Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
46 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
41 / 1
Average Mileage:
20,591 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #52

Dec 072009


  • miles


I had a front end impact with a guard rail in my 2002 Jeep Liberty at a speed between 50 and 60 mph bringing the vehicle to an almost instant stop. The airbags failed to deploy. I was slammed against the dashboard injuring my knees and my wife is receiving continuing medical treatment for the neck and back injuries she sustained. I contacted Jeep in December 2009 about the issue, a spokesperson for Jeep called me back and told me that, "if the airbags didn't go off then they must not have needed to."

- Orem, UT, USA

problem #51

Jan 222010


  • 89,000 miles
At approximately 8 P.M. my boyfriend and I were traveling at approximately 45-50 mph when the front of my 2002 Jeep Liberty struck the front wheel of another drivers vehicle as they pulled out and neglected to yield the right of way. There was extensive damage to both vehicles which needed to be towed away. We went to the hospital with whiplash, knee, chest, shoulder, and back injuries. The other driver was taken to the hospital in an ambulance. Many people were curious as to why our airbags did not deploy. I think if they had deployed it may have prevented some of the injuries that were caused do to this accident.

- Albany, OR, USA

problem #50

Aug 142008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While turning onto a street, the contact crashed into another vehicle traveling 40 mph. The contact's vehicle was destroyed and none of the air bags deployed. There were no injuries or warnings prior to the crash. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. A police report was filed. The contact's speed was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 89,000. Updated 10/16/08 updated 10/20/08.

- Wartburg, TN, USA

problem #49

Oct 122006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles


: the contact stated while traveling 35 mph, the vehicle was involved in a frontal collision with a tree under normal driving conditions. The front driver and passenger airbags did not deploy. The contact was wearing her seat belt and only suffered minor injuries. The vehicle was towed to an independent auto shop. The car insurance company sent a representative to examine the vehicle and determined that for further examination the vehicle must be released to the insurance company. No further repairs have been made. The vehicle was currently at the auto shop awaiting further examination by the mechanic. The recall # 01V373000 related to the same problem the contact had. Updated 12/26/06.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #48

Oct 032005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,279 miles
The contact stated both frontal airbags failed to deploy. The driver fell asleep while driving at 50 mph, causing the vehicle to collide with a telephone pole and then rolling over. The vehicle was totaled. Although, the driver was wearing his seat belt he sustained injuries to his right arm. No airbag warning lights illuminated prior to the accident. A police report and pictures taken of the vehicle. Were taken. The dealership said according to the computer the airbags should not have deployed. After searching on-line the contact found a recall 01V373000 concerning the frontal airbags. The manufacturer said the recall work had already been performed.

- Harrisville, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #47

Nov 292005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
I struck a concrete base supporting a light post in the drug store parking lot. I had my seat belt on and my head still struck the windshield because the air bag did not deploy.

- Newton, IA, USA

problem #46

Oct 142005

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated on October 14, 2005 twhile driving 30 mph the contact's vehicle was in an accident. The front driver's side was damaged in the accident. Upon impact, the air bags did not deploy. The contact has not spoken with Jeep at this time about the problem. The vehicle was towed to a local garage. This garage has not looked into why the air bags did not deploy. A police report was taken.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #45

Feb 162005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
On February 16, 2005 while traveling eastbound I-80 in salt lake city I hit some black ice and lost control of my 2002 Jeep Liberty. I was traveling freeway speeds and had a front impact along with a driver side rollover and a slide of approximately 100 yards. All of the emergency personnel that responded to my accident voiced shock and concern that none of the airbags deployed. Further, I have heard that if the G-force was not great enough to deploy the side airbags, the Jeep should not have rolled (I have no idea if that is true). I had, and still have, serious concerns about why my airbags did not deploy and do not trust that in the event of another accident they would deploy, regardless of the severity. I contacted Jeep and asked them to look into it. They did do some investigation. However, I was told that because my Jeep was not preserved for their inspection there was nothing they could do. I have sent them several E-mails explaining that I do have photo that document the damage and show that the airbag did not deploy. They have just disregarded my complaints. I also have concerns about the ease in which my Jeep rolled over. This concern has also been dismissed. I would like to know that my family is going to be safe if anther unfortunate accident occurs.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #44

Jan 032005


  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty passenger air bag deployed during the accident but the driver's side air bag did not deploy.** answer required***. the manufacturer denied the consumers claim stating there was not enough force with the main structure of the vehicle.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #43

Mar 212005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45 miles
I was on my way to work, came upon an intersection that a truck was coming to a stop sign. He stopped and than proceded to pull out in front of me. I had no time to react and not hit the truck. I basically T-boned it. It was barely moving and I was doing about 45 mph. At impact. My airbags never deployed. I ended up hitting my head into the steering wheel and 19 stitches into my head and slid down into my seat enough to Ram both of my knee's into the dashboard. My Jeep Liberty was a total loss, $8500 in damages to it. I contacted Jeep and they responded with there was nothing wrong with the airbag system. I just don't believe that a crash with this much impact that were wasn't a problem with the system.

