Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,788 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 2 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #239

Aug 122007

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my 2004 Jeep Liberty 3 months ago from the Jeep dealership in rockville, md. This week I got a letter in the mail saying that there was a safety recall on the lower ball joints, immediately after reading this I called my dealership to make an appointment to get this fixed. The dealership tells me that the parts are on backup and wont be in the shop for a few months! this is a huge concern and problem, I share this vehicle with my 21 year old sister and am afraid of our power steering going out on us and causing a dangerous accident. A few months is way too long to wait on a recall as serious as this! I would appreciate help with this very serious issue. Thank you.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #238

Dec 202006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. Beginning on December 20, 2006, the contact has received two notices for recall number 06V288000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). He has attempted to schedule appointments for the recall repair, but the dealer continues to inform him that the parts are unavailable and they do not have time to make the repair. The manufacturer places him on hold each time he calls. The VIN was invalid. The current and failure mileages were 30,000.

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #237

Aug 072007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received safety recall notice number 06V288000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint) two days ago. She called numerous dealers, but has been unable to schedule an appointment. The recall notice stated that the repair would take 30 minutes to complete, however, when she contacted the local dealer, they stated that it would take a 1/2 day to a full day. The dealer also stated that they were not responsible for providing a rental or loaner vehicle. The failure and current mileages were 52,000.

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #236

Aug 082007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My dealership has failed to address a safety recall within a reasonable period of time. The recall was issued by daimler Chrysler over 12 months ago, and I've registered my vehicle with both the manufacturer and the dealership. However, I've not received any follow-up since the registration. This is unacceptable.

- Southbury, CT, USA

problem #235

Jul 122007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,800 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. While driving 38 mph, the vehicle pulled to the right and drove into a ditch. She turned the steering wheel to the left and crashed into a drain pipe, which caused the vehicle to roll over. The tow truck driver believed that a failed axle caused the crash. The insurance company stated that the vehicle rolled over due to crashing into the drain pipe. The driver sustained a broken wrist. The contact received a recall notice for the lower ball joint (NHTSA campaign id # 06V288000) one month after the crash. The dealer has not inspected the vehicle. The vehicle was destroyed. The current and failure mileages were 99,800.

- Partstown, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #234

Dec 162006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Received recall notice 7 months ago;contacted dealer to make repairs and have not heard from them since; called several times only to be told the replacement parts had not yet arrived.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #233

Dec 052006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2004 Jeep Liberty. She received a safety recall notice for the suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint (NHTSA campaign #06V288000) in December of 2006 and another one on August 1, 2007. As of August 2, 2007, the vehicle has not been repaired. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 5,850.

- Etters , PA, USA

problem #232

Dec 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. In December of 2006, the contact received recall notice number 06V288000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). The dealer stated that they would place her name on a waiting list because they did not have the part. She spoke with them in March of 2007 and the part was still unavailable. As of July 31, 2007, the vehicle has yet to be repaired. The contact felt that the wait time was too long. The VIN and engine size were unavailable. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 30,000.

- Venetia, PA, USA

problem #231

Jan 072007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. In January of 2007, the contact received recall notice # 06V288000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). The dealer placed her name on the waiting list for the repair and stated that the wait time would be significant because they were only receiving a few parts per week. As of July 17, 2007, the vehicle has not been repaired. There have been no failures to date. The current mileage is 69,779 and the failure mileage was inapplicable. Updated 09/05/07.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #230

Dec 162006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notice # 06V288000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint) on December 16, 2006. The dealer stated that they would put her name on the waiting list and contact her when the part arrived. As of June 27, 2007, the recall repair has not been performed. The dealer stated that they only receive three or four parts per week. The contact felt that the waiting period is too long. No failures have occurred. The current mileage is 27,000 and the failure mileage is inapplicable.

- West Point, UT, USA

problem #229

Jun 192007

(reported on)

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jeep Liberty safety recall- lower ball joints customer states it has been four months and still have not been able to get it fix yet* the consumer was told the ball joints were on back order.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #228

Oct 152006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
While driving the 2004 Jeep Liberty and shopping at home depot the right side tire completely fell off while finding a parking spot. Had car towed for repair. Had to have upper and lower ball joints replaced, and sustained fender damage. Submitted request for reimbursement to Chrysler/Jeep, and they only paid for half of the replacement of the lower ball joints only. Did not reimburse for towing or fender damage.

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #227

Jan 082007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall # 06V288000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). He is # 175 on the recall repair waiting list. The dealer stated that it will be approximately one more month before the part will be available. The contact has currently not experienced any failures. The engine size was unknown. The current mileage is 31,000 and failure mileage was unknown.

- Elkridge, MD, USA

problem #226

Dec 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I received a recall notice from daimler Chrysler regarding my 2004 Jeep Liberty for a ball joint recall #F23 and have been waiting for more than seven months for the recall work to be performed. Dealers in my area claim that Chrysler is not providing parts in a timely manner and they will not perform the work. They cannot determine when this defect, which directly impacts the safe operation of my vehicle, can be performed.

- York, PA, USA

problem #225

Dec 262006

Liberty

  • miles
I received a recall notice of the lower ball joints of my car. The recall notice states that ball joint separation can cause a loss of steering and could cause a crash without prior warning. Yet I ordered the part at the dealership over two months ago and the part has not come in yet!!!

- Ludlow , KY, USA

problem #224

Mar 172007

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Lost control of my 2004 Jeep Liberty after a road shift that sent the SUV in a tizzy on two wheels until I finally hit the car in front of me. There is a recall on the ball joints and I have not heard from my dealer as to when this is going to be fixed or installed on the recall. Wondering if the two are related"?" I was notified about this recall in December and it now has been 4 months and no word from the dealer.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #223

Jan 042007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall F23 regarding the lower ball joint that has not been honored. The contact began hearing crunching noises. He called the dealer at least once a week, and was told that the parts were unavailable. The contact stated that it was taking too long to repair the vehicle because he needed the vehicle everyday. The current mileage was 56,000, and failure mileage was unknown.

- White Plains, VA, USA

problem #222

Nov 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notice in November 2006 for the lower ball joints. The contact spoke with the dealer on four occasions, and they did not have the parts. The current and failure mileage were 16,000.

- Bozrah, CT, USA

problem #221

Dec 312006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall # 06V288000 in December 2006. The dealer informed the contact that the vehicle would be number 12 on the list of repairs. The dealer has since stated that recall repairs could not be performed due to lack of parts. The current mileage was 9,500.

- Winter Garden, FL, USA

problem #220

Apr 022007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. While driving 45 mph the vehicle produced a grinding sound while turning and driving in reverse through snow and ice. The dealer stated that therewas a four page waiting list, and was unable to give the contact an estimated time for repairs. The contact was aware of the safety risk involved. The vehiclewas the contact's only means of transportation. The current mileage was 48,000, and the failure mileage was 32,000.

- Alderson , WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?