Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,989 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 4 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #239

Feb 192007

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Failure of daimler Chrysler and local dealer to remedy a recall within a reasonable time. After 2 1/2 months they say it will be 2-3 more weeks before parts are available. I thought the recall notice said the car could crash without prior warning. When I called again today I was told to wait another 2-3 weeks!

- Walnut Creek, CA, USA

problem #238

Feb 172007

Liberty 4-cyl

  • miles
Received safety recall notice back in November 2006. All dealerships in the area do not carry parts that need to be replaced. Parts are claimed to be back-ordered. If they send out safety recall notices, dealerships should be carrying replacement parts!! no injuries yet, but just waiting for something to happen.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #237

Sep 272006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The driver called the dealer in December to schedule an appointment re garding recall 06V288000. The dealer stated in January that they only received 4 lower ball joints, and that she was number 36 on the waiting list. The contact drove 80 miles per day or more on the expressway and was concerned about the safety risk involved. The current vehicle mileage was 80,000. There were no other failures at this time.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #236

Feb 122007

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact has a 2002 Jeep Liberty. Received recall 06V288000 concerning the lower ball joint. The contact called the dealership in his area since November 2006, and at that time they stated that it could take 4-12 weeks in order for them to set up service. The contact still has not received a call back from the dealership. Current and failure mileage were 49000.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #235

Feb 082007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact called regarding recall 06V288000 for the 2002 Jeep Liberty concerning the lower ball joints. The contact stated he has been waiting approximately 1 1/2 months for the lower ball joint part. The dealer advised the contact he will be called when the part arrived. The vehicle has approximately 62,000 miles. The contact has not experienced any problems with the vehicle to date. Updated 2/27/2007 -

- Red Lion, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #234

Oct 112006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact stated that he has a 2002 Jeep Liberty, and received a recall notice for the lower ball joints. He called the dealer to make an appointment and the dealer stated that Chrysler was only giving out three (3) parts per week and he felt that that was not acceptable. The vehicle has not had a failure to date. The current mileage was 62000 miles.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #233

Sep 302006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On September 30,2006 I received a recall notice for the lower ball joints on my 2002 Jeep Liberty. I have called a couple of different dealerships to try to get this repair and have been told over and over and over that the parts have not been made available for this service. It is now February 1,2007 and I was just told that I am number 29 on a waiting list for parts that are not available. I have been told that this dealership is only receiving 3 kits at a time and not receiving a shipment every week so it will still be a long wait to make my Jeep safe for myself and my children to ride in. Personally I think this is ridiculous!! I called the daimler Chrysler corporation and they have a recording telling me to be patient and work with my local dealerships.

- Jonesville, NC, USA

problem #232

Sep 272006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Deales have me waiting since Sep 27,2006 for a lower ball joint for my Jeep Liberty 2002 they have to change. I was told that they will call me because they have to send for the ball joint because they donīT have it even without looking to my vehicle

- San Juna, PR, USA

problem #231

Jan 302007

(reported on)

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Jeep Liberty recalled for lower ball joints* the dealer has failed to resolve the problem.

- Gwynedd Valley, PA, USA

problem #230

Nov 022006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Chrysler Jeep has a recall on lower ball joints. Consumer can't get an appointment to get car fixed. ** the consumer had to be put on a waiting list because the part were coming in 2-3 at a time.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #229

Jan 252007

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter is driving a 2002 Jeep Liberty, with a recall, F23-lower ball joints. I have a problem with the length of time it is taking to have this fixed. The dealer says, that they have trouble getting the parts to repair it. He said that some people have been waiting since October to get the parts. If Chrysler cares about peoples lives, they would produce more parts, faster.

- Aragon, GA, USA

problem #228

Nov 202006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Daimler chyrsler recall F23. I received the recall letter for my Jeep Liberty around 11/10/06 and called the dealer to schedule the appt. To correct the problem approximately 11/20/06. I was told at that time that there were 30 people in front of me and that my name would be put on a list. I called December 18th and was told they were working through the list and it wouldn't be much longer. I called 01/25/07 (over 2 months later and got the same story). I questioned the service manager about the delay and he stated that Jeep would only give them parts to complete 3 vehicles a week and that I had 20 people in front of me on the list. I asked him if they had only complete 10 vehicles since 11/20/06 and he said yes. I am concerned because the recall letter says steering can be lost without warning and based on Jeep's current progress it may be 4 or 5 more months before this work is complete. I do not believe this recall is being handled in a reasonable manner and time frame.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #227

