Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,888 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #85

Mar 012016

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle gas tank repair issues. The consumer was informed the gas tank was lying on the ground, when she arrived at the gas station to get gas.

- Curtiss, WI, USA

problem #84

Jul 032015

Liberty

  • miles
Ntsb: 2004 Jeep Liberty: Consumer stated the gas tank straps were not secure and needs to be recalled.

- West Dennis, MA, USA

problem #83

Dec 132013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/6. updated 3/28/2016

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #82

Mar 102014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and the dealer stated that the frame had extensive rust and needed to be replaced by the contact to receive the recall repair. The dealer refused to supply the oem trailer hitch unless the contact replaced the framing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 7/21/15

- Brunswick, GA, USA

problem #81

Jan 132014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to trailer hitch reimbursement. The consumer stated he has been waiting over a year, for reimbursement. Recall # 13V252000.

- Oberlin, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #80

Mar 022015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
2004 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to lack of parts for trailer hitch recall. (fuel leakage). The consumer referenced recall # 13V252000.

- Dravosburg, PA, USA

problem #79

Jan 012014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V252000 (fuel system) was received in January of 2014. The dealer was contacted on multiple occasions and was informed that the part needed to repair the vehicle was not available and no estimated time for receiving the part could be provided. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 05/14/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 05/26/15

- Cedarburg, WI, USA

problem #78

Feb 032014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/31/15 the consumer stated the issue was resolved as of February 18, 2015. The trailer hitch was installed. Updated 6/24/2015

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #77

Jan 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/17/15 the consumer stated the part was installed on Feb 19, 2015. Updated 03/23/15.

- Hopkinton, MA, USA

problem #76

Dec 162014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I brought the vehicle to the local dealer for the trailer hitch recall 2 years ago. I have been continuously told parts are not available. Last Tuesday 12-16 I forced the issue with the dealer for an appointment for Friday 12-19. When I went to pick up the vehicle, I was told I don't qualify because the vehicle has some corrosion. If the recall was performed when it should have been, I would have been covered. This appears to be a way for Jeep to shirk its obligations. If there is any repair needed before performing the recall, it should be Jeep's responsibility, not mine...updated 05/14/15

- Ishpeming, MI, USA

problem #75

Oct 102014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San German, PR, USA

problem #74

Oct 222014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 99,300 miles
Recently I heard on the news that only 3% of recalls have been repaired. Fyi. On 10/22/ 14 I called sea view Jeep in ocean, NJ for recall repair. I was told since I didn't buy my Jeep from them I would be put on a list as they were doing repairs their customers first. Thinking, I called Chrysler Corp.on 10/23/14 and spoke with [xxx] who made a 3 way call to sea view and confirmed my conversation that I would have to be put on a list. [xxx], from Chrysler Corp, set up an appoint with another dealer who accommodated me very well. Still being on sea view list since 10/22/14, I still have not been called. I being a senior citizen living on social security and a very small pension, bring this incident to your attention in the event there is a whistle blower reward due me or at least a reward from Chrysler corporation. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)....updated 05/14/15 updated 10/22/15.

- Manasquan, NJ, USA

problem #73

Mar 142014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Princeton, NJ, USA

problem #72

Nov 062014

Liberty

  • 107,801 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while installing an oem towing hitch, as directed under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure), an unknown component connected to the towing assembly became fractured and prevented the recall repair from being able to be performed successfully. The manufacturer and the engineering department were contacted and advised that it was possible to repair the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 107,801.

- Coopersburg , PA, USA

problem #71

Apr 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
My vehicle is under safety recall. I contacted walser Jeep back around April / may? set up appointment for me to bring in to fix but when I got there they did not have any replacement parts. They told me they would call me when they arrive. I waited approx. 1 month and called them they said Chrysler would get back to me when parts were ready. I have not heard from anyone since then and just received another recall notice for the same repair. Walser Jeep in St. Louis park, mn does not have any parts and can not fix my vehicle I do not know where to go next. Recall notification code: N46.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #70

Aug 042014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jessup, PA, USA

problem #69

Oct 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to NHTSA recall and lack of parts. 13V252000.* ld the consumer stated it has been more than six months, since the recall was announced.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #68

Oct 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle recall due to possible gas tank leakage and potential fire in a low level collision. The consumer stated after the vehicle was inspected, it was determined Chrysler would not complete the recall repair, due to what the industry called level 5 corrosion. The dealer gave the consumer a $3,146.35 estimate to repair the vehicle, before they would perform the recall.

- Auburn Township, OH, USA

problem #67

Oct 022014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline and structure). However, the parts needed were not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Keswick, VA, USA

problem #66

Aug 222014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). However, the part to do the recall was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Pam

- Pearcy, AR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?