Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,989 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 13 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #59

Sep 302005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles


I have had to replace the front ball joints 2X with in 40,000 miles, even after a recall which replaced them in their entirety.

- Gardnerville, NV, USA

problem #58

Dec 202005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,625 miles
I own a Jeep Liberty 2002 and it has 54600 miles, last week I heard a noise in the steering, I took to the dealer service center here in venezuela closest to my home and explained the problem the check the car and call me back that the only thing needed was an oil change, satisfied I took my car and planned a weekend family trip out of town and drove another 200 miles at high way speeds when returning home at very low speed passes a speed reducer bump on the street by my home and the left front wheel felt off, the lower ball joint broke!, I was on shock if this would happened few miles before all of my family including me could be killed in a car accident, and the worse part is that I took to the dealer just before to prevent this kind of issues and they just didn't care about I found out today at some of the Jeep chat rooms that it is a proven problem and that there is a recall on this issue for this models, we were very close of been harmed or may been killed, my report is to make sure you correct this on your country at least and you may safe some other family lives I know that the regulations on venezuela fall way behind in order to introduce a legal complaint against daimler Chrysler here and I wont get any progress over here but at least I put a little sand grain to avoid any incidents were I know that can be avoided.

- Ciudad Ojeda, 00, USA

problem #57

Dec 102005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,991 miles
My wife was pulling into the driveway at a low rate of speed and heard a clicking noise and stopped the vehicle halfway into the drive way. Got out and ran inside to get me and I went and looked at the car and there was no obvious damage so I got in and put the car in drive and it didn't move and then in reverse and the same thing, so I put in drive again and thats when the front right end of the car dropped to the ground. After inspection I noticed that the front right lower ball joint wasn't in the ball joint knuckle anymore. The wheel was bent outward. I just bought this car on Aug. 29, 2005 just 3 months prior. I have only put 3,000 miles on this car since I bought it. The dealer should have inpected the ball joints prior to selling it to me seeing how there is a prior recall on that part. Luckily I have it on warranty so hopefully there won't be any problems with getting it repaired. Repairs still pending.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #56

Nov 152005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles


Failure of lower ball joints at 40,100 miles in my 2002 Jeep Liberty, build date August 2001.

- Sebastopol, CA, USA

problem #55

Nov 082005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,628 miles
Right front wheel fell off of Jeep while driving into a parking lot with no warning. Wheel damaged suspension, body and rim. The Jeep dealer did the repairs under warranty even though the recall had already been done once before in 2003. This will be the 3rd set of lower ball joints in 75000 miles. Other Jeep owners that have had the recall done should not assume their vehicle front suspension is in safe condition. Something needs to be done here.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #54

Oct 312005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
My 2002 Jeep Liberty was taken in for service because of oil leaking from the right side of the front differential and a torn boot on the left side. These items were repaired and the vehicle returned to me. One month later while backing out of a parking space I heard a loud snap and then felt the left front end of the vehicle drop to the ground. The front wheel was forced up under the wheel well damaging the fender and blowing the tire. The lower ball joint had separated letting the vehicle drop and wheel to move up into the wheel well. The ball joint recall had been completed on this vehicle 30,000 miles ago. This was very scary because I had my 4 year old grandson with me and had just been on the freeway traveling at 65 mph. The vehicle is still at the dealer and I am waiting to see what Chrysler/Jeep has to say. Ld.

- Apache Junction, AZ, USA

problem #53

Aug 312005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


The contact stated while driving on a curve the lower control arm snapped, and he could not control the vehicle. This caused the vehicle to run into a power pole. The vehicle was towed to a body shop for repairs. The lower control arm, rim, bumper and two doors were replaced on the vehicle. The insurance company contacted daimler/Chrysler because there was recall 0346000 for the lower ball joints, but this vehicle was not included in the recall.

- Kopperston, WV, USA

problem #52

Sep 072005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,788 miles
On June Thursday 9:00 am 16th I call the dealer to look at my Jeep Liberty because the steering was very stiff and hard to control the vehicle. I was told by the service manager that I could not get my car in until Monday the 20th three days later. I told the service manager that I needed to travel to Ohio on business and that I could not wait. He had no response other than I should not drive the car until someone had looked at it. I then call a local garage who told me that could get my car that morning. They found and documented that the lower ball joints seem to be the problem even though they could see through the Chrysler recall website that I had taken the Liberty in gregory Chrysler Plymouth Jeep prior to this for the recall which should have fixed this problem. I think maybe this work was billed but never done and I have no way to prove this. (I would like to know how many Liberty have seen this recall problem twice) they greased the ball joint so that I could drive the car again. On Sept 7th I took the car in to the Jeep deal who told me that they would not cover the replacement of the ball joints because I had someone else help me out when they could not. So the question remains, does the lower ball joint recall really fix the problem or is this dealer just scanning people on the work that is suppose to be covered? it is either one or the other.