Jan 202007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,535 miles
- the contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty which has a safety recall 06V288000. The contact would like to make a complaint concerning the length of time it was taking daimler Chrysler to make the safety repairs on the lower ball joint. The consumer has made several attempts to get the recall repairs made to no avail. Updated 02/13/07.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #226

Jan 232006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
- the contact received recall letter 06V288000 for the replacement of the lower ball joint on the 2002 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she immediately called the dealer to schedule an appointment. The contact was told that she could not be put on a waiting list and that it was first come, first serve because it is a safety problem. She was also told that if she had an appointment and someone came to the dealer before she arrived they would be given the part. The contact's vehic has not experienced any problems at this time.

- Surgoinsdille, TN, USA

problem #225

Jan 222007

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I'm writing to file a complaint against michael stead automotive in walnut creek, California. I received a recall notice regarding safety recall F23 - lower ball joints on 11/15/06. I phoned the dealer a week later (didn't mark the exact date as I wasn't aware it would be such a problem). I was told the parts were on backorder and would be in within two to three weeks. They took my name and number and I was told I would be phoned to make an appointment. I now followed on 1/22/07 only to be told that they have a "pile" of names and its taking a while to get through them. I'm 19th on the list and they receive the parts "periodically" and I'll be called when it's my turn. I was also told when I asked about the safety of this recall that, "it's not urgent, only being done for noise." However, the recall notice says, "water may enter into the front suspension lower ball joints on your Jeep and cause the ball joint to corrode and separate causing a loss of steering control and could cause a crash without prior warning." Two very different statements. We Transport two small children in this car daily and this is not something I'm willing to accept. We received a recall notice but the dealer is dragging their feet, no doubt because it's not a paid service for them. If an accident does occur due to this I want this complaint on record. This is simply unacceptable service and I would hope you'd follow up.

- Pleasant Hill, CA, USA

problem #224

Aug 082006

Liberty

  • miles
Re: recall #F23 (id#06V-288) Jeep Liberty lower ball joints - notified of recall in Sep 2006, dealer says they were receiving 3 parts kits per week (#cbxef230), we still have 97 customers ahead of us, parts are on back order with no date available. Our model is a 2002 and older models were to be done first. Please advise if any action can be taken.

- Phoenix, MD, USA

problem #223

Jan 082007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
- the contact has a 2002 Jeep Liberty with an odometer reading of 35000 miles when he received the recall notice 06V288000 for lower ball joint. The dealer (romano Jeep) was contacted over a month ago, but the contact has not heard when he will have his vehicle repaired.

- Canastota, NY, USA

problem #222

Jan 012007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have received a safety recall notice on my vehicle, but the dealership says it cannot get in the proper parts to remedy the problem. Customer service at Jeep says there is nothing they can do. I feel that this is unacceptable, and that I am driving an unsafe vehicle.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #221

Jan 082007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
- the contact stated that he received recall letter 06V288000 for the lower ball joint on the 2002 Jeep Liberty which has an odometer reading of 71,000 miles. He was placed on a waiting list on 11/20/06. He was still waiting for the part. The contact has not had any problems with the vehicle. The contact was concerned about the delay in repairing the vehicle.

- Tracey, CA, USA

problem #220

Sep 272006

Liberty 4WD

  • miles
September, 2006 I received a recall notice on my 2002 Jeep Liberty regarding the lower ball joints. I called the dealership where I had purchased my Jeep and was told that they had sold the franchise to another dealership. I then called this dealership and was told that they were only receiving 3 replacement parts at a time and I would have to be placed on a waiting list of approximately 2 weeks. I waited for about a month and called them again to make sure they hadn't lost my information. I was told that I was third on the list. I waited another month and called again. I was told by the serviceman that I was still on the waiting list, but they had Jeep coming in weekly that the wheels had fallen off and they took first preference. It is now another month and I have not heard from them yet. If the situation is a S serious as wheels falling off as often as the serviceman has indicated, then daimler Chrysler should do more to improve getting the replacement parts to dealerships. If the dealership is just putting me off because they are too busy to deal with the recalls, then something should be done. The dealership is lewis Pontiac Buick GMC Jeep, 830 E. main St., oak hill, wv, phone 304-465-3111.

- Mt. Hope, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?