Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
51 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
69 / 2
Average Mileage:
54,564 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 19 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #98

Jan 022013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 ( air bags). The contact stated that the part needed fro the recall service remained unavailable since the expected date of service in April 2013. The manufacturer was notified and was unable to provide the time for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #97

May 242013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Received recall notice M35/NHTSA 12V-527 in January. Called Chrysler group recall assistance center on May 24 and was told the part was still not available. They still don't know when it will be. When asked what Chrysler suggests a person should do if this is their primary means of transportation, and it is clearly unsafe to drive if the air bag could deploy unexpectedly. I was told that Chrysler has no suggestions, and that there have been no accidents or injuries caused by the defect covered in the recall. After reading reports on this website, it would appear as if that is not true information. Airbag light stays on while vehicle is running. No failure as of the filing of this complaint.

- Republic, MO, USA

problem #96

Apr 302013

Liberty

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, she attempted to brake to avoid a crash. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle and crashed into the front passenger's side of another vehicle. The contact's air bags failed to deploy. The contact was not injured. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bag) but had not been serviced per the recall prior to the crash. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure and current mileage was 113,000....updated 07-10-13

- Port Jeff Station, NY, USA

problem #95

Jan 102013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that after receiving notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) the contact called a dealer to make an appointment. The dealer stated that the parts were not available to remedy the vehicle. Four months later, the parts still were still not available. The contact did not call the manufacturer. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/20/13 the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing of the failure, but due to the condition of the car, only the obvious was tested. Toyota denied there was a defect.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #94

Dec 072011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 153,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel continuously until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and the dealer was contacted, who advised that the part needed to complete the recall repairs was not available. The contact recently spoke with the manufacturer and was advised that the part remained unavailable and they were uncertain of the release date. The approximate failure mileage was 153,000....updated 07-10-13

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #93

Feb 012013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer advised that part was not available for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The approximate current mileage was 100,000.

- Raporte , PA, USA

problem #92

May 052013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527 we are the owner of a 2002 Jeep Liberty effected by the above recall. Though this may not be the proper reporting mechanism, we have found no other more appropriate to report the fact that Chrysler appears not to be providing parts necessary to this safety defect in a reasonable period of time. We have been in contact with the dealer and now even Chrysler. Our dealer tells us that they cannot act until Chrysler provides parts. This to me seems morally reprehensible if not criminally. What recourse do we have to legally pursue Chrysler for their negligence?

- Galion, OH, USA

problem #91

Feb 012013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags: Inadvertent air bag deployment) and was unable to have the recall service performed because the parts needed to complete the repair had not become available. The contact stated that it had been four months since the recall notification was received and the parts were still not available. The contact had not experienced a failure but was concerned to possibly experience the failure as described in the recall campaign. The manufacturer was not contacted for an estimated time of arrival for the necessary parts. The VIN was unavailable. The current mileage was 116,000 and the failure mileage was unavailable. The VIN was unavailable.

- Gouldsboro, PA, USA

problem #90

May 012013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system failure in vehicle and seeks reimbursement. The consumer stated he experienced an air bag failure in the summer of 2012, and had it repaired by his mechanic. The consumer submitted the invoice to Chrysler for reimbursement. On March 12th, he received a letter from a person with no last name, and a number to call. He received an automated message, to leave his information. On March 26, the automated message had been changed to say there were no representatives to answer calls, and to call back later. On March 28th, the consumer wrote another letter, requesting reimbursement. As of today, there has been no response and no reimbursement. Updated 06/20/13 also, the O2 sensor was replaced. Updated 06/24/13

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #89

May 012013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system occupant restraint control module recall notice. The consumer stated Chrysler was doing little to provide customers with relief from the potential of un-intended air bag deployment in vehicles determined to have an electrical over-stress condition. As of today, no service, as promised, has been provided and apparently parts for repair were still not available. When the consumer contacted Chrysler, they were unable to give him an anticipated parts supply date.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #88

Mar 012013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Submission from lcdo. Re safety recall M35/NHTSA 12 V-527 airbag system occupant restraint control module. The consumer received a safety recall notice several weeks ago. However, the notice stated the parts required to provide a permanent remedy, were currently not available. The notice stated, the consumer would be contacted by mail, with a follow-up notice, when the parts arrived. The consumer decided to contact the dealer, after not receiving a follow-up notice, to have the vehicle inspected anyway. The service appointment was scheduled for March 4, 2013. However, on March 1, 2013, while driving, the passenger air bag inadvertently deployed with a very loud noise, which caused him to crash into another vehicle. The consumer stated the driver's side air bag never deployed. The consumer stated no on came to inspect the vehicle, and he still had not received the follow-up notice.

