Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,758 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #42

Oct 092010

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall J17 front suspension upper ball joints 2003 Jeep Liberty my vehicle was taken to a Chrysler dealer that didn't order the parts for my appointment that was set two weeks in advance. They entered my problem in their system my this recall J17. The dealer couldn't provide me with a loaner car or rental" I than contacted Chrysler customer services and they couldn't assist me either. The dealer is said my vehicle parts was on a back order and now I am without vehicle for 3-5 days. I work and have a 10 year old that needs our car. What remedy is there to my problem"

- Philadelphia , PA, USA

problem #41

Mar 152010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. Six months ago he received a recall notice for the upper ball joints, but the parts were not available. The dealer informed him they will contact him whenever the parts arrive. The dealer continues to state they do not have the parts for the repairs. He continues to contact the dealer but had not tried another dealership. The manufacturer had not been contacted. The failure mileage was 82,000. Updated 10/15/10 bf the consumer stated the problem has been resolved. Updated 10/21/10

- York, PA, USA

problem #40

Aug 122009

Liberty

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While attempting to accelerate out of a parking lot, the vehicle suddenly stopped accelerating and could not be moved. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop and the mechanic stated that the upper ball joint separated. The current and failure mileages were 81,000.

- Lebanon, IN, USA

problem #39

Jul 262009

Liberty

  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving 30 mph in the process of a turn, the front passenger side control ball joint suddenly snapped. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 128,000.

- Putnam, CT, USA

problem #38

Dec 152008

Liberty

  • 78,000 miles
Upper ball joints worn to the point the vehicle was considered unsafe by Jeep dealership.

- Mandeville, LA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #37

Oct 212008

Liberty

  • 120,000 miles
Upper ball joint broke while pulling into my drive way. Had it broke only minutes earlier it would have lead to a serious accident.

- Mccordsville, IN, USA

problem #36

Jun 072008

Liberty

  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving various speeds, the contact heard noises coming from the front driver's side of the vehicle. The failure began in April of 2008 and occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to two mechanics and they stated that there were no failures. Approximately two months later while driving, the driver's side upper ball joint failed. The lower ball joints were replaced a few years ago. The current mileage was 104,000 and failure mileage was 102,000.

- St. Charles, MO, USA

problem #35

Apr 302007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact noticed failure with the front suspension while making left turns. When he drives over a bump in the road, it sounds as if something is loose in the suspension. He took the vehicle to a local mechanic for an oil change and asked if they could examine the front suspension. The mechanic informed him that the upper ball joints needed to be replaced, and also informed him of the tsb related to his vehicle's upper ball joints. The contact called the dealer to inquire about a recall related to the upper ball joints and was informed that there were no recalls. The repairs would cost approximately $900. The failure mileage was 40,000 and current mileage was 40,246. Updated 06/10/08.

- Mishawaka, IN, USA

problem #34

May 072008

Liberty

  • 113,987 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for the lower ball joints. She took her vehicle to the dealer for repair and was informed that the upper ball joints also needed to be replaced. Since only the lower ball joints were on recall, the dealer would not repair the upper ball joints. The recall number was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 113,987.

- Lake City, FL, USA

problem #33

Dec 142007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While turning right or left at any speed, the contact heard a popping sound coming from the floor of the vehicle. The steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was diagnosed by the dealer, but the failure still persists. The current mileage was 86,000 and failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 05/07/08 the dealer stated the upper ball joint was bad. The lower ball joints had been replaced 3 times. Updated 05/07/08.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #32

Apr 062008

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving slowly out of my driveway, my upper ball joint disconnected causing the passenger side front tire to fall off. I did have my children with me however no one was injured. The apparent recall in 06 of the lower ball joints was unknown to me at the time. Chrysler did replace the upper and lower ball joints. I was charged a $150. Deductible which I feel is very unfair considering the investigation revolving around the upper ball joints and obvious concerns about the lower ball joints. My concern now is when will it happen again, it only had 50,000 miles at the time and can I assume it's safe to drive another 50,000. It's not worth putting my kids in danger. How can Chrysler assure me that it is fixed!

