Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,143 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Apr 202012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving car and it just cut off..this is the third time over the years...first time when car was purchased new in 2003 at carmax in their driveway...then a couple of years ago on expressway..cost 1,600 for repairs at dealership..then again 4-20-2012..the car has had four window motor replacements and two computer replacements..the car is dangerous..I have checked internet..these are issues across the usa. The car should be recalled..it is dangerous..will contact president obama also and the news media. Updated 11/01/12

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #22

Apr 122003

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 10 miles
Computer failure, engine cut off, interior lights, five window motors and glass..car should be recalled..safety issues.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #21

Mar 012012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
Drove it the night before and it ran perfectly fine. No problems at all. Come out to go to work in the morning and turn the key and the engine was knocking really bad. So I turned it off and tried it again and got the same thing again. Took it to the mechanic which is 1/8miles away. He replaced the spark plugs and wires and still doing it. He said the engine has full compression. He can't figure out what is wrong with it. Not even a 100,000 miles on it yet. Very disappointed in Jeep... the mechanic said I need a new engine. 3.7L 2003 Jeep Liberty and it have seen others having this such problem too. Jeep needs to step in and do something about it. I will ruin their reputation so bad by social media. Friends from all across the country and other countries will find out that Jeep is a joke and does not stand behind their vehicle. I will never buy another product from them ever again!!! please Jeep step in and do something for us.. recall the engine for these car's!!!!

- Oakmont, PA, USA

problem #20

Nov 082011

Liberty

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While stopped at a stop light my Jeep Liberty unexpectedly accelerated while my foot was on the brake.

- Bend, OR, USA

problem #19

Aug 102010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
2003 Jeep Liberty. Engine stalls while driving and many electrical problems. Have notified you before and just notified gma after seeing Jeep tanks blow. Updated 06/14/11 updated IVOQ 06/15/11

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #18

Feb 012008

Liberty

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the engine was exhibiting an abnormal noise and the check engine warning light was illuminated. The dealer informed the contact to bring the vehicle in for diagnostic testing. A private mechanic inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that she would need to replace the engine. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted but provided no assistance. The current mileage was 135,000 and the failure mileage was 100,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #17

Dec 092010

Liberty

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on the highway (RT17) heading North, doing about 55 and got off at exit 120 or 121 and as I was driving down the ramp at about 35 mph during rush hour my car just came to a halt. I heard a ding ding, noticed I had no power steering or power brakes and coasted to the side of the ramp. It went from riding with no problems to just dead. I can't even begin to think what would have happened if I was riding in the passing lane or the middle lane of rt. 17 in middletown, NY. I probably would be dead. My son was with me also. I had to have the car towed home and my husband looked at it and told me that the spring had broken and come off and the rocker arm and two clips. We still don't know how much damage has been done to the engine. Apparently, and this is from a Jeep mechanic. In both the 3.7 and 4.7 engines, the valve seats are steel and the cylinder heads are aluminum and the two metals contract differently and when they do the valve seats fall out of the head. I have seen this problem listed on the internet by so many people that it's unfair that Jeep can do this to people. I bought this car with an inheritance, I don't have thousands of dollars to fix it. I have bought the rocker arm, the spring and the clips but still at this time need a rocker arm installer. This car has been kept up on all fluids and changes.

- Walden, NY, USA

problem #16

Dec 092010

Liberty

  • 38,000 miles
I was driving on the highway (RT17) heading North, doing about 55 and got off at exit 120 or 121 and as I was driving down the ramp at about 35 mph during rush hour my car just came to a halt. I heard a ding ding, noticed I had no power steering or power brakes and coasted to the side of the ramp. It went from riding with no problems to just dead. I can't even begin to think what would have happened if I was riding in the passing lane or the middle lane of rt. 17 in middletown, NY. I probably would be dead. My son was with me also. I had to have the car towed home and my husband looked at it and told me that the spring had broken and come off and the rocker arm and two clips. We still don't know how much damage has been done to the engine. Apparently, and this is from a Jeep mechanic. In both the 3.7 and 4.7 engines, the valve seats are steel and the cylinder heads are aluminum and the two metals contract differently and when they do the valve seats fall out of the head. I have seen this problem listed on the internet by so many people that it's unfair that Jeep can do this to people. I bought this car with an inheritance, I don't have thousands of dollars to fix it. I have bought the rocker arm, the spring and the clips but still at this time need a rocker arm installer. This car has been kept up on all fluids and changes.

