NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2002 Jeep Liberty (Page 17 of 24)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
52 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
71 / 2
Average Mileage:
54,504 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 17 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #143

Jul 232013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jeep's M35 orc sensor recall has been closed since January 2013 but parts are still not available to repair the airbag from possibly deploying when it is not supposed to. I keep calling the dealership they say they have no info. I call Chrysler & they say "we are working with our supplier to remedy the recall & make parts available" I think 7 months is unreasonable when I am driving around in a vehicle that could possibly deploy the airbags at any time. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #142

Apr 042013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The dealer was unable to repair the vehicle because the part needed to complete the repair, which was unknown to the contact, was not available. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags), but did not confirm with the manufacturer if the vehicle was included in the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The failure mileage was unavailable. Updated 8/26/13

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #141

Jul 012013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to defective air bag system recall notice. The consumer had been in contact with her local dealer since November 9, 2012, about the air bag defect when she first learned of the recall. She explained that the air bag light was on, and she was concerned, since she is a small adult, that must sit close to the steering wheel. The dealer informed her, there was nothing they could do, except to put her on a waiting list, and they would notify her, when the parts arrived. Her last call to the dealer was May 6, 2013 and she was given the same information.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #140

Jul 102013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received a safety recall M35/NHTSA notice in Jan. 2013 and I understand that this was first issued in 2012. The airbag light has recently come on and off while driving (luckily the airbags have not deployed). Called a local Chrysler dealer to find out about parts and was informed of the same info as in the notice... dealer is waiting on Chrysler to come up with parts or as the service manager put it "instructions on how to fix the problem". I don't understand how Chrysler can get away with and not be held accountable for not addressing and correcting this issue in a timely manner knowing the potential for injury and god forbid death. I for one will not be purchasing any Chrysler products new or used in the future - simply because of the lack of accountability and action on Chrysler's part.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #139

Jul 012013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle air bags system and gas tank recall notices. The consumer was informed the parts were not available for the recall, even though she has been calling since, she received the notice in January 24, 2013.

- Huntington, WV, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #138

Jul 152013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the dealer did not have the parts available for the repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rochester, NM, USA

problem #137

Dec 012012

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle was not repaired in a timely manner per the recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue, but did not provide an estimated time of arrival for the parts needed to provide the recall repairs. The failure mileage was unavailable. The current mileage was 150,000.

- Anchorage , AR, USA

problem #136

Mar 012013

Liberty

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had an exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact recently experienced the air bag light illumination failure and was afraid that the air bag could deploy inadvertently. The manufacturer advised the contact that the part was not available and they did not know when the part was going to become available for repair. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 85,000.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #135

Jun 192013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the dealer did not have the parts available for the recall service. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gurnee, IL, USA

problem #134

Dec 282012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to reimbursement for repairs caused by vehicle M35 related defect. The consumer stated in late December 2012, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where it was confirmed the occupant restraint control had indeed failed which was consistent with the problem described in recall M35. The consumer has been unsuccessful, at trying to obtain reimbursement.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #133

May 012012

Liberty

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated NHTSA recall campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable time to be repaired. The vehicle experienced the air bag warning light illumination failure. The contact was afraid that the air bag could deploy. The manufacturer stated that the part was not available for repair and they did not know when the part was going to become available. The failure and current mileage was 125,000.

- Wanaque, NJ, USA

problem #132

Jan 242013

Liberty

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that after receiving notification of NHTSA campaign I.D. number: 12V527000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control ), the contact called the dealer to schedule an appointment. The dealer stated that the parts needed to complete the repair were not available to remedy the recall. Six months later, the parts were still not available to remedy the recall. The contact did not call the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 87,000.

- Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #131

Jul 082013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
Safety recall notice M35/ngtsa12V-527 was issued Nov 8, 2012.....and as of today's date, July 8, 2013 (8 months later) the dealerships are still saying Chrysler has not made the parts available to affect the repair. Furthermore, the dealerships are telling me I need not be concerned about the airbags inadvertently deploying, which is contrary to what the recall notice states. My 16-year-old daughter drives this vehicle, and I am very concerned for her safety and want immediate repairs done to this vehicle to ensure she does not experience a crash and/or injury due to this known issue.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #130

Jul 082013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2002 Jeep Liberty. I received a recall notice six months ago and the manufacturer did not send a follow up letter regarding the availability of the parts for the repair. The vehicle was not serviced due to parts not being available. The manufacturer was not notified. I haven't experienced a failure. The manufacturer will not repair my vehicle until I receive the 2nd notice.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #129

Jun 302013

Liberty

  • 151,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) however, the parts needed to complete the recall service were not available for repair and the manufacturer did not have an estimated time of arrival for the parts. The failure and current mileage was 151,000.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #128

Jan 032012

Liberty

  • 69,000 miles
My Jeep has been under recall for the airbags since the notice has come out and I have yet to get it fixed. My airbag light comes on and goes off when being driven. This notice was sent in Jan. 2013 and here it is six months later and nothing has been done. For some reason the maker seems to be giving me the run around on parts. Can something please be done so I can get this fixed?

- Maryvile , TN, USA

problem #127

Jun 272013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) and contacted the dealer. The dealer advised that the vehicle would not be able to be serviced for at least a year because they had not received the parts needed to correct the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Elmwood Park , NJ, USA

problem #126

Nov 012012

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the expectancy wait for having the vehicle service per NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time. The dealer advised the contact that the part was not available for repair and they did not know when the part was going to become available. The contact had not experience a failure. The approximate current mileage was 77,000.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #125

Jan 012013

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact experienced the failure when the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The contact was also concerned that the fuel tank failure could occur at any moment. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximated failure mileage was 180,000 and the current mileage was 181,000...updated 08-07-13

- Smithton, PA, USA

problem #124

Feb 082013

Liberty

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that after starting the ignition, the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags), however the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the defect and they were unable to provide an expected date for the part. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Elmwood Park, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?