Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
51 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
69 / 2
Average Mileage:
54,564 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 2 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #438

Jun 202016

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #437

May 112015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer to complete a manufacturer recall for the air bags. The contact stated that the air bag warning light and seat belt warning light remained illuminated. The dealer was notified of the failure and provided no solution. The contact had a second manufacturer recall repair completed for the ball joints and indicated that it was not completed properly because the dealer refused to perform an alignment. As a result, the vehicle wobbled in an unstable manner constantly. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The vehicle was not repaired. The NHTSA campaign numbers and failure mileage were unavailable. Updated 08/16/16 updated 08/22/16.

- Chillicothe, OH, USA

problem #436

Jun 012014

Liberty

  • miles
Takata recall: I was told by covert Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram located at 8107 research blvd. In austin tx 78758 that I would be contacted once parts are available. That was 2014. Covert kept the notices that were mailed to my home. There were approximately 5 notices. This has now been over a year since my "air bag" warning light first cames on. Warning comes on almost daily. Who will be responsible should something happen to me, or another vehicle should there be an accident? I have share pictures of my dashboard with others. And can provide same pictures to you if you can assist.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #435

Jun 092013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 07/12/16 updated 07/20/16.

- Thomaston, GA, USA

problem #434

Apr 302016

Liberty

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While driving 45 mph in inclement weather, the driver lost control of the vehicle and it slid into a concrete barrier. The air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained face injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed from the crash scene and was completely destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Knoxville, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #433

May 022016

Liberty

  • 186,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While driving at various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 186,000.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #432

Jan 282016

Liberty

  • 195,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall/ the last recall that I had preformed was R06/NHTSA 15V-046 occupant restraint control module. The recall was completed at bobb's Chrysler/cedar lake, in in 01/16. The air bag light stays on continuously, since the recall was performed. I was told to bring it back in for diagnostics, but would have to pay for the test. I would conclude, this is not standard operating procedure, for your dealerships. Please advise. Kara fitzpatrick

- Lowell, IN, USA

problem #431

May 142015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 45 mph, the driver side air bag deployed inadvertently. The air bag warning indicator illuminated prior to the deployment. There were no injuries. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact, an independent mechanic, reinstalled the air bag himself. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage and VIN were unknown. Updated 08/04/16

- Hatley, WI, USA

problem #430

Mar 102015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags). The part was not available within a reasonable time frame so the contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The contact waited for longer than a year to receive the parts from the dealer. The manufacturer was notified and was unable to provide a specific date that the parts would be supplied to the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Napavine, WA, USA

problem #429

Apr 052016

Liberty

  • 190,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The dealer repaired the vehicle according to NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V046000 (air bags) and 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure), but the failure recurred. It was diagnosed that the seat belt sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 190,000.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #428

Mar 172015

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Barrington, IL, USA

problem #427

Apr 052016

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notice of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not notified. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 05/24/16

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #426

Feb 202012

Liberty

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Webster, TX, USA

problem #425

Mar 222016

Liberty

  • miles
This notice of recall since Jan. 2015 and I have not receive any notice to have this repair. Are we waiting for an accident to happen?

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #424

Feb 062015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Yorktown, IN, USA

problem #423

Feb 012014

Liberty

  • miles
Airbag light comes on daily-dealership has no parts to fix possible deployment. I have had car in several times & have been told there are still no parts to remedy the recall.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #422

Mar 082016

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
R06/ NHTSA 15V-046 whitten brothers dealership in ashland Virginia has been contacted about this recall since 04/10/2015. I have been told the part is "back ordered", or that Chrysler has no availability of the part, or "we'll call you" when the part comes in. Who is going to be responsible when the air bag prematurely deploys, and I and my grandchildren are injured, or even worse, killed. Please direct me to my next step. I feel unsafe driving my vehicle. Thank you...[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #421

Feb 242016

Liberty

  • miles
This is takata recall. From last year, my car's airbag light is on sometimes when the weather is hot. On February 24, 2016, my car went to the dealer for repair of the airbag light by the recall, which is free repair, but after the repair, the airbag light is always on. The dealer said that I have to pay $199 to fix the problem. I think they did something wrong because the airbag light is always on now. I called 1-800-853-1403 but they cannot solve the problem.

- Flushing, NY, USA

problem #420

Mar 112011

Liberty

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. When the vehicle was started, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the clock spring failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Las Cruses, NM, USA

problem #419

Mar 032015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Murphysboro, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?