- Stonington, CT, USA

problem #42

Mar 262005


  • 25,000 miles


Consumer's vehicle was involved in an accident and the air bags did not deploy. Vehicle was totaled.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #41

Mar 022005

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The air bag sensor light illuminated on the dashboard for a couple of days. Consumer took the vehicle to the dealer and the impact sensor was replaced. An accident occurred, and the air bags did not deploy. Consumer took the vehicle to dealer for the body work. Consumer contacted Chrysler. However, Chrysler will do nothing to assist the consumer.

- Slinger, WI, USA

problem #40

Jan 202005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The consumer lost control of vehicle while driving 35 mph and hit a metal pole. The consumer refused medical treatment, but sustained a head injury. The dealer and the manufacturer were not notified.

- Barboursville, WV, USA

problem #39

Oct 312004


  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
While driving 45 mph consumer's vehicle was involved in a head on collision. Upon impact, dual air bags did not deploy. No major injuries reported. As a result the vehicle was totaled.

- Prattville, AL, USA

problem #38

Apr 042004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I ordered my Jeep Liberty 7/01 and picked it up 9/01. The morning of 4/4/04 I was driving home and started crashing into trees. The car was spinning, back and forth across the road - hit 3 trees, mailboxes and a telephone pole (hard enough that even though it was the last thing that I hit, it moved enough that it tore the cables out of someone's house). About 50 feet before the 1st tree, was my front passenger tire and about 2 feet of the axle (or whatever holds the rim and tire on the truck). The front of the truck from the right front quarter panel to 1/3 across the front of the truck is up inside the dashboard, the back driver's tire is blown out, the spare tire on the back is smashed, the 2 passenger side doors are smashed and the entire truck is off the frame. I told the tow driver and police about the recall that I'd just gotten that stated that the "a ball joint that has separated from the knuckle could result in loss of vehicle directional control and could result in a crash." I had an appointment to get it fixed 4/6/04...the accident was 4/4/04. My injuries: Airbags didn't go off but I was wearing my seatbelt. I broke my arm (8 weeks in cast, 6 weeks in a brace and I'm still in physical therapy. Standard seatbelt bruise that lasted more than 3 weeks, and the associated pain. My insurance is covering my medical and the replacement of the car (with financing, it paid exactly what I owed). So, even though Jeep knew about the need for a recall in October 2003, I wasn't notified until March 2004. It was a clear dry night. I was awake and coherent, not speeding or drinking, and paying attention when I suddenly lost control. In fact, it's damn lucky that I was only going 35-40. Jeep claims they're not responsible. All I want is for them to admit that they were at fault. If they'd sent the recall notice in a timely manner, back in 10-11/03, it would have been fixed prior to another winter of snow and sleet and crap getting into that joint to corrode it!

- Macungie, PA, USA

problem #37

Jun 082004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
A tractor trailer rear ended the consumer's vehicle while driving at 65 mph. Upon impact, the vehicle was pushed into another vehicle twice. Upon impact, none of the air bags deployed. The driver sustained neck, back, spine and hip injuries. Two years prior to this accident, air bag recall 01V373000 repairs were performed. The recall remedy failed.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #36

Apr 172004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
Defective airbags on 2 Jeep Liberty vehicles. Both 2002 models. The first accident was in February of 2002. Both accidents were head on. Airbags failed to release on both occasions. Complaintant was wearing seat belt on both occasions.

- West Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #35

Mar 052004

(reported on)


  • miles
Consumer received two recall notices. 1. NHTSA recall# 01V373000 concerning air bag failure in December 2003. Consumer contacted the dealer, who informed the consumer the parts were not available. The dealer was supposed to contact the consumer when the parts became available. 2. NHTSA recall 03V460000 subject concerning lower control arm ball joint failure on 3/2/2004. Consumer contacted the same dealer, who did not have the parts. No reason was given as to why the parts were not available.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #34

Jan 232004


  • miles
While driving, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The driver was unable to maintain control of the vehicle. This caused the driver to hit another vehicle on the drivers side. None of the air bags deployed. The driver was not hurt. The driver had the vehicle towed to the dealer for analysis. The mechanic was unable to duplicate the problem.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #33

Jan 172004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
While vehicle was parked with the engine on front air bags deployed inadvertently. The cause of deployment had not been determined.

- Auberry, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?