- Hato Rey, PR, USA

problem #87

Feb 062013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign I.D. number: 12V527000 (air bags), which advised that a second letter would be generated to advise consumers of when the necessary parts would become available. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the availability of parts and the manufacturer advised that they were not sure as to a specific date when the parts would become available. The contact had received the recall notification two months prior to contacting the manufacturer with the inquiry. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gibsonia, PA, USA

problem #86

Mar 012013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) and attempted to have the vehicle repaired over several months. The contact stated that the recall service had exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The vehicle was not serviced per the recall. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dallas , PA, USA

problem #85

Apr 182013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 126,000 miles
Chrysler has issued a notice of recall mailed in Jan 2013. Chrysler recall #: M35 NHTSA recall reference #: 12V527000 so far no parts have been available by Chrysler, and callers to the Chrysler group recall assistance center are not being provided with any estimated date for any parts and repairs. For a safety recall, this is unacceptable. Chrysler seems to be stalling, or not have any intention of fulfilling their commitment. Chrysler should be forced to promptly comply, and communicate completely with their owners. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #84

Sep 012012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Our 2002 Jeep Liberty has had a problem with the airbag system occupant restraint control module for the past 8 months. We received safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527 for this problem Feb.2, 2013. This recall problem has not been resolved in a reasonable amount of time.

- Yountville, CA, USA

problem #83

Mar 312012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Air bag light comes on randomly. I am aware of an investigation that is underway concerning random airbag deployment after a the light illuminates. I felt I needed to report this.

- Clearfield, UT, USA

problem #82

Mar 072007

Liberty

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The contact stated that she took the vehicle to the dealer for inspection where they advised that the air bag control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and stated that they were waiting for the arrival of the parts needed to complete the repair under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags), in which the contact's vehicle was included. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Rock Island, IL, USA

problem #81

Feb 052013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but was unable to have the vehicle repaired under the recall because the parts had were not available. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the part would possibly become available within three months. The contact stated that the lapse between receiving the recall notification and the time of expectancy to have the vehicle repaired had exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The vehicle was neither repaired nor diagnosed for the air bags warning light being illuminated. The failure and current mileage was 78,000. Updated 03/20/13

- Lauderhill, FL, USA

problem #80

Feb 032013

Liberty 6-cyl Diesel

  • 110,000 miles
The airbag light on my daughters Jeep Liberty remains on at all times.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #79

Aug 012012

Liberty

  • 145,000 miles
Where to begin" my airbag light has been coming on for months while driving. I took it to a Chrysler dealership 6 months ago & was charged $100 for them to tell me they didn't know what was wrong. About a month ago, while driving on the highway, my headlights went out, came back on, went out again, and finally I hit my high beams and they stayed on. My engine uses about 2 quarts of oil per week. I have parked on clean surfaces & there is no oil leaking, but it is going somewhere. I can hear a ticking noise coming from the engine area. I called Chrysler's toll-free number today after the headlights went out again, and was informed that my Jeep is under recall for the air bag module, and maybe that is what is causing the lights to go out. This makes no sense to me that one would have anything to do with the other. I told them that I have seen other complaints about the headlights, but they stated that they've had no complaints. I have also replaced front tires three times in the past year for wear on the outside edge. I've had the Jeep aligned, tires rotated as they should be, and they just keep balding on the outer edge. The service tech said that Jeep eat through tires because of the wheel base" this car has all but eaten up most of my income. It is constantly having issues, and I get nowhere with Chrysler.

- St Joseph, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?