7.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$359.00
Average Mileage:
94,927 miles
Total Complaints:
60 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace regulator (42 reports)
  2. not sure (6 reports)
  3. call jeep at (877) 426-5337 (3 reports)
  4. put a stck under glass to keep it up (2 reports)
  5. replace your good motor with another good motor (2 reports)
  6. rig window closed with rubber door stops (2 reports)
2002 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Jun 292012

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Overall our Liberty has been a GREAT car. My wife loves it and has driven it all over the place. We don't have small kids so she doesn't have passengers often, especially in the back seats. Honestly, I can't tell you if this window has ever been rolled down before. If so, not much! The other day, as she's driving down the highway, the window falls half way open and won't respond to the control. Not good in 100 degree TX heat. As I'm searching the internet this morning for a fix, I run across this thread and see what a common problem this is. I'm shocked there's not a recall in place for this!

- , Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #39

Jul 152013

Liberty Renegade 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles

Just dropped my car off at dealer - This is the 7th time I have had to replace the window regulator - All 4 windows - one window 3 times and the current one (RR) was replaced 3 years ago. 7 times in approx. 5 years - Didn't have a problem the first few years and I am the original owner. Spoke with Jeep customer service and was told it wouldn't be covered this time. (They did cover it last time.) Very frustrated!

- , La Mesa, CA, USA

problem #38

Dec 042012

Liberty Sport 3.7L

  • Manual transmission
  • 132,400 miles

The rear passenger window would not shut. Ordered the part and having the mechanic put it in.

- , Hornby Island, BC, Canada

problem #37

Nov 182012

Liberty Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cheap plastic lift plate on rear passenger window regulator broke for the 3rd time. First time May 2010 and Jeep paid to fix it after calling their customer service # (877) 426-5337. Second time September 2011 just out of the 12 month warranty. This time Jeep only paid half and I was out $240 for a 5 cent piece of faulty plastic. This time November 2012 also just out of the 12 month warranty. All for a window that I rarely open...

- , Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #36

Dec 072012

Liberty Limited 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles

I'm all ranted and raved out,...since this is the third time I've had this same problem.

The odd thing is I was in the process of doing what the guy at jeep told me was why it had broken the first and second time, non use. He suggested that I roll each window down when I started my car and not to forget the sun roof.

I'm cutting this short because I have to go back and file complaints on the first two times

- , Chino Hills, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #35

Sep 012011

Liberty Limited 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

Since this was the second time on the same window within a couple years apart, I lost my trust in Jeep/Chrysler.

I called the Chrysler Dealership , which is in the desert, 90 miles from where I live, that had fixed it before and they said they would stand behind their workmanship and supposedly(since I didn't know about this sight until a future date) fixed it for $50.00 At first though they tried to charge me the same amount $400+. I had paid this amount on this very window less than two years prior.

It was suggested because I rarely used the window that I open and close it when I started my car. I didn't always do it but I did start opening and closing them more often.

- , Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #34

Jul 082009

Liberty Limited 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was in the desert on July 3 and it was god awful hot, I couldn't get my window fixed until the part got to the dealer...little did I know

- , Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #33

Jun 032011

Liberty Sport 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 165,000 miles

The right window will not roll down. Now, looking on this site. I now understand why.

- , Lexington, SC, USA

problem #32

Oct 142011

Liberty 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

When is Jeep going to have a RECALL on the window cable breaking????? I have replaced my cable THREE DIFFERENT TIMES....Enough is Enough.. JEEP FIX THIS PROBLEM.. I'm tired of fixing this problem..As of today, I have 2 (more) windows that just broke again, after being fixed previously. The fix never last, it seems like there is a faulty part that the service department keeps replacing for me. AT MY COST... HOW FRUSTRATING....JEEP MAKE A PART THAT'S NOT FAULTY. I hope i'm never in an accident that I would need to put down the window, because THEY DON'T WORK..

- , Chesapeake Beach, MD, USA

problem #31

May 112012

Liberty Limited 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,000 miles

Both rear window regulators went within days of each other. Never realized how common the problem was with the Liberty's til I began researching the issue on the web. WOW! Chrysler def has angered many folks AND I know from other Libby problems that Chrysler couldn't care less- what a shame.

- , Aliquippa, PA, USA

problem #30

Mar 012011

Liberty Sport 3.7lV6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

should be addressed by company for customer satisfaction.

Update from Feb 1, 2012: i know the problem very well as a retired jeep master tech I repaired (replaced) many regulator/motor assemblies myself.

- , Carmel, NY, USA

problem #29

Feb 052011

Liberty Sport 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

once again a cheap design of material , if I decide to fix it it will be with an after market metal type if found on the WEB

- , New Iberia, LA, US

problem #28

Apr 122010

Liberty Sport 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

For the second time since 2001 my rear window regulators disintegrated... apparently Jeep uses plastic gears in the mechanism and those disintegrate w/ extremes in temperatures..I have tried various tapes to hold my windows closed.. Best solution so far is to jam rubber doorstops into the bottom window frame.. Now my rear doors have shorted out .. apparently the mechanisms are made from the same PLASTIC and cannot be opened. I am the only user of this vehicle and have no need for the rear seat/doors, so I have not had them repaired..and don't really see the need to for the price that I was charged ( $400+) for a single window repair the first time my rear window fell.

