Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,788 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #219

Jan 202007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jeep Liberty customer is requesting reimbursement of the cost of car repair and car rental related to car accident/crash caused by the loss of steering control** the consumer received a recall notice in the mail regarding the ball joints..

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #218

Jan 012007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact received her 2004 Jeep Liberty lower ball joint recall (06V288000) on January 1, 2007 and Chrysler is not honoring the recall and getting the repair processed in a timely manor. The contact stated that this was her only vehicle. There are only 3 parts per week being disbursed to each dealer.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #217

Mar 192007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact called concerning recall notice # 06V288000 regarding the lower ball joint. The dealer stated that repair work could start no earlier than 4-6 months. The current and failure mileage were 18000.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #216

Mar 062007

(reported on)

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jeep Liberty customer has concerns about safety recall F23 customer has not been able to speak with someone at Jeep*

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #215

Mar 122007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact called regarding the 2004 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000. The contact was number 165 on the waiting list. The contact has been on the list between 6-8 weeks. She had the vehicle inspected, and was told that the lower ball joint needed to be replaced. The current mileage was 26,000. There had been no failures to date.

- Schuylkill Haven, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #214

Mar 122007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. Contact received recall notice 06V288000. Chrysler stated that she was number 80 on the waiting list. There were no failures at this time.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #213

Dec 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contactwns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall O6V288000 regarding lower ball joint. The contact called the dealership in her area, and they stated that it C ould take months in order for them to set up a service repair for the recall, but could not give an estimate. The vehicle had no failures to date. The current mileage was 54,000.

- Wilcon, CT, USA

problem #212

Jan 042007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Daimler Chrysler safety recall F23- lower ball joints.

- Joppa, MD, USA

problem #211

Mar 082007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was sent a recall for my vehicle in December. My dealer has still not obtained the parts from Chrysler to fix the recall.

- Andover, NJ, USA

problem #210

Mar 052007

(reported on)

Liberty

  • miles
2004 Jeep Liberty with a recall on ball joints customer is asking did NHTSA say that each dealer only gets 3 sets per week* the consumer has been waiting for parts since December 2006.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #209

Feb 032007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact stated that the 2004 Jeep Liberty with 25000 current mileag) did not have the ball joint problem. The complaintwas that he had not gotten any feed back in three weeks pertaining to how long it would take to honor the recall.

- Scarbrough, ME, USA

problem #208

Feb 062007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,916 miles
Daimler Chrysler will not reimburse me for a front end alignment performed at the time of a safety recall for ball joints. A safety recall for defective ball joints was mandated by the NHTSA on Jeep Liberty's. ball joint failure can result in loss of steering control and crash. To determine proper installation on new parts and correct position a front end alignment is necessary. Further information is available.

- Swoyersvivve, PA, USA

problem #207

Feb 012007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Jeep Liberty customer has concerns about recall F23 lower ball joints because the shop didn't have the parts*

- Lincoln, IL, USA

problem #206

Feb 272007

(reported on)

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Jeep Liberty customer has concerns about recall F-23 lower ball joints customer wants reimbursement for rent a car due to shop waiting list to fixing car*

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #205

Dec 272006

Liberty

  • miles
Safety recall notice F23- lower ball joints received on 12/27/2006. Contacted daimler Chrysler to schedule repairs. At this time we are on a waiting list and currently #34 on the list to have repairs made. Our vehicle has been parked since 12/27/06 and its now 2/27/07. We are a state Agency and depend on the use of our fleet vehicles for daily use. I have 250 staff asking about this vehicle daily. I would like some resolve in getting it fixed. Thank you.

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #204

Dec 132006

Liberty

  • miles
I have a 2004 Jeep Liberty that has a safety recall F23-lower ball joints. I called a dealer for a appointment on 12-13-2006, was told there is a waiting list, I called again on 1-12-2007 to find out why I was not being called to fix my recalled car. I was told they do two cars a week and it will be a long wait, it is now 2-25-2007, what's the problem, is this not a safety concern?

- Kulpmont, PA, USA

problem #203

Feb 212007

Liberty

  • miles
Received a recall for Jeep Liberty for lower ball joint, on the recall it states "this can cause the ball joint to corrode and separate. Ball joint separation can result in a loss of steering control and could cause a crash without prior warning." I called the dealer and the parts are on 3-6 month back order. I would think something this dangerous would not be delayed this long.

- Montgomery, IL, USA

problem #202

Oct 012006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
I have gotten numerous notices regarding the lower ball joints on my 2004 Jeep Liberty saying they can corrode or separate and result in loss of steering. I've been calling the dealer I use (mancari's of orland hills) since November 2006 to get this fixed and I keep getting told the parts are backordered, or they are only getting a couple in at a time and I am on a waiting list! this has been going on for 3 months!! if this can cause a crash why are the parts not being made available?

- Orland Hills, IL, USA

problem #201

Jan 242007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
I recently received notification of a safety recall for my 2004 Jeep Liberty with regard to the lower ball joints. The problem is that water may enter into the front suspension lower ball joints on my Jeep. This can cause the ball joint to corrode and separate. Ball joint separation can result in a loss of steering control and could cause a crash without prior warning. I contacted my dealership in order to get the part ordered and line up an appointment to have the repairs completed. The dealership was contacted on 01/24/07..the day after I first received notification of the safety issue. They informed me that they would order the part and call me to set up an appointment to as soon as the part came in. I had not heard from the dealership, so I called them on 02/13/07 to inquire about the "ordered" part. There was no record of a part being ordered. Therefore, I placed the order again on that day and asked if someone could call me back to give me an idea of when I could be scheduled for an appointment and how long it would take for the part to come in. I have not been contacted since that last call. I was told by the phone attendant at the dealership that the manufacturer is only sending the service area 3 ball joints at a time--and that is why its taking so long for me to be serviced. I asked the attendant how serious was this recall and if I was in any danger. She asked me if my car was operating properly and I told her yes to my knowledge it was, and she told me that I was probably ok. I would really like to know why it is taking so long to have my car serviced and should the dealerships be taking such a cavalier approach to this recall?

- Disputanta, VA, USA

problem #200

Feb 012007

Liberty

  • miles
Customer received a recall F23 from daimler Chrysler and customer has as concerns* the consumer was placed on a list for the recall. The manufacturer was sending out very few parts.

- Castleton, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?