Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,277 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

May 022005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles


Caller stated she got a recall notice to get the ball joints replaced, which she did. After another 37000 miles the ball joint snapped, resulting in the tire falling off. Vehicle was towed to a different repair shop.

- Merrillville, IN, USA

problem #13

Mar 232004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
1. repeated returns to the dealer to correct a noise in the suspension.. while driving the ball joint separated causing the fron wheel to fall off and vehicle to crash to the ground and skid to a stop. 3. vehicle has not been repaired. Damier Chrysler and it's dealership will not accept responsibilty for failure and as of current date is sitting at dealership lot awaiting outcome of lawsuit.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #12

Nov 262004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Left upper ball joint failed. This was the same side that was showing damage due to O3V460000, lower ball joint failure.

- Concord, OH, USA

problem #11

Apr 042004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


I ordered my Jeep Liberty 7/01 and picked it up 9/01. The morning of 4/4/04 I was driving home and started crashing into trees. The car was spinning, back and forth across the road - hit 3 trees, mailboxes and a telephone pole (hard enough that even though it was the last thing that I hit, it moved enough that it tore the cables out of someone's house). About 50 feet before the 1st tree, was my front passenger tire and about 2 feet of the axle (or whatever holds the rim and tire on the truck). The front of the truck from the right front quarter panel to 1/3 across the front of the truck is up inside the dashboard, the back driver's tire is blown out, the spare tire on the back is smashed, the 2 passenger side doors are smashed and the entire truck is off the frame. I told the tow driver and police about the recall that I'd just gotten that stated that the "a ball joint that has separated from the knuckle could result in loss of vehicle directional control and could result in a crash." I had an appointment to get it fixed 4/6/04...the accident was 4/4/04. My injuries: Airbags didn't go off but I was wearing my seatbelt. I broke my arm (8 weeks in cast, 6 weeks in a brace and I'm still in physical therapy. Standard seatbelt bruise that lasted more than 3 weeks, and the associated pain. My insurance is covering my medical and the replacement of the car (with financing, it paid exactly what I owed). So, even though Jeep knew about the need for a recall in October 2003, I wasn't notified until March 2004. It was a clear dry night. I was awake and coherent, not speeding or drinking, and paying attention when I suddenly lost control. In fact, it's damn lucky that I was only going 35-40. Jeep claims they're not responsible. All I want is for them to admit that they were at fault. If they'd sent the recall notice in a timely manner, back in 10-11/03, it would have been fixed prior to another winter of snow and sleet and crap getting into that joint to corrode it!

- Macungie, PA, USA

problem #10

Feb 012004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
When turning the wheel sharply to the right, and in both reverse and forward, there is a loud popping sound. Dealer corrected situation under the recall for the ball joints. However, less than 2 months later it was occuring again with more frequency.

- La Plata, MD, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

May 082004

Liberty 4WD

  • miles
While driving approximately 15 mph, the driver lost power steering. The driver was able to maintain control the vehicle and pulled over. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic informed the driver that both upper and lower ball joints needed to be replaced.

- Spring Grove, IL, USA

problem #8

Apr 132004

Liberty 4WD

  • 32,000 miles


When driving at any speed consumer heard a knocking noise coming from of front. Consumer took the vehicle to the dealership for inspection, and mechanic determined that that the upper ball joints failed".

- Chino Valley, AZ, USA

problem #7

Mar 262004


  • miles
While driving 5 mph left front tire collapsed. Consumer had the vehicle towed to the dealership for inspection, and mechanic determined that the left upper ball joint failed.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #6

Jan 042004


  • miles
Dealership did not have the part to perform upper ball joint recall 03V460000 repairs, and didn't know when they will be receiving the part.

- Barbourville, KY, USA

problem #5

Jan 072004

(reported on)


  • miles
When turning left or right steering wheel gets very stiff. The dealer has been contacted, and there is a recall on the ball joints.

- New Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #4

Nov 122003

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Re: NHTSA campaign id #03V460000 (daimler Chrysler # C36 I purchased my Jeep Liberty sport VIN # [xxx] on 4/24/2002 and buy virtue of the purchased date it was built before 10/4/2002.the recall states loss of control of the vehicle can occur with minimal warning.I frequently travel highways at highway speeds, according to this recall myself, my family and anyone else riding in my vehicle is at risk.....with that said....I have contacted DaimlerChrysler on two (2) occasions, 11/12/2003 ref.#11814774 and 12/8/2003 ref.# 11880586 about this recall. Their response on both call were ; the recall has not been "published". your sight dates the recall as 11/04/2003, that's before either of my calls to them. I feel DaimlerChrysler is not responding to their obligation to me in a timely manor. Your help will be appreciated. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #3

Jul 092003

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The left ball joint on my 2002 Jeep Liberty failed while I was traveling in Canada. Repairs were delayed because, according to the dealer, Chrysler-daimler "engineering" canceled the order for replacement parts because there had been a rash of ball joint failures on the Jeep Liberty (and engineering wanted to determine the underlying cause before continuing to use existing parts). Concerned that we may experience additional ball joint failures, I wrote daimler-Chrysler to inquire regarding my experiences and the frequency of ball joint failures on the Jeep Liberty. Daimler-Chrysler has refused to provide the requested information, claiming that the data is either unavailable or considered proprietary. They suggested I go to my local library! I would like to know if there have been other similar problems with the Jeep Liberty.

- Estero, FL, USA

problem #2

Oct 182003

Liberty 4WD Diesel

  • 33,000 miles
While driving at 45 mph right passenger wheel fell off. Consumer was able to pull over to the shoulder. The driver suffered neck injuries, and was transported by ambulance to the hospital. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. Mechanic noticed that upper ball joint was corroded and needed to be replaced. Consumer was upset that Chrysler would only waive the cost of the parts since the vehicle was out of warranty. His wife believed that since the incident occurred as a result of a defective upper ball joint, then Chrysler should assume full responsibility. The general manager stated they should be glad that's the only problem they had so far.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #1

Jul 182003

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,300 miles
Noticed that upper ball joint on front driver control arm is very loose, ready to give out. Lower ball joint on front passenger control arm is also has play in it. Jeep Liberty 4X4 sport, 23,000 miles, lifted 2.5 inches. 245/75R 16 tires. Lift and tires should not affect the ball joints.

- Douglas, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?