Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,788 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 4 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #199

Feb 132007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle, a 2004 Jeep Liberty, has been safety recalled (F23) for lower ball joint replacement. Although I had heard of the recall in fall of 2006 my dealer would not take action until I received formal notification of the recall which I received in early January 2007. Shortly after receiving the recall notice I contacted my dealer to make an appointment. Dealer informed me that parts were on order and not expected for at least a month. My name was added to a wait list. I contacted the dealer today and was informed that parts would not be available until May 2007. I feel this is an unreasonable time to correct what DaimlerChrysler characterizes as a condition that "can result in a loss of steering control and can cause a crash without prior warning". and I'm supposed to keep driving it? updated

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #198

Feb 132007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Daimler Chrysler safety recall F23-lower ball joints; every time I call the dealership about how long it will be, the time frame just continues to get longer. Last time I called was 1/9 and was told another month. Today, 2/13, I was told I am 24th in line and they only get 2 sets per week so I am looking at 12 more weeks. This is absolutely ridiculous.

- Newton, NC, USA

problem #197

Dec 202006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
We have been waiting almost 2 months for repairs on our 2004 Jeep Liberty renegade for safety recall F23 - lower ball joints. Since water may enter into the front suspension causing ball joint separation, we are at risk of losing steering control which could "result in a crash without prior warning" (as described in notification code F23 from daimler Chrysler). We have been on the waiting list at 2 separate dealerships since mid-December and both have told us that the parts are not being sent fast enough from daimler Chrysler, prolonging our exposure to an unsafe situation. I do not feel comfortable driving my family around knowing that this publicized problem is not being remedied within a reasonable amount of time.

- Green Brook, NJ, USA

problem #196

Jan 132007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received a recall notice (F23) for my 2004 Jeep Liberty to replace lower ball joints. Called dealer on 12/15/06 and was advised that there was a two to three month waiting list as parts were not available. Vehicle failed nys annual inspection on January 13,2007. No local dealer could make repair as parts were not available. Vehicle was repaired at my expense with aftermarket parts. I contacted daimler Chrysler and was advised that the repair would not be reimbursed as it was not done at a daimler Chrysler repair shop.

- Dalton, NY, USA

problem #195

Feb 122007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
DaimlerChrysler safety recall F23 - lower ball joints the safety recall was issued and daimler Chrysler has failed to supply the necessary parts for the repair. They new of this recall for months prior to the formal notification. Their failure to evaluate and supply the appropriate parts for this recall is negligent and unacceptable. I have to wait 6 weeks to get the parts to repair this safety defect. This corporation should be ashamed of these practices and do whatever necessary to ensure the immediate demand for the parts is supported. This company new the number of vehicles involved in this recall and to not be producing in advance at a necessary speed to meet this demand is unacceptable safety practices.

- Omaha, NE, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #194

Dec 132006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contac received aq recallregarding ball joint for the 2004 Jeep Liberty, current mileage was 32000. The contact complained that it was taking too long for the recall to be remedied. There had been no failure to date.8ak

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #193

Jan 072007

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Jeep Liberty with safety recall F-23 - lower ball joints customer is asking for reimbursement for tow and tires* the consumer scheduled an appoint to have the recall done on January 11, 2007, however on January 7, 2007 the left front wheel came off the vehicle. The consumer stated the windshield is extra susceptible to chips and cracks due to debris hitting it.

- Logan, OH, USA

problem #192

Feb 072007

(reported on)

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Jeep Liberty recalled for ball joint separation* the consumer contacted the dealer and was told that it would be about two weeks before parts would become available. The consumer was told that he would be contacted when the part arrived. Four weeks went by and the parts still hadn't arrived. The consumer was disappointed to learn that the dealer isn't really sure when they will received the parts from the manufacturer.

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #191

Jan 072007

Liberty

  • miles
2004 Jeep Liberty with a safety recall for the lower ball joints.* the consumer indicated that the dealer failed to fulfill it's obligation pertaining to recall F23 for the lower ball joints. The consumer dropped his vehicle off in the morning to have the ball joints replaced. When he arrived at the dealer to pick up his car he was told that they ran out of lower ball joints. The consumer later found out that they would not be receiving any more ball joints for some time. The consumer retrieved his vehicle from the dealer.

- Rancho Palos Verdes, CA, USA

problem #190

Feb 052007

Liberty

  • miles
I received a recall notice for my 2004 Jeep Liberty in the mail in December (safety recall F23 - lower ball joints). I admit, it took a bit for me to call to make my appointment to get the car fixed because of personal issues. I called my local Jeep dealer on 2/5/07 and was told there was a wait of at least 150 people ahead of me because they are only shipped 3 of the parts that need to be replaced a week. At that rate, it will take me, and many other people, almost a year to get my car repaired! the woman even told me that the wait there was one of the shorter ones in the area.