- Walden, NY, USA

problem #15

Dec 092010

Liberty

  • 38,000 miles
I was driving on the highway (RT17) heading North, doing about 55 and got off at exit 120 or 121 and as I was driving down the ramp at about 35 mph during rush hour my car just came to a halt. I heard a ding ding, noticed I had no power steering or power brakes and coasted to the side of the ramp. It went from riding with no problems to just dead. I can't even begin to think what would have happened if I was riding in the passing lane or the middle lane of rt. 17 in middletown, NY. I probably would be dead. My son was with me also. I had to have the car towed home and my husband looked at it and told me that the spring had broken and come off and the rocker arm and two clips. We still don't know how much damage has been done to the engine. Apparently, and this is from a Jeep mechanic. In both the 3.7 and 4.7 engines, the valve seats are steel and the cylinder heads are aluminum and the two metals contract differently and when they do the valve seats fall out of the head. I have seen this problem listed on the internet by so many people that it's unfair that Jeep can do this to people. I bought this car with an inheritance, I don't have thousands of dollars to fix it. I have bought the rocker arm, the spring and the clips but still at this time need a rocker arm installer. This car has been kept up on all fluids and changes.

- Walden, NY, USA

problem #14

Oct 142010

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 61,500 miles
Vehicle stalls when driving. 2003 Jeep Liberty sport/freedom. When driving, car felt like it was tightening, check engine light came on, RPM dial started spinning like crazy, and the car completely shut down. Towed to mechanic, told code registered cam shaft sensor. Replaced! picked up vehicle, drove 4 miles, shut down again. If vehicle sits and cools off, it will restart. Drove back to mechanic, he replaced cam shaft sensor - thinking it was defective. Next morning, on way to work, stalled while driving again. So, three days in a row, same problem. Very dangerous!!!!!!. this time code registered computer problems, and he suggested I take to dealer, as code part was covered under federal emissions warranty. Took to dealer on Friday, October 22 - 8 days now (also need to do recall work, apparently that's not high on a dealer's list) and he said he can't get it to stall, and his code is registering a transmission issue. I know I'm a 'girl', but it doesn't make sense that the car would completely shut down if the transmission had gear problems. The car completely shuts down! wondering why no recall - seems like other Jeep owners have similar problems (reading threads on internet). I think dealer may be trying to save costs, because I told him I no longer feel safe in the vehicle and may trade or sell. He said part is $875, but can't guarantee that is problem, he has to clear all the codes 1st. How does he know the computer isn't kicking out faulty codes at this point? I say this because when we replaced the crank shaft sensor, the computer said it was still bad, although it was a brand new part. And, the mechanic did not get the code the dealer is getting now. Seems like Jeep has a problem, but no solution. Btw, my 7 year/70,000 mile warranty apparently expired on May 24, 2010.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #13

Aug 052010

Liberty

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact was driving approximately 10 mph and approaching a stop sign when the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle proceeded to roll backward and the contact applied the emergency brake and was able to bring the vehicle to a stop. The vehicle would not restart and was towed to an authorized dealer where the vacuum hose was replaced. After the repair was performed the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who advised that the vehicle be towed to the dealer for diagnosis and repairs. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was discovered that the failure was related to the computerized system and engine valves. The vehicle was repaired at the contact's expense. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #12

Jun 112010

Liberty

  • 60,000 miles
My daughter was driving her 2003 Jeep Liberty on an interstate in a congested area when it began to shake and died, losing power steering and brakes. She was somehow able to pull over in heavy traffic without having an accident. It was discovered that it was a broken valve spring for an intake valve, similar to many other complaints for Jeep Liberty. This Liberty only has about 60K miles and valve springs should be able to last 150K+ miles. This appears to be a relatively common occurrence for this vehicle and it should be unacceptable for an engine with this low mileage to have valve springs break. An engine failure at high speeds could result in tragedy and property loss.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #11

Jul 142009

Liberty

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 15 mph, the engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. Suddenly, the engine failed without warning. The driver pulled the vehicle over to the side of the road. The engine failed to restart and roadside assistance was called to the scene. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for inspection and the technician replaced the crankshaft sensor. In addition, the front and rear passenger and driver's side power window regulators were replaced twice. The VIN was unable to be entered into the system. The failure and current mileages were 57,000.

