Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
38 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
72 / 1
Average Mileage:
76,665 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 13 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #62

Jan 092013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated NHTSA recall campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) included his VIN; however, the part remained unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact did not experience any failures related to the recall defect. The VIN was unavailable.

- Wadsworth, OH, USA

problem #61

Mar 062013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure related to the recall.

- Malboro, NJ, USA

problem #60

Jun 052013

Liberty

  • 5,182,106 miles
This complaint is due to the fact that I received a notice stating that there was a defective air bag sensor in our car but that there were no parts to fix it. When will this be resolved" why can a company continue to ignore regulations that require it to notify and then address manufacturing issues" the public puts their trust and money into the hands of these industry giants. We trust that they will provide us with safe and reliable transportation vehicles so that we might exercise our constitutional right to free travel. Recalls are designed to protect the consumer. Sending a notice out with no means to resolve the defect is not enough and is just not acceptable. We need our car to get to work and school. We cannot walk or buy a new car while we wait for the part to be created to fix our Jeep. This needs to be addressed. The air bag sensor light comes on everytime we start the engine.

- Clifton Park, NY, USA

problem #59

Mar 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a notice of an air bag recall several months ago. Along with that notice it read the parts to fix the problem were not available. I still have not received an update that the parts are available are when they would be? my concern is the air bag problem, and also that I have not received any follow up notice.

- South Jordan, UT, USA

problem #58

Jun 012012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that upon starting the ignition, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The failure recurred continuously. There was a recall related to the defect under NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags). The remedy part was unavailable and the vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable. Updated 07/10/13 updated 07/18/2013

- Salem, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #57

May 282013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 80,500 miles
While driving the car, the airbag warning light came on for 15 seconds, then went off for 15 seconds, then flashed back on and off following that timing sequence for about 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, the light stayed off. I called Chrysler because I had received a recall notice in January 2013 about faulty air bags in this model, which could inadvertently deploy while the car was in motion. The representative told me that the part needed is a harness, however, the part is not yet available. She told me there is nothing I can do to fix the problem until the part is created. I was also told that there have been no incidents of airbags deploying inadvertently, but there is a risk it can happen, therefore the recall. However this is extraordinarily dangerous and the fact that Chrysler has no date for when the part will be available is unacceptable.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #56

Jan 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice around the first of this year regarding my defective air bag sensor. I called and was told that the part was not available and I would be notified when it became available. I called again on May 6, 2013 asking again whether the part was available, and again told no. Now, it is going on 6 months since I've heard anything and my car will not pass inspection because of this. Now I have a rejection sticker on my car and I have no car to get back and forth to work and no one will help me with this.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #55

Jan 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number was 12V527000 (air bags) and had been attempting to have the vehicle serviced since January 2013. The part needed to service the vehicle remained unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure related to the recall defect...updated 07-05-13

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #54

May 202013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 165,540 miles
While driving for approximately five minutes the air bag light illuminated for the following ten minutes then turned off. When I next drove the car for approximately fifteen minutes the air bag light re-illuminated for approximately five minutes then turned off again. Had the car checked with an onboard diagnostics device, which did not indicate any problem.

- Beavercreel, OH, USA

problem #53

Jan 032013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) January 2013. The contact had been attempting to have the vehicle serviced per the recall since January however, the dealer advised that the parts needed to complete the recall service had not yet become available. The manufacturer was notified in March 2013 and they also stated that they did not know when the parts would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Butler, NJ, USA

problem #52

Jan 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received a recall notice from Chrysler, in January, that airbag recall because air bag could deploy because of a defect at any time. If the light blinks it will deploy and that this would be fixed as soon as parts were available. 4 months later spoke to Chrysler and they still don't have parts available. What can be done to get this resolved?

- Voorhees, NJ, USA

problem #51

Jan 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 57,063 miles
Air bag light is on. Safety recall notice M35 issued. Manufacturer/dealer has failed to remedy this defect in a reasonable amount of time. Currently, there is no eta on when parts will be available. This is a serious defect as the air bags deploy while the car is in motion causing the vehicle to crash.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #50

Apr 112013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 249,168 miles
I was passenger, my husband [xxx] was driving. Airbag light came on and chimed for a couple of seconds, then suddenly the driver's side airbag deployed, bruising [xxx]' arm and hurting his neck and shoulder. More than a week later, I still cannot get anyone from Chrysler/Jeep to tell me what is going on. They finally had an inspector look at it today, but he said it could be 10-12 days before I get a response. I keep following up with Chrysler by phone, but they will not tell me anything other than that they are investigating it. They did tell me not to drive the vehicle, leaving us with no vehicle and no rental or any type of resolve has been offered. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #49

Jan 212013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
The air bag light came on and has continued to go on and off randomly. The Jeep dealership in fort worth that I spoke to this morning said there was no recall.......now I'm confused.....is there a recall or not"?"

- Crowley, TX, USA

problem #48

Jan 182013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
I was sent a recall for the vehicle due to faulty air bags. Recall notice M35/NHTSA 12V-527 two months have passed and there has been no follow up by Chrysler to fix the problem.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #47

Dec 062012

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) but the part was not in stock. The manufacturer was notified and they stated the recall part would not be available until the first quarter of 2013. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #46

Feb 112013

Liberty

  • 60,000 miles
Airbag indicator light comes on when vehicle is started, and stays on for approximately 30 mins. The majority of the roads near me are 45mph or above, and with the high rollover rate of SUV's I don't feel remotely safe knowing that at any minute my airbag can go off. I shouldn't have to feel like I'm driving a ticking time bomb of a death box. At this point I feel I don't even want the vehicle anymore and am thinking about trading it off, but I feel like Chrysler should compensate me and other Jeep Liberty owners for having to do so.

- Seville, OH, USA

problem #45

Jan 012013

Liberty

  • 65,000 miles
I bought my Jeep off of my grandparents in October. Its a really nice Jeep, only has 69,000 miles. That's good for an 03. Every car has its problems im sure. But mines on recall. I have had the airbag light come on and go off. And I comes on whenever it wants to. And it scares me because if the airbags go off, not only will I be mad, but you can bet, ill prob raise hell. Because I don't fell save driving a car that has the potential to have the airbags go off. Also I have noticed that the power lock on the drivers side works when I wants to. Like I have to hit it a couple times to get it to work. Not such a big deal. Also the cd player doesn't work. Like I've change all the fuses to try and get the door lock/cdplayer to work. And nothing changed. It make a really loud and annoying noise after the cd plays for awhile. That I don't car about. Also one day I got in my Jeep. I don't know how because the door was shut and locked, but on the drivers side, on the inside of the door. Was nothing but ice. The door still opened and closed, no problem but, it looked like somebody took a gallon of water and dumped in down the inside of my door and it froze over. And that's the problems I've noticed with it. The only thing I care about is the whole air bag thing. I have received notice that it will be fixed, but will it be fixed for good. Because I don't feel safe driving around and doing my daily things, knowing that I, or my family, or friends could get hurt from the airbags going off. So I hope that whatever the company is doing to fix it works, because everyday I get in my Jeep, that's the only thing that is going threw my head. Thanks

- Curwensville , PA, USA

problem #44

Nov 022012

Liberty

  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer or an independent mechanic to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was contacted and advised him that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module). The failure and current mileages were approximately 123,000.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #43

Dec 302011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic however, the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 115,000 and the current mileage was 117,000. Updated 1/7/12 the consumer was informed a recall was pending. However, the vehicle was taken to the dealer and the vehicle was repaired at the consumer's expense. Updated 01/09/13.

- Big Canoe, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?