- Manahawkin, NJ, USA

problem #189

Feb 092007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact stated that he received a recall letter on 12/12/06 for his 2004 Jeep Liberty for the lower ball joints. He was contacted by the dealership, smith cairns Jeep, on 01/28/07 and made an appointment for 02/09/07. The contact stated that he was called that morning and the dealership informed him that the ball joints for his vehicle were not in. The contact stated that this has taken too long for the repairs. There have been no failures to date.

- Pleasantville, NY, USA

problem #188

Feb 072007

Liberty 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,500 miles
Recall lower ball joints for 2004 Jeep Liberty just got off the phone with a service dept. Representative from Chrysler rt. 130 informed me that he is only receiving a small shipment of ball joints a week. I have been placed on a waiting list. I also informed the rep. That my Jeep was making a front end noise..

- Burlington, NJ, USA

problem #187

Feb 062007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have received a safety recall F23 - lower ball joints on my 2004 Jeep Liberty. When I called the local dealership, as instructed, I was told the wait to get this problem fixed would be months because DaimlerChrysler is only sending the dealership 3 - 5 units of replacement parts per week, not the hundreds that are need. This seems very negligent on the manufacturer's part and I would hope that they could be forced to speed up this process. I feel unsafe driving my vehicle until it is fixed.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #186

Feb 022007

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2004 Jeep Liberty has a recall for the (F23) lower ball joints. I took my vehicle into a Jeep dealership on 18 January to have the problem corrected. I was told that the parts were on backorder through Chrysler and that it would be at least 6 weeks until they arrived. On 2 February, approximately 8:00 am, I was leaving my home for the airport. I was still in my driveway thankfully when the accident occurred. My vehicle had a sudden jolt and the right side of the Jeep fell, burying my right front tire. The lower ball joints had separated with no warning. It caused additional damage to the tire and undercarriage. I would hate to think what would have happened if I were on the road or highway. This recall is so severe! this will cause deaths if someone doesn't do something about it. How can they not have enough parts for such a severe recall"?" my Jeep was towed to the a dealership. They did manage to fix it along with the additional damage that this recall caused.

- Worthington, OH, USA

problem #185

Feb 052007

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles
- the contact called regarding a 2004 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000 for the lower ball joint. The contact called a Chrysler dealer, and was told they did not know when the part would be available. The contact stated that the dealer is not taking names for a waiting list. The contact was told to keep calling back to see if the part were in. The contact heard a loud noise coming from the front of the vehicle for approximately two months. The dealer will not diagnose the vehicle because they believe the noise was due to the lower ball joint.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #184

Jan 022007

Liberty

  • miles
Safety recall F23- lower ball joints on 2002-2006 model Jeep Liberty vehicles. I called a local dealer and I was informed that it would be several months before they would release the parts and that they had a waiting list of over 140 people

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #183

Jan 052007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact called regarding a 2004 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall letter 06V288000 for the lower ball joint. The contact took the vehicle to a daimler Chrysler dealer, and was told that the part did not arrive. And she would be called when the part arrived. The contact has not experienced any problems with the vehicle at this time. The vehicle has 17, 914 miles. Updated 02/27/07.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #182

Jan 302007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Safety recall F23 - lower ball joints - I first called the dealer to make an appointment to have this repaired. They said it would take about a month. I called again and now they're saying that I am #54 on a waiting list that is growing. They are saying that parts are back ordered and they have no idea when they will get the parts in. They gave me Chrysler customer service # to complain. I am very afraid to drive my car, don't know what to expect. After getting this recall I went and found that there is at least 4 other recalls on this vehicle that I was not aware of. One being an engine problem. What can I do?

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #181

Dec 132006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The contact received recall notice #06V288000 for the 2004 Jeep Liberty concerning lower ball joints on December 13, 2006. The contact's lower ball joint failure was repaired 5 months ago. The contact's recall notice stated that the lower ball joints must be repaired again. She was number 84 on the waiting list to have the vehicle repaired, and was concerned with the safety risk while driving the vehicle. The contact stated that she had to pay for an alignment to replace the lower ball joints.

- Diamond Beach, NJ, USA

problem #180

Jan 122007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
- the contact has a 2004 Jeep libert. The contact recived recall NHTSA recallm campaign id number : 06V288000concerning lower ball joints. The contact called a dealership in his area, and they stated that it could take 4-12 weeks in order for them to set up the recall repair service.

- San Rafael, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?