If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
31 / 0
Average Mileage:
116,870 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #103

Nov 042013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to air bag occupant restraint control module recall notice. The consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- East Orland, ME, USA

problem #102

Oct 302013

Liberty

  • miles
During this morning October 30, 2013 (7:00 am) I attended the meeting with Ms. Diana E. picon-trenche, advisor of rio piedras auto group in relation to safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527 occupant restraint control module filter circuit. I could not resolve my situation because Ms. Picon-trenche told me that the car would be ready in two days. She said that there are other cars to diagnosis. Unfortunately, I don't have another vehicle. She said that they have a service to take me to my house at 8:00 am. I did not accept the proposal because I had a doctor's appointment today, tomorrow with my mother who is a cancer patient, and other appointments on Friday. She said me that I need to call after 9:00 am for another appointment, and that they were from November 6. on your document you wrote "the work will take about one hour to complete. However, additional time may be necessary depending on service". I understand that. As additional time... maybe 3, 4 or 5 hours..., but two days"??" it's ridiculous! I hope your attention to this complaint.

- Carolina , PR, USA

problem #101

Apr 152013

Liberty

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags). The dealer was contacted and stated that the part was not available for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 70,000.

- Emmett, MI, USA

problem #100

Jul 012013

Liberty

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated the vehicle was taken to the dealer to have the NHTSA campaign 12V527000 (air bags) performed; however, the repair didn't correct the failure, the air bag light remained illuminated after the vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 150,000.

- Labelle , FL, USA

problem #99

Nov 012012

Liberty

  • 65,000 miles
This is my second complaint regarding the recall on my Jeep Liberty 2003. The airbag light started coming on while I was driving. It would later go off. Sometimes it comes on while driving at a steady speed. Other times it comes on while the vehicle is stopped at a light. Braking does not seem to have an impact on it. I first reported this to the dealer in November 2012. They said not to worry. I received the first recall notice in March 2013 and a second one arrived the first week of October 2013. To date I have made multiple phone calls to the local Jeep dealer service department as well as 3 visits. At one visit they finally actually looked at the car and confirmed it needs to be fixed. Today I spoke with the Chrysler recall group assistance 800 number. First they agreed to help me get the dealer to honor the recall. However, by the end of the call I was told that Chrysler still does not have the part needed to fix my vehicle. I was also told that Chrysler does not see this as a high risk. Now I am certain that there are higher risks out there and I understand that corporations "play the numbers" when they decide what to do. But in the long run, if my air bag deploys unexpectedly while I am driving on the expressway at 75 mph I, my passengers, and surrounding motorists are the ones who will pay the price of this decision. Keep in mind that it has already been confirmed by the local Chrysler service department that my air bag is defective. It could deploy without warning at any time that I am driving. It is not related to braking, speed, distance traveled, or anything that I can pinpoint.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #98

Mar 282012

Liberty

  • miles
I have received three notices regarding recall on the orc module for Jeep Liberty 2002 and 2003. Each time notice had been received I attempted to schedule service appointment to have this issue rectified. Each time was told there was a back log because of number of recalls and couldn't give me when this part could be replaced. Needless to say im receiving another notice stating the seriousness of this matter but no indication when part will be available. I drive everyday and my safety is at risk as and it is now over a year with no resolve.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #97

Oct 012012

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that she was unable to have the vehicle serviced because the parts needed to complete the repair were not available. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lone, CA, USA

problem #96

Sep 252013

Liberty

  • 90,750 miles
I received a safety recall for M35/nhstsa 12V-527 (airbag system recall) the week of Sept 23,2013. I contacted firkins Chrysler/Jeep motors, bradenton, Florida to ask for a scheduled appointment. They did not have the part and I was told to wait until I received a second letter from Chrysler group llc later on. They did not offer to order the parts nor did they give me any satisfaction. I immediately contacted sunset Dodge Chrysler Jeep motors in sarasota, Florida for assistance with this airbag matter. I was greeting pleasantly and asked when I wanted to schedule an appointment. I took my Jeep in for repair on Friday Sept 27, 2013 and the service was completed in one hour. I was very satisfied and pleased with the courteous service. I doubt that I will call firkins motors if I ever need service on my Jeep.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #95

Sep 252013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) in the mail several months ago and stated that the dealer informed her that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #94