- Somerset, MA, USA

problem #10

Jun 172009

Liberty

  • 100,200 miles
No warning just driving vehicle as usual and engine stalled in traffic, now I am told I need a new engine and after researching have found several other incidents on the net for similar failures, oil has been changed regularly, engine does have a little over 100,000 miles but this shouldn't just happen, others have indicated something about the valve seat slipping causing such problems I don't know.

- Moulton , AL, USA

problem #9

Jul 202008

Liberty

  • 59,000 miles
Three times in the past year as I am coming to a stop, the Jeep's engine started racing, only by shifting into neutral did I stop before hitting the car in front. I needed to shut the engine off, because the engine was roaring.

- Macedon, NY, USA

problem #8

May 052008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 5,423 miles
Front and back parking lights inside burned (I think it is called the sockets or housing) transmission place said there is something wrong in the engine or transmission, check engine light keeps coming on and sometimes the transmission sounds to loud, they can't figure out what it is. This veh. Is a family veh. We have kids and a grandchild.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #7

Mar 202008

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
1. car stalled on interstate 95, towed to my mechanic 2. mechanic discovered broken timing belt 3. timing belt replaced.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #6

Feb 102008

Liberty

  • miles
Details: Driving home on a very cold night; had car running about 15 min before getting on the roadway. While driving at 40 mph, my engine died. No warning light of any kind came on. Total lock up of gas/break and engine shut off. Coasted to shoulder. Jeep would not restart. Called a towing company and had it towed home, and then to Jeep dealership next day. They requested oil change receipts which I am tracking down from various oil change locations and gave me no answer to what the actual problem was when I periodically called to check in. Do I have any rights here? 7/70,000 full warranty and all they are telling me is I need receipts. I am afraid they will deny claim anyway, as several other postings indicate engine issues and denial. Quote to fix out of pocket is $9,700 which is high and ridiculous considering no one will tell me the actual problem with the car. An entire engine long block block is $2,600 retail. No reply to questions on rebuild. Furthermore they want to charge me a daily storage fee because the car has been there 3 days (one day since they got back to me!!!) I feel this might be a ploy to get me to ditch fixing and force me to buy a new Jeep. I can't get any answers!!!

- Lisle, IL, USA

problem #5

Nov 022006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,050 miles
: the contact stated while approaching a traffic light at 25 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle restarted, the automatic transmission was placed into drive, but the vehicle would not move. The vehicle was shut off and turned back on 4 times, before it was able to move. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who could not duplicate the problem after performing a diagnostic test. The dealer informed the contact that all 4 tires were worn down unevenly and there were pieces of metal showing on the insides of the tires. Also, it was determined that the brakes and rear rotors were worn, and needed to be replaced, along with all 4 tires. A NHTSA recall letter, #06V288000 on the vehicle, regarding the suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint was received. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available. The contact was placed on a waitlist. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop who suggested that the recall work should be performed prior to getting all the other components replaced.

- Harding, PA, USA

problem #4

Aug 092005

Liberty 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The crank sensor failed. The contact has seen other similar complaints on the internet. When the crank sensor fails the vehicle will stall and cut off, causing a loss of steering and brake power. For instance one can be going 60 mph and the vehicle will just stop. There is no warning or lights to warn him. The crank sensor failed and vehicle will stop. Check engine light came on afterwards but it automatically reset I self, causing the check engine light to go off in thirty minutes. This was the first time this happened. But while attempting to take the vehicle to a service station it happened several times. The dealership replaced the crank sensor and the cam sensor.. he has found on the internet the codes that gave a false reading for the cam sensor going out instead of the crank sensor.

- Decatur, GA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?