If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
34 / 0
Average Mileage:
110,416 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #112

Dec 032012

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL- the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) and the local dealer stated that the parts were not available. The contact had waited longer than a year for the recall repair. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Dyd

- Flagler, FL, USA

problem #111

Mar 182014

Liberty

  • 105,000 miles
The car had been acting funny, going fast then making a noise and going ok again. I am not a fast driver as in November my husband of 32 years, passed after being in a hit and run, from people with no insurance, my life is pretty much hell. I was starting to smell something funny like burning and I thought I maybe a tire or strut. I was at a signal second car in and loots of traffic, including school buses. There was a gas station about 30-40 feet from me, but the first car went in to get gas, so on second thought going by the pumps was not a good idea, so I put on signal and tried to pulled over. Car were speeding past me and the car began to accelerate and ll to the right, I turned left or pulled to the left, crashed into a pole hard. Seat belt went flying off, air bags on side did not go off, but front ones did. I broke my leg and bruises, plus a black eye. Since the week before I lost my job, I am doomed, have to try to find a job, because I can:T my car get unemployment. I loved my car first and only car I have ever had.is there anything you could do to help as I have had many recalls and had them checked, but thois is just so strange I thought I had.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #110

Mar 062013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received two recall notifications of NHTSA campaign id number 12V52700 (air bags) and 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The required parts were not currently unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide the expected date for the remedy parts. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. There are no failures at this time.

- Madera, CA, USA

problem #109

Apr 222013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id numbers: 12V527000 (air bags) and 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline and structure). The contact stated that the parts were not available for either repair. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonable date for when the vehicle would have the recall repairs performed. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #108

Jul 102013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received two recall notifications under NHTSA campaign id numbers 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and 12V527000 (air bag); however, the vehicle was not serviced because the parts were not available to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. There are no failures at this time.

- Nogales, AZ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #107

Jan 172014

Liberty

  • 123,931 miles
The airbag system occupant restrain control module was replaced on the vehicle. The airbag light remains on and the service center stated there is a faulty module indicating a seatbelt issue after using the machine that reads codes. We were advised to contact vehicle safety. The service center is pellegrino Chrysler Jeep, 241 N. glassboro road, woodbury heights, NJ 08097. Phone number 856-848-2822. Please contact on this matter. Thank you.

- Sicklerville, NJ, USA

problem #106

Dec 052013

Liberty

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact was traveling various speeds and lost control of the vehicle, jumping a curb and crashing into an embankment. The air bags failed to deploy and the front end of the vehicle became engulfed in flames. The contact sustained neck, back and chest injuries. The front passenger sustained a fractured wrist. The vehicle was destroyed and a police report was filed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Bay Shore, NY, USA

problem #105

Nov 072013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bag) and stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer had not been made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Los Angelos, CA, USA

problem #104

Mar 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a safety recall notice earlier in the year. I believe it was sometime in March 2013. The recall was about an air bag system occupant restraint control (orc). Again, I received this recall notice in October 2013. I have called the Jeep dealer, [xxx] located on West market street in pottsville pa 17901 three times about this and have been told each time that the part is backordered and they will call me when the part comes in. The last call I made to them was on December 5, 2013 and was still told it was on backorder. When will this part be available as my airbag warning light has been turning on & off at different times over the last year? I want to get this fixed and wanted to know why this part is taking so long to be available. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Schuylkill Haven, PA, USA

problem #103

Nov 042013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to air bag occupant restraint control module recall notice. The consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- East Orland, ME, USA

problem #102

Oct 302013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During this morning October 30, 2013 (7:00 am) I attended the meeting with[xxx], advisor of rio piedras auto group in relation to safety recall M35/NHTSA 12V-527 occupant restraint control module filter circuit. I could not resolve my situation because [xxx] told me that the car would be ready in two days. She said that there are other cars to diagnosis. Unfortunately, I don't have another vehicle. She said that they have a service to take me to my house at 8:00 am. I did not accept the proposal because I had a doctor's appointment today, tomorrow with my mother who is a cancer patient, and other appointments on Friday. She said me that I need to call after 9:00 am for another appointment, and that they were from November 6. on your document you wrote "the work will take about one hour to complete. However, additional time may be necessary depending on service". I understand that. As additional time... maybe 3, 4 or 5 hours..., but two days"??" it's ridiculous! I hope your attention to this complaint. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Carolina , PR, USA

problem #101

Apr 152013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags). The dealer was contacted and stated that the part was not available for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 70,000. Updtated 3/5/14 the dealer fixed the problem.

