Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
50 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
68 / 2
Average Mileage:
53,987 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 17 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #130

Jul 082013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles


I own a 2002 Jeep Liberty. I received a recall notice six months ago and the manufacturer did not send a follow up letter regarding the availability of the parts for the repair. The vehicle was not serviced due to parts not being available. The manufacturer was not notified. I haven't experienced a failure. The manufacturer will not repair my vehicle until I receive the 2nd notice.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #129

Jun 302013


  • 151,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The contact later received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) however, the parts needed to complete the recall service were not available for repair and the manufacturer did not have an estimated time of arrival for the parts. The failure and current mileage was 151,000.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #128

Jan 032012


  • 69,000 miles
My Jeep has been under recall for the airbags since the notice has come out and I have yet to get it fixed. My airbag light comes on and goes off when being driven. This notice was sent in Jan. 2013 and here it is six months later and nothing has been done. For some reason the maker seems to be giving me the run around on parts. Can something please be done so I can get this fixed?

- Maryvile , TN, USA

problem #127

Jun 272013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles


The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) and contacted the dealer. The dealer advised that the vehicle would not be able to be serviced for at least a year because they had not received the parts needed to correct the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Elmwood Park , NJ, USA

problem #126

Nov 012012


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the expectancy wait for having the vehicle service per NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time. The dealer advised the contact that the part was not available for repair and they did not know when the part was going to become available. The contact had not experience a failure. The approximate current mileage was 77,000.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #125

Jan 012013

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact experienced the failure when the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The contact was also concerned that the fuel tank failure could occur at any moment. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximated failure mileage was 180,000 and the current mileage was 181,000...updated 08-07-13

- Smithton, PA, USA

problem #124

Feb 082013


  • 95,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that after starting the ignition, the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags), however the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the defect and they were unable to provide an expected date for the part. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Elmwood Park, NJ, USA

problem #123

Nov 122012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The air bag light on my dash would come on and off while driving at all times. I had it looked at in November 2012, the dealership was not sure why they were lighting up was what I was told so the dealership replaced 2 of my front air bag sensors charging me over $200. I received a notice about the air bag sensor recall afterwards in January 2013. I stopped today ( June 20, 2013) to check on getting it fixed and the dealership had no knowledge of when they will get the parts for this recall. This is the 3rd dealership I have stopped at about the recalled part and fixing it. All I am ever told is they don't know when the parts will come in and to call Jeep corporate and ask them questions I have. Over 6 months ago now Jeep gave me a notice of concern about this recall of the air bags possibly deploying, I have had issues with my air bag sensors and feel it is very risky to continue driving my Jeep. I spoke with Jeep corporate in March and she said to expect the parts to be released by late April. Well that has not happened. What is the required time frame for an auto maker to notify owners of a recall and then fix it? I feel this time frame ---- 6 months --- is very unreasonable.

- Hays, KS, USA

problem #122

Dec 122012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
I received a recall for the airbags on my vehicle, talking about the airbag dummy light coming on and how the airbag can inadvertently deploy while driving back in Nov or Dec of last year. The parts to fix it have not been made!!!! now they are issuing another recall for my type of car and they still do not have the parts to fix the first recall! very frustrated that I am driving around a death trap that I paid on for years, and no effort has been made on Chrysler behalf to fix the problem!!!

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #121

Jan 142013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
In January 2013 I received an interim safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527 for my 2002 Jeep Liberty. The recall deals with the orc, occupant restraint control module which if stressed will cause the airbag to inadvertently deploy. Continual contact with my dealership advises that the replacement part is not available, and no direction from Chrysler gives an anticipated date when the part will be secured. The air bag indicator light intermittently does come on in my vehicle while the car is in drive. I have only one car. I am employed. I believe this delay is unconscionable and jeopardizes not only my life but others who might be injured should this cause an accident. The story that Chrysler is 'working' with the manufacturer doesn't fly anymore. More than six months time should be enough to begin to supply the replacement part.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #120

Jun 112003

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles


There are currently 3 recalls on my Liberty. I have made multiple attempts to get service for these recalls from bcp Jeep dealer in smyrna, Delaware to no avail. I am told over and over that the parts are on back order and we'll contact you when they are available. I have a recall on my air bags-they may deploy driving down the road. My air bag light has been blinking for years, which is a symptom of this recall. I also have a part on my suspension that may break due to rust. That recall is 11 years old and still not fixed. Now I have a recall on the fuel tank, which may burst into a ball of flames in a fender bender. I am currently driving a death trap and cannot just go trade this vehicle in. I want Jeep to take responsibility for these recalls and fix them. I am sick and tired of them giving me the run around. I cannot give you exact dates of when I contacted bcp. I have called them many times over the years. I also tried to contact the Jeep dealer in dover, Delaware and spoke to a very rude individual who was no help to me.

