Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,033 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #65

Oct 232013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Window regulator, which is manufactured of cheap plastic, has broken and caused window to fall. Car exposed to elements overnight.

- Suwanee, GA, USA

problem #64

Jun 102004

Liberty

  • 15,000 miles
Rear window actuators will break without warning and drop the rear windows completely while driving. Since this model of Liberty has the "severe buffeting" problem when this happens, it can cause incredible surprise and disoriented to the point a possible accident. This has happened three times and the dealer refuses to fix them anymore. Both windows are semi-permanently manually fixed in place by me.

- Poplar Bluff, MO, USA

problem #63

Jun 272014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 119,188 miles
Passenger rear window fell into the door. The dealership informed me that this is a common problem in the Jeep Liberty. The regulator assembly had to be replace. Is there a recall on this part? updated 4/24/2015

- Lakeside, AZ, USA

problem #62

May 052014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the second Jeep Liberty I have owned and in the past 2 years I have had to replace every window regulator in both of them. From what I have read online, this is an on-going situation. One window regulator I had fixed a year ago just broke again yesterday. I work at a prison and my vehicle must remain locked and secure at all times or I cannot drive it to work, and it is a headache wondering if the temporarily taped up window (until the part comes in) will fall down into the door and I cannot drive it until it is fixed. Please recall these things.

- Wray, GA, USA

problem #61

Mar 282014

Liberty

  • 167,343 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the rear windows fell into the door frame and caused the rear doors not to be locked or unlocked. The contact also stated that he had previously replaced the rear windows regulators however the failure was not corrected. The rear windows were not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 167,343.

- Columbia, SC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #60

Mar 252013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 112,500 miles
Two of the rear windows have failed. Both of them dropped for no apparent reason and would not work to close them. One of the failed in 3/2013 and the other one failed today while I was driving 60 mph on the freeway. I know that Jeep has had many complaints regarding the failure of their windows. I know that it is going to cost at lease $300 to repair each window. I have not been able to afford to repair the first failed window. I have had to use duct tape over and over to try and keep it closed. Now the second window has failed and is trapped inside the door frame. Jeep needs to recall these defective windows.

- Truckee, CA, USA

problem #59

Oct 172013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 152,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On October 17, 2013 the left rear window decided to drop down.I was fortunate enough that the window did not fall completely into the door space.I was able to pull the window up and for safety measures, I taped the window up. The motor still runs when trying to raise the window but nothing happens in raising the window.I found that there have been many complaints about the window regulators. In 2007 Chrysler did an extended warranty for 7 years and unlimited miles but I am told there is no help with the 2003 models although there are many complaints of the same problem.. this is obviously a problem that has plagued the Jeep Liberty for quite some time and I do not understand why Chrysler would not take care of it. I do not have the $335 to repair this and wintertime is already here. I am trying to do research on the problem but it is hard to fight for the repair when Chrysler keeps telling me my vehicle is not covered. I found a class action lawsuit about the problem and it seems like it was on behalf of Jeep owners nationwide but will probably have to search more information on the outcome of it: [xxx] V. Chrysler group, llc, class action case no. [xxx] blm) the Chrysler Jeep Liberty door and/or window regulator class action lawsuit complaint is reportedly brought on behalf of the following putative classes of persons, unless otherwise excluded: During the fullest period allowed by law, all persons and entities nationwide that purchased or leased a covered vehicle manufactured by Chrysler. Covered vehicle is defined to include model year 2002 through 2007 Jeep Liberty vehicles. ("?the nationwide class?") it is certainly not a comfortable feeling knowing that at anytime if the tape lets loose, this window can fall into the door, break into the vehicle...unknown injuries can occur. I will keep searching for answers. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Morrice, MI, USA

problem #58

Oct 062013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 150,900 miles
I purchased my Jeep Liberty in 2003. About 2 years after purchase, the first window regulator went out. Unfortunately, there were only warranty's to cover the repair for 2006-2007 models, requiring me to pay for the repair. The regulator went out 2 more times over the next 3 years - with out of pocket costs each time to repair. The 4th time the regulator went out, I contacted Jeep, explained the situation and they were happy to oblige. Jeep had to pay for regulator one more time, as another went out just a few months later. This totals 5 incidents (3 out of pocket; 2 paid by Jeep). I am now on the 6th time the regulator has gone out. I contacted Jeep, but they have chosen not to pay for this repair and says it is not their issue. I highly disagree, as this is an issue that should have been recalled years ago. Not only does this create a safety issue with a window that does not stay up, but we are now approaching cold, winter weather. It is my request that all Jeep window regulators get the same treatment and fixed regardless of age of vehicle, make, model and/or mileage.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #57

Nov 072012

Liberty 4-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
While highway driving both rear windows came crashing down resulting in one window breaking brought it to have fixed was told plastic clip that hold the window up for the electric motor failed replaced both motors and had window fixed all factory parts were used happened again on 3/13/2013 appears the plastic clip keeps breaking will need to replace both motors and assembly again at a cost of 600$ right now both windows being held up by wooden stakes cant afford to keep replacing parts at no guarantee that this will not happen again.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #56

Sep 162012

Liberty

  • miles
Rear window regulators have broken 4 times, fix is hundreds of dollars. Dealer told us Jeep uses inferior plastic parts and refuses to correct this problem. Will never buy a Jeep again.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #55

