Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,989 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 11 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #99

Aug 202006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles


There had been some occasional front end squeaking but not enough to take notice. Several weeks ago I was informed by my mother that certain Jeep had been recalled. We went to Jeep's website put in the VIN as the page requested and were unable to find a record. One Saturday morning I called a local Jeep dealership to ask if I could bring it in and have them check it. The dealership said that it would not do any good because Jeep had not released any information about the recall and that I would have to wait until early September and a letter would be sent advising of the recall. Sunday, August 20, 2006 I was taking our daughter to work and heard an awful thud and the Jeep lurched to a stop. I had to leave it in the middle of the street and use our other vehicle to take our daughter to work. When I arrived home, my partner told me that she contacted her brother and he said it sounded like it was the ball joint. I tried to move it and the ball joint broke and damaged the tire and the grey material over the tire. I contacted Jeep's headquarter as well as a local dealership and it was at that time that we were informed that this vehicle had been recalled and repaired in March of 2004 (it was a ball join issue at that time as well). This was not reflected on our carfax report.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #98

Aug 212006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
: the contact stated the front driver's side wheel detached while stopped at a stop sign. The vehicle was towed to local mechanic. Upon inspection, a mechanic determined the front driver's side ball joint detached. An NHTSA recall, # 03V460000 was performed on the vehicle concerning, the suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint in August 2004 however, the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair without charge under the recall.

- Saint Johnsbury, VT, USA

problem #97

Aug 132006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,846 miles
: the contact stated while driving 5 mph, the left front wheel separated from the vehicle without warning. The contact managed to pull over without incident. Upon initial inspection, the left front axle was on the ground. The vehicle was towed to a dealership who replaced the lower ball joints which were fractured. A NHTSA recall, #04V596000 was performed on the vehicle concerning, the upper ball joints however, the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair under the recall. The manufacturer was alerted.

- Lebanon, OH, USA

problem #96

Aug 052006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles


: the contact stated while driving 35mph on the highway under normal driving conditions, there was a loud, banging noise followed by a loss of control of the vehicle. The contact managed to slow the vehicle by using the brakes, but the vehicle pulled to the right side of the road without incident. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who determined the right front ball joint fractured. A NHTSA recall, #06V288000 was performed on the vehicle concerning the suspension; however, the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair under the recall. The manufacturer was contacted.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #95

Aug 092006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle's front lower ball joints started to separate which created a major problem with the left front wheel while driving through an access ramp at 30 mph. A NHTSA recall, # 03V46000, was performed on 02/25/2004 concerning, the lower control arm ball joints. However, the recall did not remedy the problem. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for repair.

- Silver Springs, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #94

Aug 032006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5 miles
Ball joint snapped while making a turn and the wheel came off and the car hit the ground. A year ago, the both ball joints were replaced due to a recall. Dealership wants to look at the problem two weeks from today as they are too busy. I am lucky I am alive after what I went through.

- Port Jefferson, NY, USA

problem #93

Aug 022006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles


My 2002 Jeep Liberty began to make a noise from the right front tire area. I called the dealer to make an appointment, explained the problem and was given an appointment about 10 days out. About half way between making the appointment and the day of the appointment while pulling away from a stop sign the lower ball joint on the right front side of the vehicle broke apart dropping that side of the car down on to the tire. In the process of trying to get the vehicle up on to the flatbed tow truck the tire did some damage to the plastic part of the fender surrounding the wheel well. The vehicle was dropped at the dealer (seacoast motors) for repairs at about 5:30 pm on 8/2/06. As of this writing (8/3/06 @ 1 pm) they have not looked at the vehicle or confirmed the actual problem so I am without a vehicle for an undetermined amount of time at this point.

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #92

Jul 292006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,500 miles
While turning right into a parking lot at about 5 miles per hour in my 2002 Jeep Liberty, I experienced a catastrophic failure of the lower ball joint on the right side. The ball joint dropped and the bolt at the bottom of the ball joint struck and severely dug into my Jeep chrome alloy wheel. This all took place while traveling at about 5 miles per hour and traveling only about 10 feet. I had the vehicle towed to the dealership where it was purchased new. Please note that I did have the vehicle serviced at regular intervals. I had also received a recall notice in the past and when I questioned my dealership about it, they stated that it did not pertain to my vehicle.

- Urbandale, IA, USA

problem #91

May 192006


  • miles
: the contact stated that the vehicle was driving at a speed of 25 mph up a hill on wet road conditions when the vehicle spun out of control crashing into a retaining wall. The accident resulted in major damage to the vehicle's body. The contact and an eleven-year-old passenger were both wearing seatbelts at the time, had to go to the hospital for the minor injuries. The police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who sent to a body shop for body work. After receiving the vehicle back from the body shop, the dealer inspected and determined that both the front lower ball joints and rear coil springs needed to be replaced and were completely damaged. The dealer could not determine the cause of the accident but indentified that there was a recall on these components in 2004. The manufacturer was alerted who sent out an inspector to examined the vehicle. The inspector determined that there was no manufacturer defect that caused the accident. The contact expressed that the accident was related to a defect.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #90

