Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,989 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 10 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #119

Oct 122006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the service dealer would replace the suspension: Front control arm, lower ball joint, recall # 06V288000, but wanted to charge for the realignment that the dealer said was required service after the replacement. The customer service representative refused to escalate the issue to a supervisor or higher ranked staff member. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was directed to pay for the realignment and reimbursement would be considered at a later date.

- North Tazewell, VA, USA

problem #118

Oct 082006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
: the contact stated while maneuvering through a parking lot the front of the vehicle collapsed without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. There was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #117

Sep 292006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,965 miles
: the contact stated notification of recall # 06V288000, for the suspension, control arm, lower ball joint was received on 9/16/2006. The contact called on 9/22/2006 and scheduled an appointment for 9/29/2006. When the vehicle was taken in for the appointment the service dealer informed the contact it would take 6-8 weeks for the back ordered parts to become available. The manufacturer was notified. Updated 10/25/2006 -

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #116

Sep 192006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My son was driving a 2002 Jeep Liberty when the steering wheel jammed on him approaching a curve he slammed the brakes but the vehicle kept skidding until it invaded the other side of the road hit a tree(if not for the tree he would have fallen off the mountain side!!). in no moment did the air bags activate. About 3 or 4 days later I received a safety recall notice F23 - lower ball joints that indicated the ball joints could corrode & separate resulting in a loss of the steering control. I got in contact with the company where they ask for pictures of the accident (which I E-mailed to them) but cannot repair the vehicle (or will forfeit any claims they say)therefore leaving me with no transportation and still having to pay the bank the car loan. I asked the daimler Chrysler rep if there was some kind of car assistance program in a couple of occasions and have received no reply plus I have been informed that an appraisal will be done in about 2 weeks from now. Is there anyway this process can be sped up or aren't they suppose to lend me a vehicle until this is resolved?

- Guayama, PR, USA

problem #115

Oct 042006

Liberty

  • miles
Cortland Dodge order for lower ball joints was canceled by daimler Chrysler so my Liberty can not be fixed until another shipment comes in. This is unacceptable for many reasons, most of all safety. I have spoken to the Chrysler people and was not satisfied. I thought you would like to know how serious the car manufacturers are taking their recalls.

- North Pitcher, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #114

Sep 132006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,800 miles
: the contact stated there was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available.

- Rockport, ME, USA

problem #113

Oct 032006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving 20 mph on a street, the steering wheel became difficult to turn followed by a grinding noise. The vehicle was inspected by an independent repair shop who determined the left front upper ball joint was fractured and needed to be replaced. There was a NHTSA recall # 06V288000 regarding the lower ball joints. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. The manufacturer was notified.

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #112

Sep 282006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
: the contact stated recall notice F23 (06V288000) was received regarding suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint on 9/28/2006. When the service dealer was called to schedule an appointment, the contact was informed that the manufacturer was only supplying 3 replacement kits per week, and the vehicle would be added to a wait list for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not contacted.

- Washington Boro, PA, USA

problem #111

Sep 262006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
There is a recall on the Jeep Liberty for the ball joints. They said you could loose steering. Well I called to get it fixed and the dealer told me that Chrysler will only send them 2 parts a week. Im 26th on the list to get repaired. If this is a safety hazard then I will not get my car repaired for 2 1/2 months. What am I to drive. The manufacturer should have to provide more parts quicker.

- Friedens, PA, USA

problem #110

Sep 272006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
: the contact stated a recall letter was received on September 18, 2006; this vehicle was not having the problem associated with the recall. There was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the lower ball joints. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available.

- Fair Lawn, NJ, USA

problem #109

Sep 262006

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2 weeks after receiving a recall notice from daimler Chrysler on the Jeep Liberty's lower ball joints. They still have not sent the parts to my dealership to allow me to have this serious problem corrected.

- Commack, NY, USA

problem #108

Sep 262006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
I received a recall notice form daimler Chrysler regarding the replacement of the lower ball joints of my 2002 Jeep Liberty. This is the second recall for the same issue! I scheduled a service appointment with the closest "five star" Chrysler dealership to perform the recall. When I arrived at the dealership today, I was told that they could not perform the safety recall because I did not purchase the vehicle from them. They stated "that there was a limited number of ball joints available and that I would have to return to the dealer in which I purchased the vehicle from." That dealership is over an hour from where I currently live, as I have moved since purchasing the car. The dealership that refused to perform the daimler Chrysler recall is: Hayes Dodge Chrysler Jeep 719 w pike street lawrenceville, ga 30045 I find it absolutely unacceptable that a dealership would refuse to perform a company safety recall, therefore putting myself and my family at risk.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #107

Sep 192006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
Front ball joints on 2002 Jeep Liberty failed and stopped car from moving while in motion. Front tire fell off and caused damage to front fender. Chrysler refused to pay tow and fix front end body work.two infants in the vehicle at time.

- Sagamore Hills, OH, USA

problem #106

Sep 192006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
: the contact stated the notice for NHTSA recall# 06V288000 regarding suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint was received. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer, where the contact was informed that the repair would take 3 days. The dealer subsequently called the contact later, and quoted a longer repair time. The dealer was not able to give an exact time frame.

