Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

The 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee also has the same transmission issues.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
61 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,728 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 9 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Mar 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles


Our new 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited shifted out of park with the engine running while parked at the end of the driveway. My wife had stopped the vehicle, applied the brakes and shifted the vehicle into park. She left the engine running and exited the vehicle while leaving the door open. After she walked away from the vehicle it started moving forward along the driveway towards the attached garage of our house. She chased after the car after it started to slowly roll away and she caught up to the car and tried to get in, but could not fully get in. All she could get in was her right foot to step on the brake and as she was holding onto the steering wheel as the car was still moving. Trying to get in further, her left foot and whole left leg buckled underneath and behind her and she could not then use her left foot to hoist herself into the car. So she grabbed the shift thinking she had to put it back into park but could not see to confirm and also tried to push the ignition 'off' button but the car was still running even though she pushed the off button as her right foot was still on the brake. After the vehicle finally stopped she then she fell back onto the ground trying to recover her lost footing (left foot and leg) and then rolled over to get back up on her feet and then sat in the car to check that it was in park again (the engine was still running). She then shut off the vehicle and with intense pain hobbled to the house screaming in pain while calling out to me. After she was later admitted to the hospital emergency room, had X-rays and a ct scan it was confirmed that her left knee injury and leg pain was due to a fractured knee from this incident...updated 05/02/16

- Saylorsburg, PA, USA

problem #18

Dec 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • 200 miles
On December 5, 2014, I accepted delivery of a new 2015 model year Jeep Grand Cherokee overland 4X4, equipped with an 8-speed paddle-shift automatic transmission and "keyless enter ?N go.? on December 12, 2014, I was travelling with a friend. When we reached our destination, I pulled to the side of the paved street, placed the vehicle in ?park, ? pressed the ?on off? button to shutoff the engine, and exited the vehicle through the driver?S door. The passenger had exited the front passenger door, and was coming around the rear of the vehicle. (it should be noted that neither I nor my passenger had to ?unlock? our doors to exit the vehicle, confirming I had placed the vehicle in ?park.") as she approached the left rear of the vehicle, she remarked that I had not shut the vehicle off. As I replied, "yes, I did, ? I noticed exhaust coming from the vehicle?S tailpipe. I returned to the driver?S door, opened the door, reached in and pressed the ?on off? button 2-3 times; the vehicle would not shut off. As I was pressing the ?on off? button I believe I heard the engine ?rev? and the vehicle began travelling in reverse. I was caught between the open driver?S door and the vehicle and drug along. I reached in and grabbed the steering wheel in an attempt to pull myself in and gain control of the vehicle. I was unable, and finally let go of the wheel and dropped into the middle of an intersection. As the vehicle proceeded across the intersection it backed into a wooden fence where it came to rest, idling. A responding sheriff?S deputy arrived on the scene, and he told me he was unable to place the vehicle into ?park." I sustained soft tissue injuries to my leg(s).....updated 04/25/16

- Litchfield, MN, USA

problem #17

Aug 072015

Grand Cherokee

  • 56 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. After parking the vehicle and returning to it, it was discovered that the vehicle had shifted independently into reverse and crashed into another vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 56.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #16

Aug 242015

Grand Cherokee

  • 150 miles


After reversing out from a parking spot, I used the electronic shifter to put the vehicle in park (by nudging the shifter forward with foot on the brake) so I could quickly retrieve something from the ground; as soon as I exited the vehicle, I felt it pull away, apparently in drive (which would have required me to nudge the shifter backwards), and it rolled forward and struck a fence post before I was able to get back in and get my foot on the brake. This damaged the front bumper and trim, requiring repair by a body shop. The brand new vehicle was purchased only 9 days prior to the incident.

- Hanford, CA, USA

problem #15

Sep 182014

Grand Cherokee

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 5 mph, the shift lever failed without warning. The contact mentioned that if the brake was not engaged, the vehicle would roll away. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 11,000.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Dec 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While parked, the vehicle unexpectedly rolled across a five lane street, crashed into a stop sign and an unoccupied parked vehicle. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The driver side of the vehicle sustained severe damages. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they could not duplicate the failure. The exterior damages were repaired. The manufacturer was notified of failure. The approximate failure mileage was 2,000.....updated 04/25/16

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #13

Jul 112015

Grand Cherokee

  • 89 miles


Pulling away from traffic light, transmission appeared to be stuck in either first or second gear, and would not shift to another gear. Attempting to accelerate (got up to 20mph) resulted in the engine over revving and the oil pressure to exceed 90 pounds. The check engine light did not come on. After turning off vehicle and letting it sit for approximately 30 minutes, drove the vehicle and everything appeared normal. Will be taking vehicle to dealer for diagnosis and repair.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #12

Jul 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,500 miles
The contact rented a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was parked on a slope, the vehicle shifted into drive without the brake pedal being depressed. The vehicle crashed into a metal post and the air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 9,500.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #11

Apr 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving and approaching a traffic light, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle violently accelerated. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 09/03/15

