Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,036 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Dec 152011


  • 120,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to a local mechanic for routine service when the mechanic advised that the ball joint was defective. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 06V288000 (suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint) but was advised by the manufacturer that the vehicle was not included in the recall campaign. The failure and the current mileage was 120,000.

- South Hadley , MA, USA

problem #22

Nov 182011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 70,529 miles
I was advised by my Jeep dealership that my 2003 Jeep Liberty needs both the left and right front upper control arms replaced. 2003 Jeep Liberty vehicles manufactured from May 2002 through September 2002 have been recalled due to the failure of this component. The Chrysler recall is no. J17 (NHTSA campaign id 09V119000; NHTSA action number EA08008). My Jeep Liberty was manufactured in October 2002 - one month after the recall period and therefore isn't eligible for this recall. In researching Chrysler recall no J17, the root cause of the upper control arm issue was never determined. It was only determined that 70% of incidents occurred during this time period while only accounting for 11% of vehicle production (a "spike"). I argue that since my Jeep was manufactured one month after the recall period, and requires upper control arm replacement, it is the same issue experience by vehicles under the J17 recall. I ask that either: (1) Chrysler replace my upper control arms free of charge -or- (2) NHTSA / ODI extend the recall to cover the remaining 2003 Jeep Liberty vehicles not covered under J17. I ask for NHTSA / ODI's assistance in seeking reimbursement from Chrysler and investigating extension of the J17 recall.

- Willoughby, OH, USA

problem #21

Oct 012011


  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that there was rust on both the front and rear control arms. The dealer diagnosed that there may have been a leak that was causing the rust. The manufacturer was notified, but denied any assistance with repairs to the defect. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 68,000.

- Duxbury, MA, USA

problem #20

Jun 232011


  • 30,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the driver side ball joints failed while driving 30 mph. The failure caused the contact to crash into another vehicle, a cement wall and then the vehicle traveled over the overpass. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a local mechanic. The contact was injured and transported to the hospital. The police were called and a report was filed. The insurance company was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was also notified and offered no assistance. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Perrehaute, IN, USA

problem #19

May 082011


  • 206,603 miles
My stepdaughter was driving her 2003 Jeep Liberty in her grandmother's driveway when she heard a loud thunk causing the vehicle to come to a stop due to the driver's side front tire separating from the vehicle. We changed the front driver side ball joint and control arm due to failure and tire separation from the vehicle. It was well that my step daughter was not travelling on the highway at a faster rate of speed because that surely would have ended with a more serious result. I see that there have been three recalls related to the control arm and ball joints. This particular vehicle was purchased from a private individual that actually had taken the vehicle in for the recall in 2006, but it seems that the problem has not been resolved. I'm very much concerned for my step daughter's safety while operating a motor vehicle and I hope that something can be done soon to correct this problem.

- Walker, LA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Sep 282010


  • 55,000 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that after receiving a recall notice in regards to NHTSA campaign id number 09V119000 ( suspension:front:control arm). She has tried to contact the dealer and the manufacturer and they advised 6 months ago that the parts still not available. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000.

- Emporium , PA, USA

problem #17

Mar 022009


  • 42,166 miles


Start with a noise when I push brakes and after two weeks the left ball joint snap and left side was wreck (paint, bumper) now I'm afraid this thing happen with right ball joint.

- Harrisonburg, VA, USA

problem #16

Dec 282008


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. Approximately two months after purchasing the vehicle, the contact heard a noise in the front end of the vehicle. She took the vehicle back to the dealer and was informed that the ball joints were the cause of the failure. She was unsure if it was the upper or lower joints that needed repair. The dealer repaired the vehicle for free in July of 2006. In January of 2007, the contact received a recall notice for the ball joints and the dealer stated that the issue was previously repaired. Three days ago, while making a right turn, the contact could not move the vehicle. She exited the vehicle and noticed that the front driver's side wheel was tilted outwards. The vehicle was towed to another dealer and they stated that the upper ball joints needed to be repaired. The contact would have to pay for the repair. The vehicle is still at the dealer. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Defiance , OH, USA

problem #15

Feb 062007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 36,500 miles
Evening nb on I-15, semi in the way, 2003 Jeep Liberty 4X4, swerve to left to avoid truck, back to right to avoid car in lane, vehicle dove down on left front wheel and went end over end, then 3 complete rolls side to side. After 45 minutes I was cut out of vehicle. Vehicle was totaled.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #14

