Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
51 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
69 / 2
Average Mileage:
54,564 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 13 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #218

Apr 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 153,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my 2002 Jeep Liberty into david Dodge in glenn mills, pa to have the M35 airbag recall performed. The airbag light was on. After the recall procedure was performed, the dealership informed me that the light had not gone out and that the front, left impact sensor needed to be replaced ($312). I am reporting this issue so there is a record in case other Jeep owners experience the same thing or, if a later investigation reveals a this was a faulty sensor or, as a result of the original M35 airbag recall issue.

- Kennett Square, PA, USA

problem #217

Mar 192014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Driving down street with no stop signs out of corner of eyes I saw a silver car speeding through a stop sign luckily I saw it early and slammed on my brakes, we hit very hard I hit steering wheel my passenger was injured too, my question is im reading that 2002 Jeep airbags go off easily why didn't mine go off, I bought the car when it was 1 year old but never checked if it had any accidents, its suppose to have airbags in the front and passenger seat, could the dealer have sold me a defective Jeep. The other driver was speeding causing to hit very hard, why didn't the airbag deploy which would have saved me from hitting the steering wheel (I cant remember what else I hit all I know is I was taken in ambulance to emergency room my passenger drove to emergency room cause she didn't want to be put on as board she has a plate in her hip we are both 64 years old. If my car was defective when I bought it in 2003 I need to do something about it. Im reading that those 2002 airbags go off very easily why didn't mine. [xxx].[xxx] bought car in 2003 from royal gate Dodge ellisville mo. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #216

Jul 042012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
I have tried with no success to get the airbag recall issue with my daughters 2002 Jeep Liberty addressed by the local dealers in the houston area. I have been told for going on two years now that, "the part needed is not in stock". I have called the corporate office and still no resolution. I have replaced the clock spring and the light remains on. What must I do to get this problem resolved?

- League City, TX, USA

problem #215

Feb 042014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he attempted to have his vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in November of 2012, there should be a remedy available before February of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #214

Feb 062013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and 12V527000 (air bags). The contact stated that both recall campaigns had surpassed a reasonable time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available for them to complete the recall on the vehicle. The manufacture was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/14/14

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #213

Mar 122013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received two recall notifications of NHTSA campaign numbers: 12V527000 (air bag) and 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that the parts needed to complete each repair was unavailable. The dealer and the manufacturer were unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Lively, VA, USA

problem #212

Dec 202013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received two notices for NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and 12V527000(air bags), and stated that both recalls had surpassed reasonable time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer had not been notified. The contact had not experienced the a failure.

- Carson City , NV, USA

problem #211

Mar 152013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA recall number: 12V527000 (air bag) had surpassed the reasonable time for repair. The dealer was contacted and stated the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lively, VA, USA

problem #210

Jan 032013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bag) and stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 02-28-14 the consumer stated the air bag light on the dash had been turning on and off intermittently for a year.

- Gillette, WY, USA

problem #209

Nov 012012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 101 miles
Was driving at a speed of 25mp and smoke just started coming out of the engine. I called the local fire service, they check it and told me that they did not know what the problem was. Since than, the car airbag light keeps coming on and off. This is scaring me a lot and every time I take it to the garage, the people do not give me good answer.

- Peabody, MA, USA

problem #208

Aug 062013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a recall on my Jeep Liberty 2002 on the airbag that can deploy at any time. Chrysler does not have the parts to fix the problem. It has been months of waiting. I am concerned about my safety driving the vehicle.

- Scranton, PA, USA

problem #207

Oct 032012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The air bag light on my dashboard continuously goes on and off while driving. I took it to my dealership, tempe Jeep in Arizona, on 10/04/2012 and was told they could not duplicate the issue. They also stated that there was no record of the incidents in the truck's computer system. I know a recall exists for 2002 Jeep Liberty's, but according to the dealer my VIN is not within the recall.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #206

Oct 032012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The air bag light on my dashboard continuously goes on and off while driving. I took it to my dealership, tempe Jeep in Arizona, on 10/04/2012 and was told they could not duplicate the issue. They also stated that there was no record of the incidents in the truck's computer system. I know a recall exists for 2002 Jeep Liberty's, but according to the dealer my VIN is not within the recall.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #205

Sep 032013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that there was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 ( air bags) however, the contact was not able to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #204

Nov 162013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice M35/NHTSA 12V-527 months ago. I went to the local dealer in owatonna, mn about 1-2 months after I got it, this last summer, and was told they do not have the parts yet! they told me they would send me another notice when the parts come in. I have yet to receive any such notice. A friend of mine also has a Jeep, and said he went to the faribault location, where he lives, and they fixed his Jeep right away. Mine still has not been fixed. Can you contact them and see what the problem is? owatonna Jeep dealer if you need to contact me, please do so by email, I am seldom by my phone.

- Owatonna, MN, USA

problem #203

Mar 062013

Liberty

  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while the vehicle was at the dealer, the dealer informed her that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign I.D. number 12V527000 (air bag) however, the parts needed to complete the recall service were not available. The dealer also advised the contact that the vehicle was not safe to the drive due to the alarm that indicated that the air bag was defective would sound constantly. The dealer advised the contact that when the alarm would sound, the chances of erroneous and sporadic air bag deployment would increase. In addition, the dealer advised the contact that the clock spring was defective and would need replacing however once replaced, the failure persisted and the air bag alarm continued to sound. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that they did not have a remedy available to correct the failure. The failure was not corrected. The failure mileage was 133,000.

- Sabinal, TX, USA

problem #202

Oct 222013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to the negative attitude from service advisor at dealership, regarding the recall. The consumer was informed the procedure would take all day. Recall # 12V527000.

- Aguadilla, PR, USA

problem #201

Jan 162013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Not long before receiving an "interim notification letter" from Chrysler re: Safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527, my Jeep's air bag light would come on while I was driving down the road. About Jan 2013 I received the interim notification letter telling me that my "occupant restraint control module...has a small chance of experiencing an electrical overstress condition. When I received this notification I called my local Jeep dealer, interstate Dodge-Chrysler in West monroe, la. I was told then and every month since that Chrysler had not sent them the needed part. On Jun 14, parts mgr named steve told me that the part was expected this past month but has not yet arrived. He promised to call me when it was received by interstate Dodge. Having not heard from him, on July 31 I called him again. I left a message which has yet to be returned. About two weeks ago I received a second notification from Chrysler which seemed to indicate that the needed parts were now available. I called interstate Dodge and scheduled the service work for this recall. They did the work today, 11/6/13. I was called and told the issue had been repaired. I picked up the Jeep and drove it home. I have driven it again only to see that the repair was apparently not completed. The air bag light continues to come on and stay on. I called interstate Dodge a few minutes ago and was told that they did the recall work and that the airbag light on the dash is related to another cause. Of course, I would be required to return my Jeep and pay an undisclosed fee for this repair. I should have been told of this continuing problem when I picked up my vehicle. I was not. I do not trust interstate Dodge when they tell me they did the recall work. I do not believe I should have to pay for them to repair my air bag issue since this was the issue to be addressed by the recall.

- West Monroe, LA, USA

problem #200

Aug 152013

Liberty

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that her vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The manufacturer and dealer were contacted and were unable to provide a date when the parts will be available. The air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #199

Oct 312013

Liberty

  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle rear ended another vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact was taken to a hospital where there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 119,000.

- Niagra Falls , NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?