Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,888 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

May 202014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact stated that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should be a remedy available before may of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. There are no failures at this time. Updated 8/11/14 updated 08/19/14

- Belmont , NC, USA

problem #24

Nov 142013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and was informed that the part was not available. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced any failure.

- Cortland, NY, USA

problem #23

Dec 272013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 ( fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 07/16/14

- Brazoria, TX, USA

problem #22

Jan 062014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received NHTSA recall campaign number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not notified that the dealer did not have the parts. There were no failures at this time.

- Fall River, WI, USA

problem #21

May 122014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he attempted to have his vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before may of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 07/28/14 MA the consumer was informed the pars were not available. Updated 07/29/14

- Franklin Lakes , NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

May 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Recall notification NHTSA 13V-252 was issued on 12/11/2013. Recall notice states "Chrysler is making all reasonable efforts to obtain the parts as quickly as possible. Chrysler will contact you again by mail, with a follow-up notice, when the remedy parts are available." That follow-up notice was never received by me. After calling the Chrysler group recall assistance center on 5/1/2014 to inquire, was informed that parts are not yet available and that it has not yet been determined how the Jeep are to be fixed. There is no estimated date for remedy of this problem. In my opinion, this is an unreasonable time period to wait for correction of such a potential hazard as fuel tank leakage during certain types of rear end collisions.

- Boonton, NJ, USA

problem #19

Jul 012013

Liberty

  • 124,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Months ago I received a vehicle safety recall. The recall is in regard to my fuel tank having a chance of fuel leak during certain types of rear end collisions which can result in an underbody fire in the presence of an ignition source. I have made three different inquiries and follow up, 1st with my local Chrysler dealer than with Chrysler group recall assistance in regard to an eta of parts and expediting this process which as far as I am concerned and have been notified, is a serious safety concern. I have been told the same thing everytime that the parts must not be available yet. I need your help motivating the appropriate parties to expedite this process. My safety is at stake and the issue here and I am becoming impatient. Please get back to me asap with a follow up and some results. The recall # I think is N46/ NHTSA 13V-252. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #18

Mar 032014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number:13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline and structure) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/8/14

- Houstontown, PA, USA

problem #17

Dec 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Recall N46 is taking too long to resolve. Contacted stafford Dodge of fredericksburg - 2 April 14 - no parts. Contacted Chrysler - 2 April 14 - have not yet released parts - must issue 2nd recall notice first. Repeat - this potentially dangerous recall is taking far too long. Note - there has been no incident with this vehicle.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #16

Mar 262014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
I'm writing a follow up concerning a important safety recall I received about middle of January stating that the fuel tank on my vehicle has a small chance of experiencing a fuel leak during certain types of rear end collisions. Fuel leakage in the presence of an ignition source can result in an underbody fire. Also said that I need to wait for a follow up notice in the mail, but so far I got nothing. Waiting this long is normal for this kind of safety recall?? I haven't have any incidents but I wrote and incident date as today because if not it wouldn't let me submit this. Thank you and hope to hear from someone soon.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #15

Mar 032014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to fuel tank recall notice. The consumer went to the dealer, after receiving the recall. However, they claimed to have no knowledge of a defect or a recall.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #14

Mar 042013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Was alerted by internet blog in Feb. Of 2013 that rear collisions on this model of Jeep Liberty (2004) may cause gas tank to rupture creating a fire hazard. Responses to the blog indicated that a class iv or better trailer hitch may absorb the impact, thus increasing the chance that the gas tank would not be damaged. This explanation sounded reasonable and therefor I opted to have a class iv draw tite hitch installed as a precaution. This hitch meets or exceeds oem specs. I received a recall notice several months later regarding this issue. The notice stated if I had purchased and installed a trailer hitch after the initial purchase of vehicle that I would be reimbursed if I sent proof of purchase. I sent an invoice and a copy of the cancelled check as instructed. I was notified by phone that my claim was not valid as I failed to purchase an oem hitch. My hitch meets or exceeds oem specs as I mentioned earlier. Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide to help me recoup my expenses.

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #13

Jan 022014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available for repair. The manufacture declined to provide an estimated time when the part would become available. The contact was concerned about the safety risk involved with the acknowledged defect. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Depew, NY, USA

problem #12

Mar 102014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure ) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #11

Jul 242013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 99,375 miles
I was sold a vehicle with a known safety defect, ie the fuel tank and filler neck. I have been notified of the recall, but am told there are no parts available for repairs. I believe that this vehicle should not have been sold to me and I believe that Jeep / Chrysler should be doing a buy back / voucher to get these vehicles out of service reducing the potential for injury and death.

- Huron, OH, USA

problem #10

Jan 282014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to gas tank could explode if hit from rear and trailer hitch needs to be installed to protect gas tank. The consumer had the hitch installed, by a company that was recommended by Chrysler. However, several days later, the consumer received a call from Chrysler saying the hitch that was installed was the wrong one, and he would not be getting reimbursed. Also, the power steering pump failed.

- New London, CT, USA

problem #9

Nov 052013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
My Jeep airbag failed after vehicle crashed into a bush and rolled 60-80 feet down an embankment after hitting an animal on an icy road.. my concern is that I was not notified by my dealer (taylor & sons, ponderay Idaho) or by Chrysler regarding any safety recalls until after the crash. I found out about recalls after my insurance agent gave me a list of recalls recently.

- Ponderay, ID, USA

problem #8

Jun 142013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
Chrysler not fulfilling NHTSA 13V-252 safety recall to protect rear fuel tank from explosion by installing a trailer hitch. Spitzer Dodge of mansfield, Ohio continues to have "no parts" for this recall, but I could pay to have them install one.

- Mansfield, OH, USA

problem #7

Jan 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the contact was not able to have the vehicle serviced under recall because the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an expected date that the part would be available. There are no failures at this time. Updated 4/4/14 updated 04/23/14

- Maitland, FL, USA

problem #6

Feb 032014

Liberty

  • miles
2004 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to gas tank recall notice. The consumer also stated, the transmission did not shift properly.

- St. Marys, WV, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?