Jul 092006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,950 miles
Ball joint failure on 2002 Jeep Liberty - recall had been performed in October 2004 by szott Jeep dealership. I was driving down the road doing 30 mph when the right front appeared to seize up and I started to lose control of the vehicle. I was able to get it stopped and parked safely on the road. Upon examination, the tire had become completely removed from the frame. I had it towed to the dealership and it was determined to be a failure of the ball joint. The following damage was incurred to my vehicle: Arm-lower control, knuckle, tire, rim, front bumper and quarter panel lose. Overall totaling 1500 damage. My insurance picked up the majority of the claim and I paid the deductible of $200 plus $36.10 for the ball joint. I am very fortunate this didn't happen 15 minutes later. I was on my way to the airport. Given the impact this had at 30 mph I cannot comprehend what would have incurred at 70 mph. Myself and my baby where in the car at the time of the occurrence of this accident. The rep from belle tire, the dealership, and dcx told me I was lucky because it would have been a serious accident.

- Commerce Twp, MI, USA

problem #89

Jul 092006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles


: the contact stated that the vehicle's front lower ball joint on the front passenger side failed after a previous recall was performed. While trying to make a left turn at a stop sign, the right front end dropped into the wheel well causing the steering to lock up. The incident occurred at 5 mph during clear and dry road conditions. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop on 07/9/06 who determined that the lower ball joint failed. The vehicle will be taken to the dealership on 07/10/06 for repairs. The vehicle had a recall performed for the same problem in 04/04.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #88

Jul 082006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,500 miles
Lower ball joint failure to right front of 2002 Jeep Liberty resulting in loss of control of vehicle in addition to lower front body damage.

- Van Buren, AR, USA

problem #87

Jul 052006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,153 miles
Defective lower front ball joint separated causing damage to wheel shaft, rim, and ball joint.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #86

Jul 032006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,642 miles
The lower left ball joint on my 2002 Jeep Liberty failed while in a shopping center parking lot.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #85

Jun 282006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,500 miles
Lower right hand ball joint catastrophically failed on 2002 Jeep Liberty 4WD with approx. 68K miles. (this vehicle had the lower ball joint recall work performed at 33K miles.) when lbj failure occurred, vehicle was traveling approx. 10 mph. Total damage included both upper and lower ball joint needing to be replaced, a drive axle replacement, and a right front fender replacement.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #84

Jun 122006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,323 miles
Failure of front right lower ball joint on my 2002 Jeep Liberty vehicle.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #83

Jun 262006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
While I was driving my 2002 Jeep Liberty, the passenger side ball joint separated from the steering knuckle and the whole side of car hit the ground and my Jeep skidded about 30 feet then came to a complete stop. I couldn't turn the vehicle in any direction while it was skidding. I was lucky I was only going 20 mph! Chrysler is fixing my car at no charge, but my concern is of safety. If this would have happened at a faster speed, on a turn, the car would have gone off the cliff, rolled, and I would not be here today. This is important to note: After the incident, I had the car towed to the dealer. On arrival, they looked up the VIN, and informed me that the recall (#03V460000) had already been 'performed' back in 2004. If they "fixed" it in 2004->why did it break in 2006"??!!!! and why are they so quick to fix and pay for it???" seems to me they know that there are still major problems with their"fix" back in 2003. Scary!!! people that had it "fixed" right after the recall came out, may still be in danger!! the parts used in the original recall must have been defective!!!! here is the whole story: 1. rubbing/grinding noise coming from front of car. Very random and inconsistent. Happened while turning steering wheel at a stop, while driving, heard noise when applying brakes, etc. Noise started around March '05. 2. numerous trips to mechanic, couldn't find problem. Replaced brakes, resurfaced drums, cleaned out power steering, etc. 3. June '06, did google searches to see if there were any known issues with the '02 Jeep Liberty. Found there were "ball joint" problems. Also found recall #03V460000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). 4. scheduled appt. With dealership to get recall #03V460000 performed. 5. ball joint broke before appt. With dealership. 6. had car towed to dealership. 7. dealership said recall was already performed. 8. rep. Told dealership Chrysler will extend warranty to cover this work.

- Lompoc, CA, USA

problem #82

Jun 242006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
2002 Jeep Liberty, lower left ball joint failed. Vehicle was traveling at approx. 35 mph going straight ahead when the ball joint separated. The joint settled into the inside of the front wheel damaging the wheel and the wheel contacted the rear of the inner fender damaging the fender liner. No other apparent damage, driver was able to get the Liberty stopped off the road way. Towed the Jeep to the dealership. They replaced both front lower ball joints free of charge, ordered a replacement wheel and inner fender also to be installed for free. This vehicle had the lower ball joints replaced once before under the initial recall. Absolutely no faith in the manufacturer to actually resolve these failures. I fully expect to have them replaced again in the future.

- North Olmsted, OH, USA

problem #81

Jun 252006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
Driver side lower ball joint failure recall was performed in 2004, ball joint failed June 25, 2006.

- Port Matilda, PA, USA

problem #80

Jun 102006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
At 35,000 miles the lower ball joints were worn beyond spec and replaced under recall. At 40,000 miles driver side lower ball joint worn to the point of collapse and failure.

- Lodi, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?