Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 1
Average Mileage:
31,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 4 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #208

Oct 252006

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received a recall notice from dealer back in October 2006 for front suspension lower ball joints. Called to make an appointment and they said it would be a long time to get the parts and then I had to be on a wait list. Had not heard back as of February 2007, so I called the dealership again and they said the same thing and they would call me when they got the parts. It's going on 3+ months...I have had this same recall in the past and they were very prompt about it.

- Hanson, MA, USA

problem #207

Jan 022007

Liberty 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. There was a recall for the lower ball joints. The dealer advised her that there were not enough parts to repair the vehicle, and placed her on a waiting list. She also spoke to the manufacturer, and there wasn't anything they could do to assist her. The current mileage was 68,000. The contact hasn't experienced any failures to date. Updated 02/27/07/.

- Germantown, TN, USA

problem #206

Nov 302006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My dealer has not remedied the problem yet. I have called to bring in my vehicle I was placed on a list. I received this notice back in November I immediately called. Im still waiting to have my vehicle repaired.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #205

Feb 022007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving from canton, NY to corning, NY. At approximately 3:15 pm on Feb 2nd I made a right hand turn and experienced a failure in the drivers side ball-joint. The suspension caught on the rim of the tire and I was barely able to get the car most of the way off the road. The car would not move after that. I had to call a tow-truck and he was able to drag the Jeep onto a flat-bed and Transport the Jeep to a local dealer. The dealer was outstanding(peter koch in seneca falls, NY)! they had an emergency set of ball-joints and were able to fix my car that afternoon. The drivers side front rim was ruined and the dealer instructed me to have it replaced. The dealer used the spare rim during the repair. My concern is that 15 minutes earlier I had been driving on the NY state through way and can only imagine what would have happened had this joint failed at 65 mile per hour. I have been on the waiting list at my local dealer for at least three months and may be even 6 months for this recall repair! this is unacceptable! I checked with my local dealer this morning and I am number 31 on the recall list - the dealer said that they receive between zero and 3 sets per week. This is unacceptable. Jeep should stop producing new vehicles until this potential life-threatening defect has been fixed in the Jeep that have already been produced. I have seen this defect described as a loosening of the ball-joint. I believe that to be an understatement. This part fails and the result of a failure can be catastrophic.

- Painted Post, NY, USA

problem #204

Dec 052006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
-the contact called regarding a 2003 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he received recall letter 06V288000 for the lower ball joint. The part was ordered on 12/11, and he was told it would arrive in approximately 4-6 weeks. The contact called the Chrysler dealer on 2/2/07, and was told it would be another 6-8 weeks. The contact has not experienced any problems with the vehicle at this time. Updated 02/27/07.

- Marathon, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #203

Jan 272007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
- the contact called regarding a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall letter 06V288000 for the lower ball joint. The contact called the dealer, and they told him that the would call him when the part arrived, but it has been over three weeks and he has not heard from the dealer. The contact has not called the dealer back. The contact has not experience any problems at this time.

- Richmond Hill, NY, USA

problem #202

Dec 192006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a safety recall notice on December 13, 2006 (notification code F23 - Jeep Liberty 2003). When received, I called the dealer to coordinate a visit to replace the defective parts. The dealer representative told me that there is a delay of approximately 1 month and a half to provide the service since Chrysler is unable to supply the demand for the recall's parts rapidly.

- Caguas, PR, USA

problem #201

Jan 292007

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty, and received safety recall 06V288000. The contact complained about the length of time it took to get the safety recall repair on the lower ball joints done. The contact was told that it would take two months before the dealer will receive the replacement parts.

- North Aurora, IL, USA

problem #200

Jan 272007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I received a recall notice at the end of December and I proceeded to call the local dealer to schedule an appointment to get the vehicle taken care. I called the end of the first week of January and was informed by the person at the dealership that my name would put on the list and the parts to be ordered since they did not have them in stock. The person proceeded to inform that it would take awhile and that I would contacted when the parts came in and an appointment scheduled then. Today is January 27th and I have not received a call from the dealership in getting my vehicle scheduled for service.