Jul 032012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side rear window falls open creating a security risk for vehicle driver and contents. Window regulator has been replaced by a franchised Jeep dealer six times - once a year for the last six years.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #54

Apr 082010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 43,644 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the driver side window could not be operated. The dealer stated that the front driver side window power regulator needed to be repaired. The repair was made however, the failure recurred. The rear driver side window also exhibited the same failure. The front passenger side window could be opened partially, but the window would stop midway. The manufacturer was notified but a response was not received. The failure mileage was 43,644. Updated 06/12/12 the left front power window was noisy and barely operating. The dealer replaced the regulator. Updated 06/13/12

- Lenoir City, TN, USA

problem #53

Apr 202012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
Driving car and it just cut off..this is the third time over the years...first time when car was purchased new in 2003 at carmax in their driveway...then a couple of years ago on expressway..cost 1,600 for repairs at dealership..then again 4-20-2012..the car has had four window motor replacements and two computer replacements..the car is dangerous..I have checked internet..these are issues across the usa. The car should be recalled..it is dangerous..will contact president obama also and the news media. Updated 11/01/12

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #52

Apr 122003

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 10 miles
Computer failure, engine cut off, interior lights, five window motors and glass..car should be recalled..safety issues.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #51

Jan 172005

Liberty

  • 31,000 miles
The window regulator has broken in both of my rear windows multiple times. It broke in the rear driver's side window on: Jan. 2005, Jun. 2008, Jan. 2010, & Oct. 2011. It has also broken in the rear passenger's side window on: Sept. 2005; Dec. 2007; Sept. 2009; Oct. 2010; & Jan. 2012. That would be a total of 9 times. Obviously the part that is being used is inferior since it continually breaks and at best lasts around 2 years. I have calculated that this part has cost me a grand total of $1,295. Jeep has offered assistance in paying for the repairs but I have always had some financial responsibility. I feel that this is a safety hazard because when the part malfunctions the window slides all the way into the door. This could be a potential safety issue if I had young children riding in the backseat. I feel like Jeep is using a substandard part so they can continue to make money off of me.

- Bonita, CA, USA

problem #50

Oct 242011

Liberty

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the front and rear passenger windows had fallen down into the door panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised him that the window regulators were fractured. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 107,000.

- Fairport, NY, USA

problem #49

Mar 092009

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 41,507 miles
Power windows failing to stay up due to faulty regulators: Two years ago the rear left window of my 2003 Liberty fell into the door casing. When using the atomatic buttons, the window would not go up and the window motor would simply attempt to raise the window with no success. Upon taking it to the Jeep dealer, they stated the window regulator neeeded to be replaced. After paying $227.94, my window was fixed and back to normal. Surprisingly, a few months later, the right window fell while driving on the highway (this is a major safety issue). Back to the same dealership we went, for a second and unnecessary diagnostic (the maintence man said this was a problem he had frequently seen) to determine the regulator was broken. I paid to have the second window fixed and continued to drive my car. This week, the left rear window fell again while driving down the street in my neighborhood (20 mph). I contacted Jeep headquarters directly after researching online (inculding the NHTSA website) that this is clearly not an isolated incident and they have neglected to address the saftey issue with their automobile owners. They are requesting that I take my Jeep back in for another diagnostic, and to confirm there has been no "neglect" of maintenance on my part. My Jeep has just over 65,000 miles it is in perfect condition with the exception of faulty windows. Upon inspection of the dealer this week, Jeep says they will determine the next step depending on the results. This issue is dangerous for multiple reasons - children riding in the car, the frightening noise made from the dropping window, lack of security when parking the car/at a stop, weather (rain, hail, snow, etc.), drivers startled by the drop and attempting to assess the situation while driving, etc. According to Jeep headquarters via phone, they dishonestly claim to be unaware of the situation.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #48

Jul 012008

Liberty

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated the windows electric motor was defective which caused the windows to roll down automatically without any warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who confirmed that the motor was defective and needed to be replaced. The remedy failed to repair the problem. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who decided to reimburse her for the repair cost. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 62,000.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #47

Jun 262011

Liberty

  • 78,000 miles
Jeep Liberty 2003. Rear windows up/down mechanic breaks... poor construction.. it breaks and the window fall down, leaving it open and with kids on the back sit are instantly exposed with the risk of putting parts of their bodies to the outside of the car. There are thousands of Jeep users complaining on the internet... Jeep has not step up to recall those defectives rear windows.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #46

May 012011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
The rear windows on my 2003 Jeep Liberty stopped working. They would not move up or down using the buttons. The only way to keep them up is to put tape on them. At first the only time the window would come down was when I would be driving. Then they would not stay up at all. This created a problem when it was raining. There were times when my entire backseat was wet because of the windows fallen down. A mechanic told me it was the window regulator. I just had a mechanic repair one of the windows. It cost me $385 dollars to get one window repaired. I could only afford to get one done, so I still have tape on the other window. The dealership quoted me an estimate of $600. Also, I am concerned because other owners said they have had to change out the regulators more than once. I would not be able to keep replacing those regulators. And I do have the old part from the one window that was changed.

- Pikesville, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?