Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
26 / 0
Average Mileage:
48,017 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Feb 172011


  • 77,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated while traveling 70 mph, the drivers side frontal air bag deployed; although, a crash did not occur. The driver stated the air bag light came on and within two seconds the air bag deployed. The contact confirmed that the vehicle did not hit anything on the road that may have caused the air bag to deploy. The contact was able to avoid a crash; however, the driver's neck was injured when the seat belt suddenly tightened. The contacts insurance company repaired the vehicle, but the manufacturer did not assist because the failure was not a known problem. The failure mileage was 77,000 and the current mileage was 79,000. Updated 07/20/11 updated 3/20/12

- Zionsville, IN, USA

problem #23

May 092011


  • 142,744 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated while driving approximately 15 mph the front driver and passenger side air bags deployed unexpectedly without caucusing a crash. The contact was able to pull over to the side of the road momentarily before continuing. The contact sustained bruises to the left arm and right hand. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 142,744.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #22

Jun 092010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Yesterday early evening, I was driving about 60mph on a highway in garland, Texas, when all of a sudden my airbag deployed without cause. There was no impact to the car at the time of deployment, sudden stop or anything that would impact the deployment. It deployed, I lost control of my vehicle and went to the shoulder of the highway. No events that would lead to the deployment, not even the light that indicates "air bag. " it is now lit because it deployed, I'm assuming. This is the first time it has happened. The deployment of the airbag caused burns on my arm and a swollen wrist. I will take the vehicle into the dealership soon. Nothing has been done yet.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #21

Dec 192009


  • 105,000 miles


Traveling speed limit at 55 mph.slide on black ice. Car went head on in hill in the median of the road and rolled twice. Glass shattered-all windows. Vehicle totaled. Front, hood both caved in.. car started smoking on impact. Had to rent car to travel home from oh to tn. Had to purchase new vehicle. Injuries to 2 children-minor cuts. Myself..very stiff and sore esp. In neck, wrist and back areas. Airbags never deployed!!!!

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #20

Sep 052009


  • 93,000 miles
On 9/5/09 at approximately, 12noon central time, while at a stoplight, both drivers and passengers airbag deployed with no accident occurring. I was driving my 2003 Jeep Liberty that I purchased new. I suffered a bruises to my forearm, which was on the steering wheel at the time of the incident. I have recently seen a doctor to determine the extent of my injury. My car is currently at feeny Jeep Chrysler in elgin, il. I have contacted Chrysler and am waiting for their response. A member from Chrysler was to go to the dealer on 9/10/09 to investigate why the airbags deployed. I was fortunate that I was not moving when this happened or more severe consequences may have occurred to me or other motorists. I am reporting this so that a thorough investigation can be conducted to make sure this does not happen to any other motorists. I suspect a manufacturing defect that led to the deployment of the airbags.

- South Elgin, IL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

Jun 192007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving 35 mph, the contact applied the brakes and they locked. As a result, the contact's vehicle rear ended another vehicle. The road conditions were wet. The front air bags failed to deploy. The contact suffered bruising on the right shoulder and a cut on the neck from the seat belt. The passenger suffered soreness. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The current and failure mileages were 40,000.

- Saint Augustine , FL, USA

problem #18

Jul 302005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


In July 2005 I had an accident with my 2003 Jeep Liberty it caused about 8,000 damage to the front of my Jeep and the air bags did not deploy I checked the web site car and there are a lot of the same accidents on this site for the Jeep and the airbags did not deploy Chrysler said it is not their fault.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #17

Sep 292006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Jeep Liberty with defected airbags customer states that she was in accident and the airbags didn't deploy*

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #16

Aug 252006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 45mph on the highway, both frontal airbags deployed without warning. This occurred without causing a crash and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was driven to the dealer to await inspection. The manufacturer was alerted.

- Griffin, GA, USA

problem #15

Jun 092006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
On June 6, 2006, my vehicle was involved in a frontal(T-bone) collision. A car pulled out in front of it after crossing 3 lanes of traffic. Speed was 55 mph. I was struck in the drivers front and smashed the front of the auto. Insurance totaled the car as damage was in excess of $11,000. A passenger was in the car. Both wore seat belts. Neither air bag deployed in spite of a frontal collision that totaled the vehicl.

- Jasper, AL, USA

problem #14

Mar 242006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,815 miles


My son was involved in a one car accident. My son was in the middle of a sharp curve on a 2 lane road when he noticed a car approaching from the opposite direction. The front passenger of my son's car estimated their speed at 50 mph. The approaching vehicle scared my son and he jerked the steering wheel to the right and hit his brakes. The 2003 Jeep Liberty skidded head-on into a ditch and then flipped end-over-end twice. My son and the front passenger suffered only minor injuries. No doubt the seat belts saved their lives but the front air bags did not deploy. The car was totaled by the insurance company.

