Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
35 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
67 / 1
Average Mileage:
78,384 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 15)

problem #285

Aug 172016

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I brought our Jeep to the brookdale Chrysler Jeep for a occupant restrain module recall. Upon picking up the vehicle we noticed the seat belt light on, so I informed the service manager. They where nonchalant about it. They suggested my wife had something on the seat which she did not. The soluntion was for me to pay to have it taken out and another installed. We asked about a loaner vehicle and he stated we had to rent onespite government requests that they provide recall customers with a free loaner. I now have a air bag light on which was not there before they installed the ocuupant restraint module. This is a directly related part and brookdale Chrysler is leaving us hanging. No loaners car signs any where in sight (violation)

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #284

Jul 022016

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 65 mph, the driver and passenger side air bags inadvertently deployed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the orc sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #283

Mar 102016

Liberty

  • 125,000 miles
Takata recall we have taken it in several times to carl gregory on victory dr. They keep saying the parts arent in and they will call, but they never do. This has been going on for over a year.

- Hamilton, GA, USA

problem #282

Aug 012014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V673000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Jacksboro, TN, USA

problem #281

Apr 302016

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to occupant restraint control module recall installation repairs and airbag indicator light states out of order. The recall was finally completed on June 4, 2016, after appointments were re-scheduled and/or cancelled.

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #280

Mar 262016

Liberty

  • 170,000 miles
The contact owned a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving 40 mph, the contact rear ended another vehicle, spun out, and crashed into a brick house. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the head, hip, pelvis, ribs, neck, back, and stomach. Medical attention was required. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to the original owner. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 170,000. Updated 08/16/16

- Conneaut, OH, USA

problem #279

Jun 032016

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bags did not deploy after making 2 impacts, totaling vehicle dear Chrysler/Jeep my name is [xxx] and I have been the proud owner of a 2003 Jeep Liberty renegade. On June 3, 2016 I was struck by another motorist on my home from work. I commute every day from the southwest suburbs of Chicago to downtown Chicago. I have taken the utmost pride in my Jeep, providing regular maintenance. In the past 6 months I have spent over $1500 in replacements. I recently purchased 4 brand new tires, a new alternator, a new muffler, oil pressure switch and an evap sensor. I have also made purchases to customize my Jeep, by adding neon lights in the inside, seat covers, and a new stereo system. Asides from all the love and attention I put into my Jeep, there was something about my accident that scared me the most. After the other vehicle struck me, my Jeep kept on rolling, hopping a curb, narrowly missing a tree and hopping another curb and totaling my Jeep. I suffered a left knee contusion in the end. The real horror is that my air bags did not deploy. For my vehicle to make 2 large impacts and no air bags has left me with a complete distrust in the brand. If my life was at a higher risk or if I had struck that tree or any other vehicle on the road, it"S sad to think that the one safety feature that could have saved my life, took no action. Yes, a product liability lawsuit is possible because of this, but I want to ensure 100% that they"re may be thousands out there that put their trust in their Jeep, not knowing that it could possibly be a fatal mistake. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chicago Ridge, IL, USA

problem #278

May 012016

Liberty

  • 144,000 miles
Airbag light will not reset. Car has never been in an accident nor has had the airbag deploy.

- Batavia, IL, USA

problem #277

Nov 252014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received several notices for NHTSA campaign number: 15V673000 (air bags). The contact made several calls to the dealer and was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer was contacted to determine when the parts would become available to receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Houtzdale, PA, USA

problem #276

Jan 012015

Liberty

  • miles
Takata recall. Attempted to get the airbag system occupant restraint control module replaced. I was told in 2015 they didn't have the part. Was then told in 2016 that they never received the part. Have placed numerous calls checking to see if the part came it. Calls were not returned. Now how do I get this done" about 6 months ago my airbag light started coming on and off. How do I get this taken care of, if, as claimed, the dealership never received the part to do the work"

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #275

Jan 102016

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V6730000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 06/29/16 updated 07/25/16.

- Ocean Pines, MD, USA

problem #274

Sep 172015

Liberty

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owned a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 45 mph, the contact's vehicle was run off the road by another vehicle. The contact crashed into a pole. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained head trauma, injuries to the left humerus, right wrist, eight broken ribs, and punctured lungs that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a tow lot. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V673000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Glenville, WV, USA

problem #273

Jan 302015

Liberty

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bellport, NY, USA

problem #272

Mar 102016

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V673000 (air bags) and was unable to receive the repair within a reasonable time frame. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 06/15/16 updated 06/22/16.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #271

Oct 152015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Stockbridge, GA, USA

problem #270

Apr 132015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Fort Washington, MH, USA

problem #269

Jan 012014

Liberty

  • 65,000 miles
For at least 2 years, I have had problems with the air bag light. I have never had an accident. I can be driving and after about 10 minutes, the light will come on and stay on. I have had one recall taken care of and it did not correct the problem. I have a pending recall and according to the dealer, the parts are still not in. I would like to sell my vehicle, but I probably can't with the airbag light on. I only have 84,000 miles.

- Mitchellville, MD, USA

problem #268

Mar 302016

Liberty

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The dealer repaired the vehicle for NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags). The vehicle was repaired; however, the air bag light illuminated after the repair. The air bag light was not illuminated when the vehicle was taken in for the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the repair. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Hawthorn Wood, IL, USA

problem #267

Apr 042016

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect

- Sewickley, PA, USA

problem #266

Mar 232016

Liberty

  • 129,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While the vehicle was parked, the air bags deployed independently. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 129,000.

- Wyndber, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?