Sep 232013

Liberty

  • 100,000 miles
Just got another recall notice..safety recall..M35/NHTSA 12V-527 0ccupant restraint control module filter circuit this is one of many recalls..with no parts available..how many recallls will it take to recall this dangerous Chrysler.. how many accidents, deaths..money spent for a lemon..tell dan reed..I have have notified the proper higher ups..maybe they can handle this..since your dept. Cannot

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #93

Sep 102013

Liberty

  • 210,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front end collision with a driver cited for improper left hand turn/failure to yield. Our car is classified as a total loss. Neither the driver side or passenger side air bags deployed resulting is serious injury to the driver - jaw broken in 2 places.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #92

Sep 202013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) in the mail several months ago and stated that the dealer informed her that the parts were not yet available for the repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wister, MA, USA

problem #91

Mar 012012

Liberty

  • miles
Since the spring of 2012 my air bag light has been coming on at odd times. Sometimes it is during braking and sometimes it is not. I contacted the dealer and they said there was no danger and no recall. Earlier this year I received a recall notice from the Chrysler group. Safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527. My first call to the dealer was in February or March and I was told they didn't have the parts and asked me to call back in April. Since then I have taken may car over at least 3 times. The service manager, don taylor, insisted that I had to arrive no later than 7:30 am on a Monday morning. He refused to give me any other appointment time. At the 3rd visit they finally looked at my Jeep and confirmed there is an issue with the air bag. To date they have still not fixed it. Every time I call I get the same answer, "we don't have the part yet. We will call you when we do." I asked if I should go to another dealer in a different city, but he stated that they don't have the parts either. I have also called the Chrysler group recall assistance center listed in the recall notice only to be on hold for a very long time and then get disconnected without ever speaking to anyone. My air bag light continues to come on at odd times. I am concerned that it will deploy when I am not expecting it. Can you help me get my car fixed? the dealership in question is Dodge city of mckinney Texas located at 700 S. central expressway, mckinney, tx 75070. The service manager is don taylor. He is the only one I have spoken with as the others in the office refer me to him and say he is the only one who can assist me with a recall.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #90

Aug 302013

Liberty

  • 155,000 miles
My husband made a left turn out of our complex and less than a.5 miles; driver and passenger airbag deployed without any warning. Thank goodness there were no fatalities. My spouse became really sick, had a really bad asthma attack, burns to his right arm, and problems hearing.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #89

Jul 222013

Liberty

  • miles
My vehicle has a recall on the air bags and the vehicle can not be corrected. I was told the Jeep dealerships do not have the parts to fix it. Also, the PCM component of my vehicle needs to be replaced and the Chrysler dealership has discontinued the part, an aftermarket part can not be found and none are on back order. My vehicle is still under warranty and the warranty department is sending the PCM to have the part refurbished but will not guarantee the part. My concern is the cars safety is not guaranteed due to the recall on airbags and the PCM is the main computer part for the car, if it can not be guaranteed to be safe and running what are my options?

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #88

Aug 222013

Liberty

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she had been waiting over a year for the parts needed to complete the service for NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Tallapoosa, GA, USA

problem #87

Aug 142013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact was driving 15 mph and attempting a right turn when the vehicle began to accelerate without the accelerator pedal being depressed. The contact depressed the brake pedal but the vehicle did not stop until he crashed into another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence and had not been repaired or diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 67,000. Updated 10/17/13

- Plymouth , MN, USA

problem #86

Jan 152013

Liberty

  • 135,000 miles
I received recall notice M35/NHTSA 12V-527 in January 2013, but when I called my dealer, they said parts won't be in until 2nd Q 2013. So I called in April. No parts. I called in may, June, July, and August and still no parts. This is a safety issue...why are there no parts?

- Cary, IL, USA

problem #85

Oct 042012

Liberty

  • 102,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that when she contacted the dealer she was told that the parts were not available. There was no time frame given for part delivery. She has not experienced any failures. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate current mileage was 102,000.-

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #84

Jan 012002

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
In January 2013, I received a recall notice regarding the air bag system occupant restraint control module. I called the dealer in boise, id on July 13, 2013, and they said the parts weren't available to repair the problem so they took my name & number and said they'd call when the parts were available. I called again on July 10, 2013 and the parts are still not available and they don't have any idea when they will be. If this problem was urgent enough to send out a recall notice in January, why is it that in July they still can't fix the problem and, in fact, don't have any available parts to do so" if the airbag goes off while I'm driving 50+ mph, I can only guess at what injuries will be sustained by any passengers in the vehicle at the time. What can be done about this problem"

- Meridian, ID, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?