Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.8

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,480 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Jan 032014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the remedy part was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/04/2014

- Downington, PA, USA

problem #32

Mar 172014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated parts were not available. Contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer has not been contacted.

- Sauguf, MA, USA

problem #31

Jun 072014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Regarding recall notice N46 / NHTSA 13V-252... Chrysler contacted as to when this recall will be acted upon. Was told Chrysler feels vehicle safe and no need for correction of this problem. Got clear impression that Chrysler has no intention of compliance with the mandated recall. Called NHTSA 1-888-327-4236 and left message to contact with no response. Owner frustrated and confused over safety of this vehicle and future in driving this vehicle or selling.

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #30

Jun 022014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to rear structure reinforcement recall. The consumer received three recall notices. However, each time he called the dealer, he was informed the parts were not available. Updated 08/27/14

- Elmer, NJ, USA

problem #29

Dec 102013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V25200( fuel system, gasoline, structure),however, the part was unavailable to do the repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Downsville, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #28

Dec 122013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
In December 2013, I received a recall notice on the above-noted vehicle. Soon after, I phoned the dealer, moore Chrysler Jeep, peoria, Arizona, to schedule installation of the oem trailer hitch, but I was told they did not have the part. In March 2014, moore Chrysler Jeep sent me a reminder notice that my Jeep needed some maintenance, and that as of December 12, 2013, the vehicle had an incomplete recall. I phoned the service department and made an appointment for the scheduled maintenance, as well as for the hitch to be installed. However, I was told, once again, that the dealer didn't have the part. It has been almost six months since I received the recall notice, but, so far, the problem has not been remedied. I am frustrated and furious! this is an important safety issue, and I want to know why I'm getting the runaround. I don'┐T know where to place the blame, ┐Chrysler or the dealer, ┐but either way, nobody is taking responsibility for this most recent recall with important safety concerns. Why is it taking so long to manufacture and supply the part" does anyone care" please do not suggest that I purchase and install a hitch from some other location and wait for reimbursement. I want to hear from either Chrysler or National Highway Traffic Safety Administration or both very soon.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #27

May 202014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he attempted to have his vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact stated that since the failure was reported in June of 2013 there should have been a remedy available before may of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. There are no failures at this time.

- Parrish, FL, USA

problem #26

Feb 022014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Received a rear structure reinforcement letter from Chrysler and the national traffic safety administration stating that certain 2002-2007 model year Jeep Liberty vehicles contains defect related to motor vehicle safety. Problem: The fuel tank on vehicle has a small chance of experiencing a fuel leak during certain types of rear end collisions. Fuel leakage in the presence of an ignition source can result in an underbody fire. What dealer will do: Chrysler intends to inspect your vehicle and install an oem trailer hitch where appropriate, free of charge (parts and labor) to better manage crash forces in low-speed impacts.... what you must do to ensure your safety: Once you receive your follow up notice in the mail, simply contact dealer right away to schedule a service appointment. We have never received a follow up notice in the mail. I took it upon myself to call the dealer and they were not helpful. They said they were booked with appointments but would give me a call back to schedule a future appointment. I never received a call back. I called again and was left on hold for over twenty minutes. I called again, left a message with customer service and never received a call back. Regarding an individuals safety, it seems it is not of importance to the local Chrysler, Jeep dealer. I received the recall letter a few months ago and yet have not received a call and just about forgot about until my husband asked about it. I have given up on contacting the dealer and hence the complaint letter to you. I am six months pregnant and this should be the least of my concerns but now I have to worry about this along with my pregnancy. Please advise for I would like to get this resolved as soon as possible. Thank you, [xxx] C/O[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) updated 11/17/2014

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #25

May 022014

Liberty

  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification related to NHTSA campaign number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #24

Apr 232014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
You send me a important safety recall notice...twice now concerning the fuel tank on your vehicle has a small chance of experiencing a fuel leak during certain types of rear end collisions. I have called lithia Chrysler Jeep Dodge of tri-cities to get the new trailer hitch put on. They tell me that they have no part number and can not help me. So what is the deal here? I even have heard this on tv...yet you provide me no part to fix my Jeep. Please let me know where I can take it to get this fixed. You say that if we fix it ourselves by installing an omb trailer hitch send receipt to a certain address. I am a disabled woman who can not get this fixed on my own. Chrysler is suppose to fix it. So when is this gonna happen [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Prosser, WA, USA

problem #23

Apr 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to occupant restraint control module filter circuit and fuel tank leakage recall notices. The consumer was informed the parts were not available, and she would be notified of the availability. The consumer stated too much time has elapsed, since she received the recall letter in Sept 2013, and Jan 2014.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #22

Apr 152014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 113,144 miles
Re.: safety recall N46 / NHTSA / 13V-xxx on 4/15/2014, my daughter car brought her car to the Jeep dealership for the second time to have a trailer hitch installed to remedy the fuel tank puncture hazard in case of rear end collisions. Both times the dealership informed my daughter that the parts are not available. After more than 8 months, I believe that Chrysler Corp. Had sufficient time to get these parts and fix the vehicle. Apparently, Chrysler Corp is not intending or able to fix the safety problem with my daughter's car. I am requesting that Chrysler suggests an alternate solution to remedy the situation immediately.

- Aurora, OH, USA

problem #21

Apr 042014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she attempted to have her vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should be a remedy available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Demotte , IN, USA

problem #20

Dec 102013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/27/14

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #19

Jan 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified and they could not provide an expected date for the remedy part. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/27/14

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #18

Mar 122014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before March of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Orleans, FL, USA

problem #17

Mar 102014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure ) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have a remedy available before March of 2014. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #16

Jul 092013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she was very concerned for her safety since the parts were still not available for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000(fuel system, gasoline, structure). The dealer and manufacturer were notified of the delay. There are no failures at this time. The current mileage was 113,000.

- Newport, KY, USA

problem #15

Dec 312013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available. The manufacture was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Middletown , NY, USA

problem #14

Feb 032014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to fuel tank recall notice. The consumer submitted an illegible receipt.

- Coshocton, OH, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?