- Emmett, MI, USA

problem #100

Jul 012013

Liberty

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated the vehicle was taken to the dealer to have the NHTSA campaign 12V527000 (air bags) performed; however, the repair didn't correct the failure, the air bag light remained illuminated after the vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 150,000.

- Labelle , FL, USA

problem #99

Nov 012012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
This is my second complaint regarding the recall on my Jeep Liberty 2003. The airbag light started coming on while I was driving. It would later go off. Sometimes it comes on while driving at a steady speed. Other times it comes on while the vehicle is stopped at a light. Braking does not seem to have an impact on it. I first reported this to the dealer in November 2012. They said not to worry. I received the first recall notice in March 2013 and a second one arrived the first week of October 2013. To date I have made multiple phone calls to the local Jeep dealer service department as well as 3 visits. At one visit they finally actually looked at the car and confirmed it needs to be fixed. Today I spoke with the Chrysler recall group assistance 800 number. First they agreed to help me get the dealer to honor the recall. However, by the end of the call I was told that Chrysler still does not have the part needed to fix my vehicle. I was also told that Chrysler does not see this as a high risk. Now I am certain that there are higher risks out there and I understand that corporations "play the numbers" when they decide what to do. But in the long run, if my air bag deploys unexpectedly while I am driving on the expressway at 75 mph I, my passengers, and surrounding motorists are the ones who will pay the price of this decision. Keep in mind that it has already been confirmed by the local Chrysler service department that my air bag is defective. It could deploy without warning at any time that I am driving. It is not related to braking, speed, distance traveled, or anything that I can pinpoint.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #98

Mar 282012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
I have received three notices regarding recall on the orc module for Jeep Liberty 2002 and 2003. Each time notice had been received I attempted to schedule service appointment to have this issue rectified. Each time was told there was a back log because of number of recalls and couldn't give me when this part could be replaced. Needless to say im receiving another notice stating the seriousness of this matter but no indication when part will be available. I drive everyday and my safety is at risk as and it is now over a year with no resolve.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #97

Oct 012012

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) and stated that she was unable to have the vehicle serviced because the parts needed to complete the repair were not available. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lone, CA, USA

problem #96

Sep 252013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 90,750 miles
I received a safety recall for M35/NHTSA 12V-527 (airbag system recall) the week of Sept 23,2013. I contacted firkins Chrysler/Jeep motors, bradenton, Florida to ask for a scheduled appointment. They did not have the part and I was told to wait until I received a second letter from Chrysler group llc later on. They did not offer to order the parts nor did they give me any satisfaction. I immediately contacted sunset Dodge Chrysler Jeep motors in sarasota, Florida for assistance with this airbag matter. I was greeting pleasantly and asked when I wanted to schedule an appointment. I took my Jeep in for repair on Friday Sept 27, 2013 and the service was completed in one hour. I was very satisfied and pleased with the courteous service. I doubt that I will call firkins motors if I ever need service on my Jeep.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #95

Sep 252013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) in the mail several months ago and stated that the dealer informed her that the parts were not available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #94

Sep 232013

Liberty

  • 100,000 miles
Just got another recall notice..safety recall..M35/NHTSA 12V-527 occupant restraint control module filter circuit this is one of many recalls..with no parts available..how many recalls will it take to recall this dangerous Chrysler.. how many accidents, deaths..money spent for a lemon..tell dan reed..I have notified the proper higher ups..maybe they can handle this..since your dept. Cannot.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #93

Sep 102013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 210,000 miles
Front end collision with a driver cited for improper left hand turn/failure to yield. Our car is classified as a total loss. Neither the driver side or passenger side air bags deployed resulting is serious injury to the driver - jaw broken in 2 places.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?