Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
51 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
69 / 2
Average Mileage:
54,564 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 14 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #198

Jul 112013

Liberty

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags). The contact stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated; therefore, the failure was not corrected. The dealer advised the contact that the air bag warning illumination was not related to the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Richomond, VA, USA

problem #197

Mar 202013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated while starting the vehicle, the air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The malfunction also recurred when the vehicle was being driven at any speed. NHTSA recall campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) was associated with the failure; however, the part was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Maple Height, OH, USA

problem #196

Sep 252013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system occupant restraint control module recall notice. The consumer was informed the vehicle needed a L/F and R/F impact sensor and orc sensor. The dealer stated the parts were not available and they needed to be ordered. The dealer informed the consumer the parts were not covered under the recall.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #195

Oct 242013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL- the contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but was informed that the parts were not available. Also, the contact mentioned that the dealer stated that the parts were on back order. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in November of 2012, there should be a remedy available before October of 2013. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 72,107. Kmj

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #194

Oct 222013

Liberty

  • 87,309 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) however, the failure was not corrected. The dealer advised the contact that the air bag warning illumination was not related to the recall service. The air bag warning light failure was related to the computer sensor, which had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 87,309.

- El Segundo, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #193

Jun 292012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while starting the ignition, the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was not further repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000....updated 11-18-13 updated 11/20/13

- Rotterdam, NY, USA

problem #192

Oct 092013

Liberty

  • 151,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that prior to having the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) however, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. Once the recall service was complete, the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 151,000.

- Freeport, IL, USA

problem #191

Oct 102013

Liberty

  • 178,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contacts vehicle was repaired under recall NHTSA campaign 12V527000 (air bags) and he was advised that the air bag light continued to illuminate. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 178,000.

- Sanger, CA, USA

problem #190

Oct 102013

Liberty

  • 153,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact had his vehicle repaired under recall notice NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but the problem with the air bag light persisted. The dealer refused to repair the vehicle a second time. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 153,000.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #189

Oct 012013

Liberty

  • 69,000 miles
I received a recall from Chrysler but my dealer do not responds to my request to change the defect part (ocr) occupant resistant control.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #188

Apr 102013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 and after the remedy repair was performed, the malfunction persisted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 111,000. Updated 11/20/13 the dealer claimed they fixed the air bag issue. However, the light was still on, updated 11/16/13

- St. Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #187

Oct 012008

Liberty

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the mechanic was unable to diagnose the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. The current mileage was 125,000. Returned by usps on 11/14/2013. Second attempt on 11-14-2013 failed.

- Marysville, WA, USA

problem #186

Jun 282012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while sitting at a traffic stop, there was a loud explosion as the air bags inadvertently deployed without warrant. The contact sustained a concussion and severe injuries to the left shoulder, jaw, neck, and upper back as a result of the air bag deployment. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the mechanic stated that an electrical defect had caused the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 48,000. Updated 12/4/13

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #185

Sep 252013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the parts were not available. The contact also mentioned that she has not experienced any failures in regard to the recall.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #184

Sep 182013

Liberty

  • miles
On Sept 18,2013 I took my 2002 Jeep Liberty in to get recall M35 wire harness installed so my airbag light will finally go off and not stay on all the time, took mertens garage 2 hrs to install it, I drove down the road one mile and airbag light came back on again, I took it back to dealership, they told me the recall was for the wire harness any other problems wouldn't be covered. I was not very happy with my results and how I was treated, since I bought my Jeep brand new from this dealership. Iam scared to drive my Jeep with my kids in there in case the airbag would go off on its own! what can I do since iam still having problems with airbag light coming on?? please get back to me. Thank you renee hollinger

- Phillips, WI, USA

problem #183

Sep 012012

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but the parts were not available to complete the recall service. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Succasunna, NJ, USA

problem #182

Sep 172013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) in the mail several months ago and stated that the dealer informed him that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Claermont, FL, USA

problem #181

Sep 152013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 100,694 miles
Jeep hit another car head on air bags failed to deploy.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #180

Mar 012013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had an exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall notification in March 2013. The dealer advised that the part was not available for the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure with the air bag. The VIN was not available.

- Elmwood , WI, USA

problem #179

Sep 122013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notice NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) in the mail several months ago and stated the dealer informed her the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tuscon, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?