- Fresno, OH, USA

problem #199

Nov 282006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Safety record F23-lower ball joints. I notified the local dealer on Nov 28, 2006 about the letter. They told me in a week they received would the parts. I've called several times without any results. At this date January 23 2007 my Jeep has not been fixed. The problem is water may enter into the lower ball joints on my Jeep this can cause the ball joint to corrode and separate.ball joint separation can result in loss of steering control and cause a crash without prior warning. I appreciate any help on this matter. Thank you.

- San Sebastian, PR, USA

problem #198

Jan 222007

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact received a recall notice, #03V46000 for the 2003 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. There were lno failures at this time. The dealer advised the contact that the part will be available in 10 weeks.

- Naples, AR, USA

problem #197

Dec 272006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Recall on ball joints. Called dealer 12-27-06 told they do 3 cars a week on recalls. I called on 1-22-07 to find out how much longer before mine would be repaired they cannot get the parts from daimler Chrysler to take care of the ones they have. I called daimler Chrysler but all I received a recording and could not process any complaint.

- Ashland, KY, USA

problem #196

Jan 202007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Lower ball joint recall - dealerships are putting customers on waiting lists claiming that Chrysler is not supplying the parts in order to do the recall. I am on a waiting list of 30 people. Please help.

- Wilmington, OH, USA

problem #195

Jan 202007

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have went to three different Chrysler dealerships in order to get my lower ball joint recall fixed and each dealership has a waiting list of over 30 or more people. I have talked to the service managers of each establishment and they have all explained to me that they are only shipped three sets of lower ball joints a month. I travel extensively and need to get this repaired but I am unable to do so. Are they wanting something serious to happen before this is repaired or what. Please help me remedy this problem.

- Wilmington, OH, USA

problem #194

Dec 202006

Liberty

  • miles
I have a 2003 Jeep Liberty. I received a recall notice in December 2006 F23 - lower ball joints. I promptly called the dealership per the instructions. That was around December 20th 2006. I was put on a list for them to call me when the parts came in. I called again Jan 19th 2007. I was told that they were not getting the parts very fast and that they were still waiting for parts they ordered in Nov 2006. They told me that it will still be several months. My concern is that the recall says the defect can cause a loss of steering control. I don't mind waiting a few weeks - but a few months seems excessive. I drive my 3 kids around in this car!!!

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #193

Jan 172006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
- the contact stated that he had the lower ball joints replaced in 2004 due to a recall 03V460000 on his 2003 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. He also had the lower ball joint replaced in 2006 and after the left the repair shop a front wheel fell off. The contact received recall letter 06V288000 approximately 3 months later. The vehicle still has a vibration in the front end. The dealer said they could not find where the vibration was coming from and recommended the contact buy 4 new tires. The contact purchased the tires, but the vehicle still has the vibration in steering wheel. The dealer has refused to service the vehicle any further. The mileage is unknown by the contact. Updated 2/22/2007 -

- Coal City, IL, USA

problem #192

Jan 182007

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
- the contact received recall letter 0346000 for the lower ball joint on her 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated she had an appointment scheduled for 1/18/07 for the service repair. The contact went to the dealer and was told that they did not have the part. The contact stated she has been trying for over two months to get the part replaced. The vehicle has 34,000 miles and has not currently experienced a failure.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #191

Jan 012007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Regarding recall F23 lower ball joint. * the consumer was contacted about the recall on September 14, 2006. The consumer has not had the recalled ball joint replaced yet due to lack of parts. The consumer feels 4 months is an excessive amount of time to wait for recalled parts.

- Forestport, NY, USA

problem #190

Dec 152006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles
- the contact has a 2003 Jeep Liberty that is involved in the ball joint recall with an odometer reading of 57000 miles. The contact has called the dealership in her area and, they stated that it can take 4-8 weeks in order for them to receive parts and set up service. NHTSA campaign id number : 06V288000 there has been no failure to date. Updated 2/22/2007 - as of Feb 6, 2007 the consumer has not heard from the dealer to set up an appointment to have the recall repairs made.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #189

Jan 162007

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,930 miles
- the contact received recall letter 06V288000 a few months ago. The contact had an appointment with the dealer for repair on 1/16/07. The dealer called the contact and told her the part did not arrive. The contact has not experienced any problem. The vehicle has 30,930 miles. The contact was told it would take approximately 3-4 weeks for the part to come in.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?