both cv boot clamps failing (both front axles), at different times. At this point Jeep has not issued any type of recall for the issue. The affected axle has been since replaced, after a 6 day wait for the part.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #13

May 302014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 375 miles
Purchased brand new Jeep Grand Cherokee overland 4X4 with a 03/14 build date on May 26, 2014. On May 30th, 2014.....5 days later......noticed an excessive amount of grease on the inside of both front rims. After researching the issue, came across a blog on jeepforum.com that described and provided pictures of others with same build date that had experienced the same problem. Notified Jeep customer care hotline of the issue and they claimed to have no knowledge of issue. Took vehicle to dealership it was purchased from and they diagnosed the issue as a loose clamp on the front cv driveshaft axles. Both sides had to be replaced. Dealership claimed to be unaware of the issue affecting a larger number of Jeep and Dodge owners. How many individuals need to die/be hurt for a recall to be issued for this factory defect? www.jeepforum.com/forum/F309/factory-defect-warning-grease-front-wheels-3-14-build-date-2352729/index18.html.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #12

May 242012

Grand Cherokee

  • 2,000 miles
I purchased my car on 4/5/14 and took it to the dealer on 5/24/14 to have a hitch installed. I received a call from service stating that as soon as they raised my car they noticed that both front axles were "shot". I was told that my car was "undrivable" and by no means could they allow me to take it until the problem was resolved. They gave me a rental. They were unsure as to the reason why until June 2nd when they told me that there was a batch of front axle clamps that were defective, allowing front axle petroleum fluid to leak out. My mechanic told me that had all of the fluid leaked out, my car would spontaneously stop, potentially causing a crash. All cars manufactured from around March-April 20014 have this problem. To my knowledge, new owners are not being notified. I was fortunate enough to have brought it in before an accident.

- Newtown, PA, USA

problem #11

May 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • 2,400 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that there was grease leaking from underneath the vehicle. The contact discovered that the clamps of the cv joint were not connected. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the cv joint housing was not connected. The clamps on both sides were hanging loose and the rubber housing was cut open allowing the grease to leak. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The vehicle had not been repaired because the part was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 2,400.

- Schererille, IN, USA

problem #10

May 212014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 1,757 miles
Brand new Jeep Grand Cherokee (less than 1800 miles). Discovered oil and grease in the inside of the front rims. Took vehicle to dealership and was told that the cv joints on both of the front axles had failed. Advised by dealership that it would not be too safe to drive because of possible freeze/seizure of the axles. Turned vehicle in for warranty repair. Found online (including this site) that this is common on new vehicles from 2014 production dates. Vehicle is now scheduled to get replacement parts approximately on 5/30, but no guarantees. Notified Jeep (Chrysler llc) of the issue and opened an internal complaint case.

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #9

May 232014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 196 miles
I noticed grease coating inside of front wheel while washing car. Upon inspection, the cv boot appeared ajar and the assembly was exposed. Only 170 miles on the vehicle before failure of component. With a little research on Jeep garage forum, many consumers are complaining, specifically with build dates around March 2014, which this car is presumed built around. Unknown if second failure of passenger side cv boot is immanent.. car is now in the dealer lot awaiting assembly component.

- Glen Mills Pa, PA, USA

problem #8

May 082014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 694 miles
I purchased a brand new Jeep Grand Cherokee on 4/29/14. On 5/8/14 (694 miles), I noticed black grease all over the inside of the front passenger side wheel. Upon closer inspection, I could see grease leaking from the cv boot all over the wheel, axle, shock and other suspension components. I took the vehicle to the dealer and a replacement half axle shaft was ordered to replace the defective one. I received the vehicle back with the new half axle shaft on 5/13/14. Two days later, on 5/15/14 (817 miles), I noticed the exact same problem on the front driver side wheel. I took the vehicle back to the dealer and another replacement half axle shaft was ordered. However, the part is now on back order and there is no estimate from the dealer on when it will be available. The dealer will not release the vehicle back to me until the defective half axle shaft is replaced with a new one. This is a major safety issue because the leaking grease could get on the brake discs which would result in problems stopping the vehicle and could potentially cause accidents and/or serious injuries. This is a common problem among new Jeep Grand Cherokee owners. Hundreds of affected owners are discussing the problem on internet forums (see www.jeepgarage.org/F73/grease-in-both-front-wheels-normal-73976.html and www.jeepforum.com/forum/F309/factory-defect-warning-grease-front-wheels-3-14-build-date-2352729/). the Dodge durango uses the same front axle parts as the Jeep Grand Cherokee so both vehicles are affected by this defect. There are likely thousands of people driving these vehicles with no idea that the front axles are defective. Jeep/Dodge/Chrysler has done nothing to notify affected owners or remedy this issue.

- Hamilton Square, NJ, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?