- Owens Cross Roads, AL, USA

problem #13

Dec 192005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
The contact's husband was involved in an accident. Upon impact, neither of the air bags deployed. While exiting an on/off ramp the contact's husband was merging into traffic when the vehicle in front slammed on the brakes. Therefore, the contact's husband rear ended the vehicle in front of him while driving at 30 mph. Although, the contact's husband was wearing a seat belt he sustained major injuries to the face and head. His face hit the steering wheel so hard the doctor pulled pieces of the steering wheel out of the bridge of his nose. A police report was taken at the scene. The insurance company elevated the vehicle and deemed it a total loss.

- Commack, NY, USA

problem #12

Oct 072005

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty renegade. On October 7, 2005 it was raining and it caused the vehicle to hydro-plane. While driving at 45 mph the brakes skidded, and the contact was unable to control the steering. This caused the vehicle to hit a tree. When she hit the tree both frontal airbags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries, and unable to return to work for the time being. The vehicle is currently at the dealership. The manufacturer said that the airbags had to meet certain conditions before they would deploy. The insurance company claimed that vehicle hit in a way that the airbag sensor should have picked it up. The contact requested that the insurance company and manufacturer should investigate it.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #11

Aug 152005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
The contact wife was driving a 2003 Jeep Liberty, when the vehicle struck a tree while traveling approximately 50 mph. The driver's side and passenger's side air bags did not deploy. The vehicle is at a body shop to get an estimate on the repairs. The service dealer has been notified, but has not returned any calls. The consumer has not contacted the manufacturer yet. The vehicle had not been involved in any previous accidents. The consumer states the airbag light was not illuminated indicating any problems.

- Clay, KY, USA

problem #10

May 152005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
Involved in accident on 5/13/05. Vehicle was totalled due to front end damage, air bags did not deploy. Vehicle was at a speed of about 45-55 pmh. No airbag deployed. Car is equipped with front dirver and passenger air bag. Frontal impact occured. Contact cannot remember seat belt. No airbag warning light was present. Contact has pictures of damages.police report was filed.

- Remington, IN, USA

problem #9

Jan 152005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
While driving 35 mph the vehicle collided into a telephone pole. The airbags did not deploy impact. The driver sustained head injuries and bruised ribs. The cause had not been determined. Please provide additional information.

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #8

Dec 262004


  • miles
Complaint received via E-mail. My wife, son, and I were involved in an accident. We hit an ice patch on I-80 East mile marker 128. We went down a bank and hit a tree head on at aproximatly 50 mph, and seat belts/air bags did not work. I contacted Jeep, and was told that an investigator would go and look at the Jeep, and they would get back to me. I then contacted the garage where my vehicle was being repaired, and asked the owner if the inspector had been there. I was informed that he was, and that he did not even know where the air bag sensors were located. A few days later, I recieved a letter informing me that the air bag did fail, and that it should not have gone off, my vehicle had $9000 damage at the front end. I am concerned that the vehicle was not safe for myself and family. I did some research on and found that 9 other 2003, Jeep Liberty had the same problem.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #7

Dec 132004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
I was driving on I65north at a rate of speed of approximately 45- 50 mph when I hit a patch of ice and lost control of my 2003 Jeep Liberty. I spun out and hit a concrete bridge abutment head on with such impact that my Jeep was totaled at over $20,000 in damage. My air bag did not deploy and I hit my head on the steering wheel resulting in a severe head contusion requiring approximately 30 sutures from a skilled plastic surgeon. The plastic surgeon commented during the procedure that had my air bags deployed, I would not have sustained such an injury.

- Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #6

Dec 152004

Liberty 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
I was involved in a rear-end collision with a Lexus SUV. I ran into the back of a Lexus SUV that was unexpectly stopped in front of me and the entire engine compartment and front section of the Jeep collapsed forward at a 45% angle, pushing the entire front of the vehicle to the former location of the middle of the engine. This was on a 2003, Jeep Liberty with 13,000 miles and neither airbag in the Jeep Liberty deployed during the severe impact of the crash. There is currently $8,000+ of damage to the front of the Jeep Liberty and the prestice Dodge, in dallas, Texas, has informed me that this is not a matter for them to deal with, because failed airbags are considered a factory defect. The vehicle was just surveyed for repairs today by allstate insurance and they are going to repair it, but after contacting the dealership "prestige Dodge" and asking them to go look at the car to verify the airbags had not gone off. The dealership provided me with a number for Chrysler 18009921997 to address these failed airbags with. I called Chrysler and the customer service center stated that if the collision center had already begun work on the car that Chrysler would refuse to acknowledge that the airbags did not go off and they would refuse to send an investigator because the collision center has already begun following allstates instructions to repair the front end of the vehicle. At this point Chrysler customer service hung up on me.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #5

Oct 312004


  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
The vehicle has been involved in three separate frontal collisions. The dual air bags did not deploy. Please provide additional information.

- Gueydan, LA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?