- Southhampton , PA, USA

problem #10

Jun 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • 4,300 miles
Vehicle was put into park while running. The vehicle then started to roll backwards while still in park and then collided into another parked vehicle. While the vehicle was rolling backwards 3 other occupants proceeded to evacuate the vehicle before it collided with the other parked car. The evacuation of the vehicle left the doors open which, when the vehicles collided, left the doors of the rolling vehicle (the Jeep) unable to be closed.*updated* the driver left the vehicle to go into a gas station, the shift indicator showed the vehicle to be in park. The vehicle started to rollaway, the two children and the adult passenger evacuated the vehicle as they thought it might roll into street traffic and be struck. A child was injured exiting the vehicle as the vehicle collided with another parked vehicle, and then continued on rolling into a ditch. A bystander jumped in the vehicle to try to stop the rolling and noticed that the shift indicator was showing the vehicle was in park.*smch....updated 04/25/16

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #9

Jun 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • 2,500 miles


I travel for a living, own and operate many vehicles. I recently rented a Grand Cherokee for a week of sales in mo. The combination of the keyless ignition and electronic shift are very dangerous for the following reasons: To start, you put your foot on the pedal and push the button. No problem. The electronic shift does not have intuitive, detente or positive gear positions. It requires specific, counter-intuitive movements that must be learned, carefully executed and tediously watched: On two occasions, I put my foot on the brake and pushed the button to turn off the vehicle. Wrong! I came back to a vehicle that was still running. I also thought the transmission was in park 3 times when it wasn't and got out of the car only to have it start moving. One of those times the engine was still on. Another time it rolled back into a parking lot while I was visiting a customer. After 2 days I trained myself to be extra-extra careful when shutting off and exiting the car. No one should have to be that careful or go through an unnatural ritual to turn off a vehicle. I own and drive a manual transmission, an automatic and a motorcycle. I have driven throughout the us and europe. I have never experienced anything as potentially dangerous in a modern vehicle....updated 07/30/15

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #8

Apr 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • 3,600 miles
I took my 2015 Jeep Cherokee latitude in for a recall software update to protect durability of the 9 speed automatic transmission. Driving home the vehicle was at 5500 rpms at 50 mph. I took it back to the service dealership and was advised there was a transmission code and as they had no transmission tech I'd have to get it to a Jeep dealer 30 miles away. The servicing dealership put this on me to do. They did not mention any safety risk of driving its there until I expressed concern. They then had me take it home and call roadside assistance. A month later it is 35 miles away sitting at a Jeep dealer waiting for a new transmission. The vehicle has 3600 miles on it. Communication and customer service has been poor. I've requested twice direct E mail communication with my case manager to track exchanges but have been ignored beyond phone communication.

- Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #7

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at various speeds after disengaging the accelerator and brake pedals, the vehicle accelerated without any control. The vehicle shifted into different gears independently without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,000.

- Gronton , MA, USA

problem #6

Sep 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • 28,000 miles
When moving the gear shift all the up from drive to park the car is not always in park but reverse. This has happened multiple times and the car will begin moving backward when I take my foot of the brake. It seems like the computer is not quick enough to recognize the movement of the shifter. Very dangerous but now I am aware of it.

- Methuen, MA, USA

problem #5

Mar 142015

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,150 miles
A week prior to the major issue the vehicle was showing signs of mechanical problems. These problems included the wipers turning on when they were in the off position, simultaneously the radio cut out (this happened several times that day). The next day while driving to work at 6:30am the interior lights on the dash and doors blinked on and off several times. I contacted the dealership that day but was not able to get an appointment right away. Four days after this all started I was driving the vehicle going about 40 mph and slowed down to about 10-15 mph to make a right turn into a parking lot, I went to give the car gas to complete my turn and realized that the car had lost power. I coasted into a parking spot and looked down at the evic screen to realize the car was in neutral without my doing and would not restart itself. Many mechanical lights were popping up on the evic screen, which I took pictures of for records. I had the vehicle towed to the dealership that day.however I am scared that if they "fix" it, it could happen again. On Monday 3/16/15: The dealership told me that the wiper/radio issue was fixed with an "update" but the master tech that works for the dealership requested to drive my car home with him to make sure the problems are solved. I have never heard of a tech taking home a car before but I agreed to let him since I feel I am at the hands of Jeep mercy in fixing this issue. I am very displeased that a jgc depending on the model worth $40-70K has many complaints loaded against them with little end in sight of the company wanting to resolve these complaints. I refuse to put my safety and others safety in jeopardy! this company knows something is wrong with their cars and they do nothing about it but keep saying its a "software update". I have read the forums and many other people have similar issues, its not just "software".

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #4

Mar 112015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 300 miles
When driving at approx 25 miles an hour the car seemed to change gear and cause a jerking and jolting motion.

- Ft Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #3

Jan 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 20 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle hesitated in a jerking motion. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times. The technician informed the contact that the vehicle was functioning as designed. The contact no longer drives the vehicle because of the potential safety hazard. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 20.

- Port Orchard, WA, USA

problem #2

Dec 102014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 300 miles
I returned this Jeep twice to dealer letting know that the transmission had a hard bang between shifting, they continue to say that this normal.the service manager says it because of the electronic system, I told them that I have driving for over forty years and have heard of such thing and this sounds more like a torque converter issue not a computer, needless to say they continue to say nothing is wrong. I am in the process of scheduling another appointment because it continues to get worse.

- Berlin, CT, USA

problem #1

Dec 122014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 174 miles
The 2015 I had just purchased with the V-6 and 8 speed transmission due to my 2014 Dodge durango with the same engine and transmission being bought back by Chrysler, is exhibiting the same unsafe shifting and stalling conditions.

- Gresham, OR, USA

Not what you are looking for?