- Pendleton, IN, USA

problem #31

Mar 092008

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 154,195 miles
While driving my 2003 Jeep Liberty the front passenger wheel snapped off. The date was 3/9/08. I was turning a corner and felt a sharp snap and the front end dove toward the ground. I had the vehicle towed and it was repaired at a cost of approx $400 plus $60 for towing. The description on the repair bill is "ball joint came out of upper control arm. Replaced rt front upper control arm assembly." I tried calling Jeep's corporate office (3/14/08 at 10:45am) per the dealer recommendation. The corporate person said it was out of warranty, she very rude and refused to do anything to assist. When I asked to speak to the person's supervisor she refused saying they she was authorized to make these decisions. My greatest fear is that if I was on my normal daily commute of 70 miles on the freeway and the wheel snapped off, then I probably would not be typing this message today. The car would have easily flipped. I have the old part and it is available for review. I wish Jeep corporation was more responsible to recognize the seriousness of this failure. Of note, is that there was a recall on the vehicle in 2006 for the ball joints causing loss of steering control. I had that repair completed in 2006. However it certainly did not prevent me from losing control of the vehicle during this incident.

- Concord, OH, USA

problem #30

Mar 042008

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,500 miles
The passenger side upper ball joint broke. The steering became erratic, it began pulling to the left. When I took it in for a front end alignment I learned that the passenger side upper ball joint was broken. I will replace the broken ball joint and will make the old part available for inspection.

- Nashport, OH, USA

problem #29

Dec 142007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,444 miles
The upper ball joint of the front passenger side wheel failed while turning in a mcdonald's drive through. The ball joint was rusted. There is no way to maintain this joint, as it is a sealed bearing. The lower ball joint was repaired in an earlier recall last year.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #28

Nov 042007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,600 miles
Backing out of a parking spot, heard a clunking noise. Put in drive, turned the wheel and the vehicle tilted to the drivers side. Exited the vehicle to find the drivers side tire inverted and almost parallel to the ground. When tow truck lifted the vehicle, the front passenger tire also collapsed. Had vehicle fixed today. Had to replace both upper ball joints, and arms. Vehicle is only 5 years old, had never been off road and only had 59,000 miles. Repair shop owner said he has never seen both ball joints collapse and there is no reason why they should have, except for faulty parts.

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #27

Aug 292007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. While driving 2 mph, the contact heard a loud snap coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed. The dealer stated that the driver side upper ball joint snapped. The contact received and the vehicle was serviced for recall notice number 03V460000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). The current and failure mileages were 56,000. Updated 09/18/07 received 12/12/07 updated 12/12/07

- Westfield , NJ, USA

problem #26

Jul 312007

Liberty

  • miles
I have a 2003 Jeep Liberty with 87,000 miles on it and the upper ball joint on the driver's side broke in half today while I was slowly making a turn into my office. The tow truck operator said this should not have happened. I was lucky that I was only going so slow hour when it broke because if I had been going faster, I would have wrecked the vehicle. My Jeep has never been off-road since I have owned it. Jeep does currently have a recall in place for the lower ball joints which they say get corroded and separate from the control arm. The upper ball joint did the same exact thing but does not appear to be included in the recall. I could have been killed or maybe even injured someone else had this happened on the highway. Since the recall is only for the lower ball joint the dealership would not help with the cost. The damage was not just to the upper ball joint but to the rotor and the break line and the front axle. I called Chrysler corporate services and basically they told me to pound salt. I also see that others have had similar experience.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #25

Dec 192005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
'03 Jeep Liberty upper left hand ball joint failed and separated while the vehicle was in motion at low speed in a turn. The upper control left front control arm was replaced.

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

problem #24

Jun 032007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,488 miles
While driving at low speed the front right ball joint of 2003 Jeep Liberty failed causing the tire to fall onto its side. Minimal damage to the car as I was just beginning to drive away from my house.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #23

Dec 212006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,080 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that his vehicle has a safety recall on the upper and lower ball joints and he has been trying to get the recall repair done since December of 2006. In December of 2006, the vehicle was involved in a crash while traveling 35 mph. The vehicle spun out and crashed into another vehicle while making a left turn on a wet road. A police report was filed and the contact has reports and receipts of the work performed on the vehicle. The current mileage is 45,000 and failure mileage was 43,080.

- Neperville, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?