- Grayslake, IL, USA

problem #51

Jul 282005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,414 miles
First problem: On March 31, 2004, we took my 2002 Jeep Liberty to the Jeep dealer due to a loud squeaking noise in the front. They diagnosed a bad lower ball joint on the left front side and replaced it. Note - my Jeep had the lower front ball joints serviced under a recall notice at the end of 2003. It was supposed to have had the lower ball joints replaced and a heat shield installed. Second problem: Without warning on July 28, 2005, the front right lower ball joint broke while attempting to drive the Jeep into our garage, and the front end collapsed onto the pavement and the disconnected wheel. There was no noise or any indication of a problem before this happened. The events leading up to this: I started up the engine, backed the Jeep up a few feet to straighten my approach, and attempted to pull it into the garage. However, I noticed a strong resistance to roll forward so I stopped, got out and looked around to make sure I wasn't running over something. After seeing nothing in the way or under the vehicle, I tried again to pull forward, but it wouldn't roll and the wheel skid. So I put it into reverse and tried to back up. That is when the front end dropped with a load crunch onto the wheel that had came off. The Jeep dealer paid for the new ball joint and several other parts that were damaged due to the incident. Another problem: On December 12, 2003, the right rear seat belt latch had to be replaced because the release button was jamming (sometimes it would work and sometimes it wouldn't).

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #50

Aug 262005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,778 miles
My wife lost control of our "2002" Jeep Liberty. The lower ball joint separated from itself. Recall service for lower ball joints was already performed by tom harrigan Jeep of dayton Ohio on Jan 10th of "04"

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #49

Aug 132005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,913 miles


Caller had recall work done on the ball joints O last year. Now she took the vehicle to an independent mechanic and she was told the ball joints were bad again. Dealer and manufacturer said a certain amount of play was acceptable, and they will not replace the ball joints until there was complete failure.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #48

Aug 012005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
Sept. 9, 2004: The vehicle (2002 Jeep Liberty) went the dealer for a safety recall replacement of the front lower ball joints. The dealer replaced the ball joints per the safety recall. Aug. 1, 2005: The front lower ball joint on the right-front wheel failed. When this happened, the ball portion of the ball joint separated from the socket causing the right-front wheel to seemingly fall off. Prior to the failure, it was noted on July 31, 2005 that the vehicle pulled to the right slightly when the brakes were applied. The ball joint failure occurred on a flat, smooth parking lot at low speed. No bodily injuries occurred. The dealer and the manufacturers representative have agreed to replace the ball joint and repair the damage caused by the failure. However, the dealer and manufacture will not certify in any way that the new parts have been inspected and are free from defect. It is important to note that it is the safety recall replacement part that failed. I do not believe that diamler Chrysler has resolved the problem(s) that led to the initial recall. I do not feel safe with their proposed fix to my vehicle.

- Fenelton, PA, USA

problem #47

Jun 282005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
Caller says his ball joints are defective. Without warning the front passenger wheel fell off two weeks ago. Vehicle had to be towed. Dealer fixed it under warranty. Manufacturer said they will not replace the vehicle because of the mileage. Recall work was done in April 2004. Caller dose not have recall information. Caller says at his expense he replaced the rear ball joints.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #46

Jul 122005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. He received a recall notice on the lower ball joint and the dealership was supposed to of fixed the recall. While he was pulling out of his driveway the lower ball joint broke and the vehicle is riding on its rim right now. There is not an NHTSA campaign id number or a manufacture number available.

- Catlett, VA, USA

problem #45

Jun 262005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer has a 2002 Jeep Liberty had the ball joint recall repaired. On Sunday the ball joints became disconnected from the wheel. They couldn?T steer the vehicle, and the driver's side wheel tilted outward. Consumer complained approximately 6 months after the repair S because she heard funny noises. She took the vehicle to be looked at, and was told there was nothing wrong. When she had the vehicle at dealer for the 60,000 mile check up she was told the vehicle was fine. She contacted the dealership and manufacturer and neither of them were willing to help her. The axle came out, and the dealership told her it was $800 worth of damage.

- New Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #44

May 022005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles
Caller stated she got a recall notice to get the ball joints replaced, which she did. After another 37000 miles the ball joint snapped, resulting in the tire falling off. Vehicle was towed to a different repair shop.

- Merrillville, IN, USA

problem #43

Mar 012005


  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty ball joint separated resulting in the consumer losing control of the vehicle. After the dealer performed the recall on the lower ball joints the consumer started to hear a noise coming from the tire. The dealer claimed the noise was from the brake and it was adjusted, however the noise was still present and that was when the consumer experienced the ball joint separating from the knuckle. The consumer believed when the dealer replaced the ball joint it was done incorrectly.

- Bayamon, PR, USA

problem #42

Mar 082004


  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Consumer received recall campaign 03V460000 for the lower ball joint arm. After taking the vehicle to the dealer for repairs and leaving it all day consumer was notified upon her arrival to pick the vehicle. Also, that there was a special wrench needed to remove the ball joints, and that contact would be made as soon as they received the wrench. Consumer currently received a second notification that the recall was not performed. No contact has been made by the dealership.

- Temple Hills, MD, USA

problem #41

Dec 172004


  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,800 miles
While backing out of a parking space at 5 mph lower driver's side ball joint broke, and the vehicle went down. Vehicle was towed, and serviced on the recalled ball joint at 5,800 miles.

- Chagrin Falls, OH, USA

problem #40

Mar 232004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
1. repeated returns to the dealer to correct a noise in the suspension.. while driving the ball joint separated causing the fron wheel to fall off and vehicle to crash to the ground and skid to a stop. 3. vehicle has not been repaired. Damier Chrysler and it's dealership will not accept responsibilty for failure and as of current date is sitting at dealership lot awaiting outcome of lawsuit.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?