Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 1
Average Mileage:
31,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 14)

problem #268

Aug 192010

Liberty

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While the contact was driving approximately 20 mph, the front passenger wheel disengaged without warning. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where they informed him that the lower ball joint broke due to excessive corrosion. There was a recall under the NHTSA campaign id number 03V460000 ( suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). The technician advised that the VIN was excluded from the recall and the owner would be responsible for the repair expense. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 92,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Flemingsburg, KY, USA

problem #267

Feb 262010

Liberty

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated while driving 25 mph the front suspension dropped causing the frame to sit on top of the tire. The contact towed the vehicle to a local mechanic and they discovered that the front lower ball joint was broken. The mechanic notice a recall for the suspension;front;control arm but the vehicle VIN number was not included in the recall. The contact stated if the vehicle was traveling at a higher speed the vehicle would have caused a crash. The contact feels the manufacturer should be responsible for the repairs. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- Sinking Spring, PA, USA

problem #266

May 232009

Liberty

  • 185,000 miles
2003 Jeep Liberty limited. Due for inspection may of 2009. Failed to pass inspection due to front lower ball joints. Next day, received notice in the mail regarding recall of front lower ball joints (the recall was issued in 2006, I found out later, but this was the first I was notified). Called dealership (don white's of timonium) regarding recall, was told it would take a few days to receive parts, but still within the month of may, told that they would call in a few days with more exact dates. Canceled appointment that I had previously made to have ball joints replaced, since recall would repair the parts free of charge. Never received phone call, so placed call myself to dealership, told it would be several weeks to receive parts as they were on back-order. I then placed call to Chrysler to investigate huge delay on recall parts (May 26th). I was told that they were on back-order, but Chrysler would arrange for a rental (free of charge) while I waited for the parts to arrive. I was told they would call me in 3 to 4 days with the car rental information. Never received phone call. Called Chrysler again on June 1st, was told to wait another day. Called back the next day (today) and was informed that the dealership never ordered the parts and that Chrysler needed to "investigate" further before I could be issued a rental, if I would get one at all. Now the inspection has expired on the Jeep and I am left with an unsafe vehicle. I still have to work and cannot afford a rental for what could amount to a month or more.

- Red Lion, PA, USA

problem #265

May 072008

Liberty

  • 113,987 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for the lower ball joints. She took her vehicle to the dealer for repair and was informed that the upper ball joints also needed to be replaced. Since only the lower ball joints were on recall, the dealer would not repair the upper ball joints. The recall number was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 113,987.

- Lake City, FL, USA

problem #264

Apr 182008

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. A couple of weeks after purchasing the vehicle, the contact heard a screeching noise coming from the front passenger side tire. The dealer stated that there were other matters that needed to be taken care of first. On April 18, 2008, while making a left turn at 5 mph, the contact heard a loud screeching noise. The front driver side of the undercarriage fell to the ground. The front driver side tire detached and was resting beside the vehicle, hanging on by a thread. The front fender, bumper, and wheel covering all detached from the vehicle and were damaged. The vehicle is currently with a mechanic. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number 03V460000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint); however, she never received a safety recall notice. The dealer stated that the front ball joints failed and needed to be replaced. The current and failure mileages were 78,000. Updated 05/19/08. Updated 05/19/08.

- Waco, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #263

Dec 142007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While turning right or left at any speed, the contact heard a popping sound coming from the floor of the vehicle. The steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was diagnosed by the dealer, but the failure still persists. The current mileage was 86,000 and failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 05/07/08 the dealer stated the upper ball joint was bad. The lower ball joints had been replaced 3 times. Updated 05/07/08.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #262

Apr 062008

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving slowly out of my driveway, my upper ball joint disconnected causing the passenger side front tire to fall off. I did have my children with me however no one was injured. The apparent recall in 06 of the lower ball joints was unknown to me at the time. Chrysler did replace the upper and lower ball joints. I was charged a $150. Deductible which I feel is very unfair considering the investigation revolving around the upper ball joints and obvious concerns about the lower ball joints. My concern now is when will it happen again, it only had 50,000 miles at the time and can I assume it's safe to drive another 50,000. It's not worth putting my kids in danger. How can Chrysler assure me that it is fixed!