- Clayton, DE, USA

problem #119

Dec 152012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The manufacturer and the dealer were made aware of the recall notice and stated that the part needed to correct the repair was not available. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Rockledge, FL, USA

problem #118

Apr 182013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
There is an open recall regarding the airbags inadvertently deploying and since I purchased my vehicle I have been in contact with Chrysler Jeep numerous times trying to fix the issue with the recall and they haven't been able to give any dates as to when the parts would be available for the issue to be fixed. There was a recall open about the airbags since November 2012. On the company's website they mentioned the parts would be available in April 2013, it is now almost July and my safety along with my family is a risk. This is unacceptable.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #117

Mar 022013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 153,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated while approximately 40 mph, the horn independently sounded with the illumination of the entire instrument panel. In addition, when the vehicle was in operation the headlights would remain illuminated continuously even though the control mechanism was deactivated. There was a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags), however the part remained unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and they informed that the defects were related to the recall. The approximate failure mileage was 153,000. Updated 07/30/13

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #116

Jan 152013


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notice NHTSA campaign id 12V527000 (air bags). The contact stated that the recall repair was not made because the parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified; however, they were unable to provide an estimated time that the parts would be available. The VIN was not available. The current mileage was 160,000. Updated 06/28/13 the consumer stated the dealer and manufacturer advised there was an issue preventing the procuring of parts necessary to repair the vehicle. Updated 07/02/2013

- Anacortes, WA, USA

problem #115

Jun 152013


  • miles
I own a 2002 Jeep Liberty and had never heard of a recall on the engine! I did get a notice for the air bag issues months ago and have contacted the local dealer who maintains that the parts aren't available. Didn't some other autos have the same problem" have they been fixed? I don't want to have a wreck and the air bags not deploy and then I become a crispy critter. Nor do I want the air bags to deploy when I'm driving down the interstate doing between 60 - 70 miles per hour. Again, possible crash with burning to death. Someone somewhere needs to get Chrysler to work. Do they need a financial handout" guess I'm gonna have to trade this clunker in and get something other than a Jeep. Too bad cause I love my Jeep.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #114

Jun 062013


  • 104,412 miles
I wrecked my car and hit a cement wall at approx. 35 mph head on and none of the airbags deployed. The radiator was pushed back into the engine along with the tire being pushed out sideways.

- Westerville , OH, USA

problem #113

Apr 102013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 138,104 miles
I own a 2002 Jeep Liberty ltd edition and there are numerous reports on the internet that there are issues with the #2 cylinder valve coming off which in turn beat the #2 piston. I drove my Jeep home from work and parked in the garage. About an hour later I started the Jeep to leave and low and behold the #2 cylinder blew and created major damage to the piston. There have also been reports of a sludge issue on the 3.7L engines. I have never received a recall notice but after speaking with a man that worked for Dodge he confirmed that they did a silent recall on these issues for the 3.7L engine. I spoke with Chrysler and they laughed at my issue saying it was considered wear and tear since my miles are at 138,000. I don't think this issue is very funny and it could have caused me to crash if I would have been driving when the cylinder blew. I have recently had to pay over $3000 to get my repairs done and Chrysler refuses to help with the issue. Had I of known about the engine issues and all of the recalls on my vehicle I would have never bought the Jeep. I am only asking for Chrysler to help with at least half of the repair bill if not all of it. This is a defect and if the engine was correct it would have never blown. This issue has caused me 6 weeks of trying to find a ride back and forth to work as well as two absent days at work. This was a manufacturers defect and they should be held responsible. I also received a recall notice on the air bag and have yet been able to get my Jeep in for that recall as the dealership has stated that they do not have the parts yet.

- Gladstone, MO, USA

problem #112

Jan 072013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
I have experienced a warning light staying on for the air bag system. I took the car to the dealer for this problem a couple of years ago and spent between $300-400 for a repair. In January there was a safety recall by Jeep for a problem with the airbag deploying unexpectedly while driving. This is a serious safety concern and my wife and I fear driving the car. I contacted the dealer to schedule the recall corrective action immediately and was told the part to perform the repair was not yet available. I called again in March and was told I would be contacted when the part was available. I called this week, June 6, and was told by the local Jeep dealer that they had called Chrysler that morning and were told it was indefinite when the part would be available. My wife and I have been limiting our driving for over six months waiting for this recall corrective action. That is unacceptable. People's lives are being put at risk. Please take action against Jeep/Chrysler to require them to immediately provide corrective action.

- Anacortes, WA, USA

problem #111

Dec 152012


  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags), but the parts were not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 170,000. The VIN was not available.

- Wichita, KS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?