- Albany, NH, USA

problem #105

Jul 152006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,900 miles
: the contact stated that two notices for recall#03V460000, pertaining to the lower ball joint were received. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer, where the ball joints were replaced but, the looseness in the steering wheel persisted. The contact received a second notice for the recall, and had the replacement performed again. When the bill for the repair was submitted to the manufacturer, the manufacturer refused to reimburse the contact, stating that the reimbursement was used up on the first replacement. Updated 10/17/2006 -

- Allison Park, PA, USA

problem #104

Sep 152006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Recall August 6 2006--NHTSA-06V-288-daimlerchrisler recal F23-saw on recall list called dealership they called back cannot do till I get postcard from Chrysler-emailed Chrysler they said to have them look at because no action is being taken yet.dealership cost $129 I have front end pull on right of Jeep just started never had problem before and a 4X4 does not get a alignment.let me know please when time permits you to.

- Cohasset, MA, USA

problem #103

Sep 102006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
In June of 2006 I had an accident that did not result in injury where my 2002 Jeep Liberty hit a small pothole and the ball joint came out. I had no clue about the recall so my insurance company paid for the damage and I was charged a $500 deductible. After finding out about the recall my insurance company is now trying to get the reimbursement of fees and has had no luck. I in return ask the dealership that I purchased my vehicle at to please fix the other side so that it would not happen again and they refused saying that there was nothing wrong with the other side and I got nowhere. Today my husband was backing out of my driveway and the other side went out. I am having my vehicle towed to the dealership and I am afraid that they are going to give me problems because the recall is not in effect until later in this month.

- Bostwick, FL, USA

problem #102

Aug 272006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
: the contact stated while backing out of the garage at 5 mph, the left front lower ball joint fractured and the left front wheel separated from the vehicle without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealership for further inspection. A NHTSA recall, # 03V460000 was performed on the vehicle concerning the suspension; however, the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair under the recall. The consumer stated he hit his head on the door. Updated 09/06.

- Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #101

Jul 052005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
Jeep Liberty pulls to right, will stop dead in its tracks while in drive, hard to control, thumping noise, metal to metal grinding from front end, seat belts do not work properly, hard to start, front seat covers rippled, paint peeled on hood, tailgate, breaks only work some of the time, shakes and hard to control on speed above 35 mph, all interior weather stripping came off. Same complaints from 1/7/03 ball joints replaced on recall on 1/10/03 still had pulling to right problems, shaking, . weather stripping all fell off on interior of car, acts like wheels are binding. 3/4/03 same complaints pulling to right, stops dead in its track, hard to control, wheels bind, dealer could not duplicate complaints (did not write up work order) 3/27/03 dealer installed interior weather stripping, same complaints as 1/10/03,3/4/03. Again on 6/2/03 took Jeep Liberty to dealer took a test drive could not verify complaints. Did not write up a work order. 1/16/04 Jeep Liberty hard to start, pulls to right, Jeep shakes & vibrates hard to control, seat belts do not work, seat rippling, car stops dead it its tracks, dealer fixed lower ball joints again on 2/13/04 at 23,850 miles. 2-13-04 picked up car from dealer still had same problems" dealer stated " this is how Jeep drive" they are nuts! 11-04 dealer took test drive was still having problems claimed everything okay. Did not right up a work order. 5/27/05 had massive problems brakes would go to the floor, sometime would work and other time not. Took to nearest brake place pads, okay, but wheel cylinder leaked. Claim it could be a intermittent failure of master cylinder, called dealer ship no part available. 7/5/05 took to dealer again with same problems, R they had not even looked at it. Removed Jeep and took to private auto placed, ut with intermittent problems you could replace most of the parts on the car & you may not cure the problems.

- Cape May Court House, NJ, USA

problem #100

Aug 172006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Took my vehicle to the dealership to get oil change, tires rotated, and the 23 point inspection. Told them at the time of the noise vehicle was making. Ended up having to replace the front two tires and paying to get them balanced and aligned as well. Was told that if the noise continues to bring it back. Sounds and noise got worse over the next day so took it in the following day. Was told that the problem was the ball joints that are on recall and so all they would need to do is replace those and there would be no costs. I was then told that the kits were not working and they had tried two different ones from two different dealerships. I was then told that to make them work they would need to replace the steering knuckles and it would cost me about $800 to get this done. I refused to pay for this when the steering knuckles were not damaged and the ball joints were the manufacturers mistake, so they needed to find some ball joints that worked or fix the problem. I was then told today that they were sent the steering knuckles and the ball joints worked with this replacement and they would give me a discount of $628, of which I can't afford. The manufacturer will not talk to me and the customer service is like talking to an automated answering service. The manager at the dealership is to call me in the morning if he could do anything else for me, which does not look promising at all. My issue is I should not have to pay for a part that was not damaged just so the recalled parts of ball joints can fit on my vehicle that they were originally supposed to fit.

- Rock Hill, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?