- Pendleton, IN, USA

problem #261

May 292007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 55 mph, the contacts grandson heard a loud breaking noise and the steering immediately locked, causing him to lose control of the vehicle. The rear passenger side tire detached from the vehicle; however, he was able to avoid a crash and successfully stop the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a local garage. A police report was filed. A professional technician inspected the vehicle and noticed that the front and rear axles were corroded for a very long time, which caused them to fail. The insurance company stated that the vehicle was completely destroyed. The dealer did not provide any assistance. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign id number 06V288000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint), but the contact never received a recall notice. The manufacturer sent an investigator to inspect the vehicle and it was discovered that there was no correlation between the failure and the recall. The manufacturer is refusing to assume any liability for any of the damaged components caused by the failure. The vehicle has not been repaired and the contact has pictures of the failed component. The failure and current mileages were 61,000. Updated 05/06/08 the consumer had brusing on his shoulder. Updated 04/01/11

- Weston, WV, USA

problem #260

Feb 132008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
Front left wheel fell of my Jeep Liberty 2003, cause a head on collision, with a serious injury.

- Bolivia, NC, USA

problem #259

Jul 082007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Jeep Liberty with lower ball joint problems. Customer states that she never received the recall for the lower ball joint repair. She ended up breaking down on the road, and Chrysler will not refund her. The consumer stated while driving, the left front wheel became loose and fell of the vehicle. The manufacturer stated the way the consumer went about having the vehicle repaired negated any reason for them to consider reimbursement. The dealer also found play in the left front outer tie rod and left front axle boot.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #258

Sep 252007

(reported on)

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Jeep Liberty recall for lower ball joints. Customer stated that she received the recall and dealer told her when she called to set an appointment that they would not be able to replace the parts because they did not issue enough parts.

- Hedgesville, WV, USA

problem #257

Jan 012004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving 45 mph, the contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a wall. The vehicle was destroyed. She suffered a concussion and her left arm was dislocated. She was transported to the hospital by an ambulance and a police report was filed. A mechanic stated that the lower ball joints were failing. The current and failure mileages were 10,000.

- Roma, TX, USA

problem #256

Aug 292007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving 2 mph, the contact heard a loud snap coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed. The dealer stated that the driver side upper ball joint snapped. The contact received and the vehicle was serviced for recall notice number 03V460000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). The current and failure mileages were 56,000. Updated 09/18/07 received 12/12/07 updated 12/12/07

- Westfield , NJ, USA

problem #255

Jun 162007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
2003 Jeep Liberty with lower ball joint problems customer states that he was not notified about the recall and wants to know who notify the consumer* the consumer stated while driving the lower ball joint broke, after much discussion the ball joint was repaired. The consumer stated the recall notices were sent out 3 days prior to purchasing the vehicle and was never informed of the recall. The consumer stated that the dealer never informed her of the recall and stated was not responsible to inform the consumer of the recall but the consumer wants to know who was supposed to inform her of the recall and what the procedures are for notifying consumers? *updated 12/12/07 updated

- York, PA, USA

problem #254

Aug 202007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While making a turn at 15 mph, the front driver side wheel detached from the vehicle. The contact felt that the failure could have been avoided if the wait time for the lower ball joint repair had been shorter. The vehicle was towed to the repair shop. The VIN and engine size were unavailable. The current and failure mileages were 18,000.

- Lewiston , NY, USA

problem #253

Oct 262006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for the lower ball joints on October 26,2006 and has been placed on two different waiting lists. It has been nearly one year since the notice was received and she still has been unable to get her vehicle serviced. She has been to two dealers and they both stated that they are not receiving the sufficient amount of parts to satisfy the high demand. The current mileage was 58,000 and failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 08/30/07.

- Vernon, CT, USA

problem #252

Feb 012007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I received a recall notice in January about the lower ball joints on Jeep Liberty's. I called my dealer in order to have the defect corrected and was told that I was "put on the list." It is now August and I still haven't received a call back to get the defect corrected. I called to ask the dealership if they could give me a time frame on how long it would be before I got my Jeep fixed and they said "it is a long list, you will be called. Chrysler only sends us two replacement parts a week."

- Sierra Vista, AZ, USA

problem #251

Jul 012007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The vehicle was repaired for NHTSA campaign number 06V288000 (lower ball joint). The contact was charged a labor fee for a stripped cap screw. The current mileage was 56,667. There was no failure.

- Waynesville, MO, USA

problem #250

Nov 012006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he took the vehicle to the dealership for the lower ball joint recall, and the dealership stated that there was a waiting list to which they could be added. The contact has been waiting since November of 2006, and had not received a call from the dealership. There had been no failures to date. The current mileage was 73,000.

- Bentonville, VA, USA

problem #249

Aug 062007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice concerning the lower ball joints. The dealer stated that the parts for the recall repair were unavailable. There had been no failure to date. The recall number was unknown. The current mileage was 30,000.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?