Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,151 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments

problem #14

Aug 022011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 74,390 miles


Had been driving and hear squeaking/creaking when turning the vehicle. Every once in awhile, I would feel the vehicle slip on a turn. One morning when I was driving to work; as I entered the parking lot, I heard a loud pop on the driver's side followed by a harsh grinding. I was able to pull into a parking spot, but it is clear that the vehicle is not drivable. I was going no more than 5mph when this occurred.

- Glendale, NY, USA

problem #13

Jun 062009


  • 91,539 miles
Upper ball joint on passenger side upper control arm separated. Ball shows extreme pitting and no signs of lubrication.

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #12

Feb 052009


  • 63,431 miles
2004 Jeep Liberty sport :suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint. 63431, dealer states that both lower control arm need to be replaced.

- Ledyard, CT, USA

problem #11

Jan 222009


  • 73,000 miles


I own a 2004 Liberty and had the front lower ball joints replaced due to a recall. I started hearing an awful sound and took it to my Jeep dealer to find out the front upper ball joints are bad. The left is severely separated and could go at any time. I don't have $400 to repair what I would consider a defect. This vehicle is barely 5 years old and I have had some pretty major problems with it. In the short time that I have owned it I owned a 1996 Jeep Cherokee for 8 years and never had more than an O2 sensor problem. I would appreciate a response at your earliest convenience.

- Chiefland, FL, USA

problem #10

Apr 282004


  • 500 miles
Multiple problems - vehicle pulls to the right - bad tire - ball joint failure - fuel mileage not as stated on dealer sticker - back window open by itself - passenger window regulator broke / just plastic tube / dealer wants $300+ - upper arms failure - major transfer case noise - dealer kona auto center ha its own problems and cannot take care of mine/ replaced defective clutch master/never replaced firewall rubber seal - now electrical issue in firewall. Bought new from kona auto center 2004.

- Kapau, HI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Sep 152006


  • 35,000 miles
Right tire fell completely off while driving due to ball joint failure. Had car repaired and found remaining ball joints were on verge of failure. Daimler Chrysler covered less than 1/2 of cost to repair.

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #8

Feb 162007


  • 85,000 miles


Upper ball joint failure, Jeep Liberty sport 4X4. February 2007, driving a country road at approx 40mph, the right front of the vehicle collapsed. With brakes, I stopped the vehicle prior to colliding with a tree. Both upper ball joints were replaced by joe jacoby Jeep in warrenton, va. Based on their conversation with higher headquarters, cost to repair was mine alone. $1600.

- Hume, VA, USA

problem #7

Jan 062007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Safety recall notice on 2004 Jeep Liberty for lower ball joint replacement. I contacted a Jeep dealership on 1-8-2007 and was told I would be put on a list for replacement. Today 2-20-2007 I'm being told the same thing, we have you on the list. This concerns me because we are older people and ball joint failure could be fatal to us. I feel that six weeks is enough time for them to fix this problem. Thanks for your attention.

- Mt. Lookout, WV, USA

problem #6

Dec 202006

(reported on)

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Consumer letter concerning the 2004 Liberty recall. The consumer never received the recall notice for the ball joints. The consumer found out about the recall on the Jeep website. The consumer contacted the local dealer who informed him that since he did not purchase the vehicle from them that they could not get the replacement parts until next April.

- Rossford, OH, USA

problem #5

Aug 162006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
On August 16th, 2006 my wife and I were on our way home when her 2004 Jeep Liberty came to a abrupt stop while in traffic (about 20-25 mph to 0 mph in a flash of a second, thrusting us both forward). The road conditions were not good (heavy rain, low visibility), however, our trip was uneventful up to this point. The vehicle was towed to the nearest dealership thereafter. My complaint stems from the earlier conversation my wife had with a local Chrysler-Dodge-Jeep dealership (baxter auto group). Upon calling them on Monday August 14th, 2006 to reserve an appointment she was asked to describe the problem. She noted that there seemed to be problems with the steering... and that the wheels seemed to "grind" when turning the vehicle. We had heard on from her father that certain Jeep were being recalled for steering and or front suspension problems. When she asked the service person whether or not she should be concerned he noted that, "if the problem is not occurring all of the time then she should wait until the recall begins in September." The dealership was definitely not proactive in helping us with this problem. I could only imagine what would have happened to the two of us if this vehicle failure happened one to two minutes earlier on the freeway driving 60 mph (in heavy rain with moderate traffic). Though the recall on the 2003-2006 model year Jeep Liberty does not start until September I would really like to see Chrysler become more proactive. If someone has the same problems as we did... then the dealerships should waste no time at all and remind the driver that they are now driving at their own risk. Or a better idea would be to no longer drive the vehicle. Please feel free to contact me for any other information.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #4

Jul 202006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,254 miles


1)loud noise in the front 2) then a jerk of the car to the right 3)loud bang, sounded as if something just dropped to the ground 4) could not control the vehicle.

- Beaver Falls , PA, USA

problem #3

Jul 012004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
Hard constant pulling to right and grinding. Some times a popping noise.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #2

Jun 182006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
Previous | next | back to messages call or instant message deletereplyforwardspammove... printable view this message is not flagged. [ flag message - mark as unread ] subject: Jeep stuff date: Wed, 21 Jun 2006 12:47:22 -0400 from: "rastgoufard, shirin" add to address book add mobile alert to: I was leaving a parking lot in my 2004 Jeep Liberty when I heard a bang, and my car stopped moving. I pushed the accelerator but the car did not move, it only shook and made a loud noise. When I got out of my car I noticed that all the tires were still inflated and that there were little pieces of curled metal underneath my car. The tow truck driver stated that my suspension had broken, and that the tire fell off my car, but was caught by something, hence the curled pieces of metal. The tire finally fell off the car when we towed it to the dealership. The dealership where I had bought the car from sold, and is now under new management. The car could not be fixed at that location because the mechanic was not skilled enough to handle the damage. The car then had to be towed down the street to the dealerships other location. I was told that the left and right ball joints were replaced on the car and that a new wheel was order, but is on back order. The service department stated that even without the new wheel, my car was ready and safe to drive.

- Pepper Pike, OH, USA

problem #1

Mar 092006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The consumer had a problem with the steering and handling of his 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The vehicle had a front end alignment but it never remained aligned as long as expected. The consumer had the tires balanced, rotated and alignment performed on 3/9/06. The lower ball joint developed an unusual amount of slack.

- Columbia, MS, USA

Not what you are looking for?