May 292007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 55 mph, the contacts grandson heard a loud breaking noise and the steering immediately locked, causing him to lose control of the vehicle. The rear passenger side tire detached from the vehicle; however, he was able to avoid a crash and successfully stop the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a local garage. A police report was filed. A professional technician inspected the vehicle and noticed that the front and rear axles were corroded for a very long time, which caused them to fail. The insurance company stated that the vehicle was completely destroyed. The dealer did not provide any assistance. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign id number 06V288000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint), but the contact never received a recall notice. The manufacturer sent an investigator to inspect the vehicle and it was discovered that there was no correlation between the failure and the recall. The manufacturer is refusing to assume any liability for any of the damaged components caused by the failure. The vehicle has not been repaired and the contact has pictures of the failed component. The failure and current mileages were 61,000. Updated 05/06/08 the consumer had brusing on his shoulder. Updated 04/01/11

- Weston, WV, USA

problem #13

Sep 152007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles


I am on my 2nd repair of ball joints with my 2003 Jeep Liberty, I have also had a repair when water gathered and caused my front passenger side carpet to get soaked with water. My issue is related to my tires, I have had rubbing and veering to the right problems since I purchased my car a few years ago. I have taken it in questioning alignment and was told I needed to rotate every oil change which I due but the premature wear on my tires is bad. I believe it is caused from the upper and lower ball joint problems and feel my tires need to be replaced by the dealer at no charge to me.

- Drummonds, TN, USA

problem #12

Jul 082006


  • 57,757 miles
2003 Liberty ball joint broke while out of town. One year prior to this failure a ball joint broke on the driver's side.

- Ashland, NE, USA

problem #11

Dec 302004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
Contact stated while driving the vehicle fish tailed. This, in turn, caused a minor accident. Repairs were made to the vehicle. This problem recurred. It usually happened when the road was wet or snow covered. He took the vehicle to a dealership to have the vehicle checked. They could not determine what was the cause of the problem.

- Troy , NY, USA

problem #10

Apr 282004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,800 miles
I have a Jeep Liberty limited 2003 leased on October 2002. Ive had to bring the vehicle in for service seven times for the same problem and the dealer has not repaired it. The problem is that while driving at speeds anywhere from 30 - 65 and while trying to accelerate from a complete stop the vehicle will start to buck and hesitate, the speedometer will swing back and forth and the vehicle suddenly loses speed and then regains it. I've almost been hit by another vehicle on the palisades parkway on three separate occasions. The failure started on April 28,2004 at 32,000 miles it now has 34,600 miles and it has reoccurred after all seven times of going in for repair of same condition after the dealership at central ave Chrysler Jeep in yonkers, claims to have repaired it. The dealership will not honor the warranty by properly repairing or replacing vehicle.

- Stony Point, NY, USA

problem #9

Jul 162004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,020 miles
I own a Jeep Liberty 2003(manufactured in apirl 2003). I have owned the car from January of 2004. Couple of weeks before(July 17th 2004)I was getting in to the freeway entry ramp, the car suddenly veered right and I tried to adjust it but the car veered violently to the left and spun a 360 and a partial 180 before I ended up on the other side of the freeway crossing 4 lanes of traffic. Fortunately, I did not get injured and the vehicle was not damaged nor did anybody else. I went on the internet later to find out that there was a major recall for the same incident for Jeep liberties that were manufactured till March of 2003 and mine is manufactured in apirl. The scary thing about this is I cannont predict when this can happen again and it has already happed twice after the above listed incident on normal roads.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #8

Jan 072004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle pulls to the right at all times on any road surface. Vehicle has been taken to dealer 4 times since date of purchase (August 2003) with no resolution. Alignment has been check every time. Dealer claims to have adjusted the alignment more to the left in order to compensate the vehicle's pull to the right, but the problem still exists. The dealer rode in the vehicle and observed the problem. The dealer stated that older model Jeep Liberty tend to drive to the right, even when aligned properly. (this vehicle was manufactured in July 2002). This vehicle is difficult to drive because I must constantly pull the steering to the left in order to stay on the road, and I feel that I could lose control very easily.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #7

Dec 102003

(reported on)

Liberty 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle's left ball joint broke and the suspension arm collapsed.

- Sun City, CA, USA

problem #6

Nov 202002


  • 25 miles
While driving at any speed, the vehicle constantly pulled to the right. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle has been to the dealer three times for the same problem. The vehicle was also leaking oil from the oil pan. The mechanic was unable to determine the cause of the vehicle's pulling.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #5

Oct 172003

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,125 miles
The left front ball joint fell to the ground while driving and without warning. The left ball joint broke allowing the suspension arm to collapse in wheel. *

- Sun City, CA, USA

problem #4

Jun 132003

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 500 miles
Streering wheel vibration at speeds 58-70mph.

- Charlton, MA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?