Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,788 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 6 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #159

Nov 262006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contacted received recall letter 06V288000 for the lower ball joints. The vehicle is a 2004 Chrysler Jeep Liberty and has approximately 45,000 miles. The contact stated she had an appointment scheduled for 1/13/07, but the part did not come in so she has been rescheduled for 2/2/07. The contact has not experienced any failures to date. The VIN was unavailable.

- Northwood, OH, USA

problem #158

Jan 122007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
- the contact has a 2004 Jeep Liberty that is involved in the ball joint recall. The contact has called a dealership(causeway Ford) in her area and, they stated that it can take 4-12 weeks in order for them to set up the service repair because they are only getting 4 parts a week. Presently, there are 100 owners waiting to be contacted by the dealer for this repair. NHTSA campaign id number : 06V288000.

- Mayetta, NJ, USA

problem #157

Jan 112007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
- the contact has a 2004 Jeep Liberty that is involved in the ball joint recall. Contact has called a dealership (georgetown chsyler Jeep and Dodge in norwalk, ct) and, they stated that it can take 4-12 weeks in order for them to repair the vehicle. The contact is concern due to the fact that when she drives her vehicle in cold weather or diving over 50 mph there is a crackling noise coming from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle also drifts to the right when being driven. NHTSA campaign id number : 06V288000

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #156

Jan 072007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- on January 4, 2007 the contact received recall letter 06V288000 for the lower ball joints. The vehicle is a 2004 Chrysler Jeep Liberty with approximately 28, 000 miles. The contact has not experienced any failures. The contact has been put on a waiting list. The contact has also filed a complaint with Chrysler corporation.

- Neptune Beach, FL, USA

problem #155

Jan 112007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,466 miles
- the contact has a 2004 Jeep Liberty that is involved in the ball joint recall. The contact has called two dealership in her area and, they stated that it can take 3-4 months in order for them to set up service for the recall. NHTSA campaign id number : 06V288000. No failure has occurred to date.

- Peterstown, WV, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #154

Jan 112007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,200 miles
- the contact has been calling a dealership since September concerning a safety recall (number 06V288000) that he had received on his 2004 Jeep Liberty. The last time that the contact called berger auto dealership was 01/11/2007, and he was told that they are not getting many parts and that they would not be able to make the safety repair until sometime in April.

- Drums, PA, USA

problem #153

Jan 102007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a safety recall notice for the lower ball joints for my Jeep. I called rocky mountain Chrysler and Jeep and they said that I had to wait at least 3 months to get the recall done.

- Riverdale, UT, USA

problem #152

Jan 022007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
- the contact received recall 06V288000 concerning the lower ball joint. The contact called the dealer, and they told him that they would not be able to fix the recall until August because they only received three units a week. He has not experienced a failure to date.

- Belleville, NJ, USA

problem #151

Jan 102007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles
- the contact owns 2004 2004 Jeep Liberty that was included in the ball joint recall 06V288000. The contact has called a dealership in her area and, they stated that it could take 4-12 weeks in order for them to set up service. There has been not failure to date.

- Wilberforce, OH, USA

problem #150

Jan 092007

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2004 Jeep Liberty. I read an article in our local paper in August 2006 concerning recalls. Finally received the notification late November - safety recall #F23 from daimler Chrysler - lower ball joints. Called my dealership immediately. Was told I was on a waiting list of 30 ahead of me and that the dealership was only receiving parts to fix 2 vehicles per week. This is ridiculous because I was told I could lose a wheel if those lower ball joints give out. Which could result is loss of control of vehicle, accident, injury or death. Called dealership on 1/9/07 - there is still 20 vehicles ahead of me. Called an 800 number to daimler Chrysler on 1/10/07 to complain and my call could not be connected to a customer representative. This is when I decided to file a complaint with you. This vehicle is a family used vehicle. I have a teenage daughter driving and I am scared to let her use this vehicle. I understand it is not my dealerships fault - they state daimler Chrysler is slow at sending out the parts. This is unacceptable to me.

- Oil City, PA, USA

problem #149

Dec 202006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact received a recall notice 06V288000 for faulty ball joints. After speaking to the dealer they didnt't T have the part available, nor did they appear to be concerned. The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty.

- Los Angeles , CA, USA

problem #148

Jan 092007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
- the contact received recall 06V288000 concerning the lower ball joints. The contact has contacted several dealerships in her area, and, they stated that it could take up to two months in order for them to set up service. There has been no failure to date.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #147

Jan 092007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
- the contact received recall 06V288000 concerning the lower ball joint. The contact called several Jeep dealers, and they told her that it will be at least a three month wait for the vehicle to be repaired. The contactwas not satisfied with the wait time.

- Harleyfville, PA, USA

problem #146

Jan 092007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
- the contact received recall 06V2888000 concerning lower ball joints. The contact has contacted a dealership in her area, who stated that it could take several weeks before service could be set up. The contact stated that the dealership was getting 4 parts a week. The consumer was placed on a waiting list. Updated 02/27/07

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #145

Jan 092007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty with 24000 miles, and she received recall 06V288000 for the lower ball joint. The contact stated that she called several dealerships, and two of them would not put her on a waiting list, and one told her that it will be months before they will be able to repair her vehicle.

- Mableton, GA, USA

problem #144

Jan 082007

Liberty

  • miles
Monday 1/6/07 - telephoned local dealership and daimler-Chrysler (1-800-853-1403) inadequate follow-up by dealership and by Chrysler hotline representative. Dealership indicated due to lack of adequate parts supply to fix the problem the waiting list is 7-8 months. Chrysler hotline rep says they can do nothing except advise me to contact other dealerships. This in not adequate follow-up on a safety recall within a reasonable time especially one like this F23 which seems to have some real hazards involved. People administering this program should be made aware the mfgr. Is not addressing the recalls within reasonable time.

- Willoughby Hills, OH, USA

problem #143

Jan 042007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
- the contact received recall 06V288000 2004 Jeep Liberty concerning lower ball joints. The contact called the local dealer and they advised her that it will be a 2 month wait before they could repair the vehicle. The contact felt that this was not acceptable because it was a safety issue. There have been no failures to date. Updated 2/6/2007 -

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #142

Nov 212006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
- while driving a 2004 Jeep Liberty at 65 mph, with clear road conditions the contact lost control of the vehicle and the vehicle flipped over. Before the incident contact had no warning of any malfunction to the vehicle. Contact took the vehicle to discount tire on 1/04/06, and the stated that the tires were cupping, and it probably had to do with the lower ball joints wearing out and getting loose. The contact never received a recall O6V288000, and he felt that this vehicle should be covered under the recall. Contact can provide copies of the police report, repair invoice and pictures.

- Delta, CO, USA

problem #141

Jan 042007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
- the contact received recall notice 06V288000 for the lower ball joints. The contact called the dealer, and they told her that she will have to wait until may to have the vehicle fixed. The contact felt that this was a safety concern because she had to drive the Jeep everyday. There has not been a failure to date. Updated 1/31/2007 - the consumer was told that the manufacturer is only releasing 3 all joint as week to the dealers.

- New Oxford, PA, USA

problem #140

Jan 052007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
- the contact received recall 06V288000 concerning lower ball joints. Contact has called town and country, her local dealership, who stated that it couldtake 8-10 weeks in order for them to set up service. To date there has not been a failure.

- Solsberry, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?