Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,908 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

Jan 012012

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) in January of 2012. Since that time, the dealer has stated that the parts were unavailable to repair the vehicle. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Forest , VA, USA

problem #28

Jun 182014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Went to dealer to have recall notice N46/NHTSA 13V-252 resolved. "Chrysler intends to inspect your vehicle and install an original equipment manufacturer (oem) trailer hitch where appropriate, free of charge (parts and labor) to better manage crash forces in low-speed impacts. Wanted to have this recall notice, as well as others addressed but, dealer claims that parts are unavailable in order to satisfy the recall notice. A trailer hitch is unavailable 7 months after a recall notice"?"!!!!. I bet if I brought it in to have a trailer hitch installed, they'd take it right in and charge me for it. This is way beyond a reasonable time for repair. Would like this and all other recalls associated with this car addressed asap! thank you.

- Nanuet, NY, USA

problem #27

Jan 032014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the remedy part was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/04/2014

- Downington, PA, USA

problem #26

Jun 022014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to rear structure reinforcement recall. The consumer received three recall notices. However, each time he called the dealer, he was informed the parts were not available. Updated 08/27/14

- Elmer, NJ, USA

problem #25

Apr 162014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 219,000 miles
On 20 May 14, vehicle was brought to waldorf (Maryland) darcars (Chrysler Jeep) after dash air bag icon came on steady. I was told that air bag would not deploy as long as the icon was lit. Occ. Rstr. Control module #56010501-ag needed to be ordered ($266 for part only), but the dealership already had 22 on back order....22!...at a single dealership! so now I have to ride around w/O an operable air bag until Chrysler comes through with this critical part. Makes you wonder how prevalent this problem is.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

May 082014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was unable to have the vehicle repaired because the part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had surpassed a reasonable timeframe to initiate the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the contact's concerns. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Amsterdam, NY, USA

problem #23

May 022014

Liberty

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification related to NHTSA campaign number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #22

Apr 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to occupant restraint control module filter circuit and fuel tank leakage recall notices. The consumer was informed the parts were not available, and she would be notified of the availability. The consumer stated too much time has elapsed, since she received the recall letter in Sept 2013, and Jan 2014.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #21

Dec 102013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/27/14

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #20

Jan 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified and they could not provide an expected date for the remedy part. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/27/14

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #19

Mar 122014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before March of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Orleans, FL, USA

problem #18

Mar 102014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure ) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have a remedy available before March of 2014. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #17

Jul 092013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she was very concerned for her safety since the parts were still not available for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000(fuel system, gasoline, structure). The dealer and manufacturer were notified of the delay. There are no failures at this time. The current mileage was 113,000.

- Newport, KY, USA

problem #16

Dec 312013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available. The manufacture was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Middletown , NY, USA

problem #15

Feb 032014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to fuel tank recall notice. The consumer submitted an illegible receipt.

- Coshocton, OH, USA

problem #14

Feb 062013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and 12V527000 (air bags). The contact stated that both recall campaigns had surpassed a reasonable time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available for them to complete the recall on the vehicle. The manufacture was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/14/14

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #13

Sep 092013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Item #1 occupant restraint control (orc). I am chagrined with the tardiness of Jeep/Chrysler motors corporation in their tardy compliance with this recall (12V-527). Originally issued on January 3, 2013, my daughter (former owner of this vehicle) visited a Jeep dealer in Washington DC. They said "no parts are yet available...we will contact you when they are". at a later day (May 2013) my daughter visited the local Jeep dealer (courtesy motor sales, Inc., altoona pa) and inquired about the problem...again "we cannot get the parts, they are not available". I purchased the vehicle from my daughter and have visited courtesy motor sales twice since I purchased (latest August 27, 2013) with the same answer "we don't have the parts available and we will contact you when they arrive"! it is inconceivable that replacement parts are not being made available for this very dangerous problem! at the present time I am unable to drive the vehicle as the air bag light is now on constantly and the recall notes that....."a damaged computer chip could cause the airbag light to illuminate, followed almost immediately by an inadvertent deployment of the front airbags (Liberty and Grand Cherokee)......". the recall notice continues by stating that "inavertent deployment of the airbags may increase the risk of injury and the possibility of a vehicle crash". how many more injuries and possibilities of crashing must it take to get action on this? in conclusion, I cannot understand why your recalls are not being "tended to" in an expedient manner. I am getting "lip service" and you are being ignored. If either of these recall problems do happen, both your organization (for not enforcing in a timely manner) and Chrysler motor corporation (for delaying remedy) will be the responsible parties.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #12

Aug 052013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
Learned thru internet search that there are 2 recalls on my 2002 Jeep Liberty: (1) unwarranted airbag deployment and (2) possible gas tank explosion if rear-ended. I called the Jeep customer service line and talked to a matt, who confirmed both recall items. He said I would receive a letter from Jeep telling me how to proceed, but that at this time the parts needed to fix both recall problems were back-ordered. So I am driving a car in which the air bags might explode at any time (my airbag light comes on and off at will) and if I am rear-ended there is a good likelihood that my gas tank will explode. What am I to do if one of these occurs while I'm waiting for the Jeep notification and/or replacements part to be in stock" I am afraid to drive my car now, but have no other options available. What do I do"

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #11

Sep 082010

Liberty

  • 75,806 miles
I am experiencing a rattling sound when driving uphill or downhill through driveway, traveling 5-20 miles an hour. I took my Jeep 2002 Liberty 2wd to get serviced and received recommended repairs: Prosteer control arm with ball joint upper center, remove and install propeller shaft to replace universal joints on both ends, rear wheel bearings, tail pipe is welded to muffler, muffler does not meet design specifications and should be replaced due to exhaust leak as well, remove rack and pinion, complete rack as does not meet design specifications and is leaking. I was driving about 25 mph and my rear right side tire was smoking profusely. I pulled over and noticed the gray smoke from my tire. I took the car to check the rear breaks. They were fine but was told that I had a leak from the exhaust pipe which dripped on to that area. The car has 75,806 miles. I was told that I could loose control of vehicle and entire area can collapse during traffic due to these issues. Aside from these issues, I am experiencing a whistling sound, problems with rear drivers side passenger power window regulator which produces grind-like sound. The window came off and I was told that I needed a new regulator for the window. I'm also experiencing a red stain in engine oil drippage on ground. Finally, strange odor from car -odor continues to be present whether I wash the carpets and seats (smells like mold/mildew or skunk).

- Berwyn, IL, USA

problem #10

Jul 262008

Liberty

  • miles
Jeep Liberty renegade skids and have tendency to slides quite often and especially during rain.

- Katy, TX, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?