- , Elkridge, MD, USA

problem #27

Sep 012011

Liberty 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles

Like many other commenters, I'm now on my fourth occurrence of the window regulators (rear) breaking. First two I had fixed, and then both broke again within about a month of each other. I followed someone's suggestion on here and called the Jeep toll-free complaint number. I was told that because of the age and mileage of the vehicle, there was nothing they could do. I said I was aware that this was a well-documented design flaw in the Jeep Liberty and I didn't care how old the car was, it shouldn't happen four or more times (at a minimum of about $450 per occurrence to fix). The customer service agent said that Chrysler's "criteria for 'good will credit' to help pay to get a problem like this fixed had changed in the past month, any assistance was no longer available, and there was nothing she could do." She was right about one thing: this car needs to go to Goodwill. I think someone should put together a class-action lawsuit to get Chrysler's attention.

- , Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #26

Jan 252012

Liberty Renegade 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,500 miles

I bought my 2002 Jeep Liberty brand new out of the showroom.The passenger rear window regulator has just gone out for the third time.The window falls down and won't stay up without some heavy duty tape.It costs $187.25 for the factory part and about $120. for the labor.That's almost $1000. to fix the same rear window.There seems to be hundreds of complaints for this regulator problem.Why doesn't Chrysler come up with a reliable and quality replacement for this ridiculous problem!:(

- , Saint Cloud, FL, USA

problem #25

Jul 152011

Liberty 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,025 miles

Since March of 2011 when I would put the back drivers side window down it would make this awful screeching sound and would drive my dog absolutely NUTS. I thought it was the rubber stripping. Last night (July 15, 2011) on my way home I put the window down and when I tried to put it up all I heard was grinding. I just could not believe it. I have owned so many cars over the past 20+ years and have never had this kind of problem (except for the 1993 Mercury Grand Marquis - which all 4 windows quit within 6 months). So I did a search on the web via Bing and low and behold I have found a few companies that have a repair kit that is under $100. instead of replacing the entire regulator, there is a metal bracket that actually replaces the plastic pieces that break. I don't know if this is a fix for everyone, but it is something worth checking out.

http://www.steigerperformance.com/PRODUCTS/sp13001.html

I also searched on Ebay - they have a kit that has the same brackets that Steiger performance, but it includes brackets for both windows for $88.95. Steiger's includes only one bracket for $79.95. I hope this helps with the costs for the rest of you. I know I cannot afford to pay $200+ for the fix as I am also on Soc. Sec. disability.

Update from Nov 4, 2014: since this time the other back window did the same thing, now the one that I originally fixed is out again... uuuggghh.

- , Fremont, OH, USA

problem #24

Mar 162011

Liberty Sport 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles

Went to roll down my rear left window when it suddenly just stopped. I tried to go back up, and nothing but a grumbling sound. Tried to go back down, and the window fell into the door.

Didn't feel like dishing out $400 bucks to fix it so I pulled in up and jammed a door stop in the window. Got it fixed a year later only to have the other rear window go do the same thing 2 months later.

Based on research this is very common because Jeep choose to use a plastic cable connector. Dealership confirmed this as a known problem, but since it's not a safety issue no recall will be put in for it.

I haven't bothered to fix the second window because not the A/C compressor went bad, and the headgasket blew out for no reason, which are also very common complaints about these Jeeps.

- , Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #23

Dec 062010

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,695 miles

This is the 7th time in 4years I've had to replace this. I'll never buy a jeep product again.

- , Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #22

May 052009

Liberty LX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

The drivers side rear window regulator broke and was repaired under an extended warranty . Last week the passenger side broke. I call the Jeep 800 number and they said they would help us with the repair. It was taken to the local dealer for the repair, they called back several hours latter and said that if I pay $100.00 they would fix it. I told the to go to hell since I had the regulator already out of the Jeep. I did some searching on the internet and found a company that has a steel plate to fix the problem(it sell for 89.95). Both windows had the cable come up out of the door past the window. sooner or latter a kid is going to have his/her nose on the window and there will be a bad injury. The maybe Jeep will find a fix when the go to court. As soon as I get the kit to fix this problem I will post the contact info here,

- , Prescott Valley, AZ, USA

problem #21

Oct 012010

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles

I just had my 7th rear window regulator break since April 2007. A couple times it has been covered under warranty, most have been $300-$400 to repair. The latest incident has not been repaired yet, but only because I discovered a temporary solution that has allowed me to procrastinate. [I called Jeep to complain two days ago, was told someone would contact me the following day -- that would have been yesterday and no phone call yet.] Anyhow, I am as frustrated as everyone else about this problem, but after reading about people wiring their window shut, duct taping it up, etc. I thought I would offer my simple solution. I had in the house a couple of those heavy duty suction cup hooks that I bought at Lowe's. I pulled the window all the way up, applied the two suction hooks at the bottom on the inside and viola, the window stays up! No mess, and easy enough to remove in an emergency. The suction cups have been holding strong for nearly a month now, and I live in hot Arizona on bumpy dirt road.

- , T, A, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?