Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,714 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments

problem #7

Jul 112007

Liberty

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. While the vehicle was parked, the front driver side window fell down without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the window regulator failed. The failure recurred on the rear driver side window and the front passenger side window. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Okeana, OH, USA

problem #6

Jun 232014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Rear passenger window failed during thunder storm and fell into door, online research indicates this is a common problem with this car.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #5

Oct 202011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Rear driver's side window fell into door. Could not get it back up. Window is now held in by zip ties. 6/23/2012 front passenger power door lock stopped working. Purchased vehicle used in June 2007, rear passenger power door lock not working at that time. Occaisionally vehicle will stall and restart while driving.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jan 022012

Liberty 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 01/02/12 my passenger front window fell down and would not roll back up. Now, since that time, on 03/16/12 my driver's side window has fell down too and will not roll up. Within, two months both of my windows have failed. There is some kind of malfunction going on here. Does this mean in four more months, that all of my windows will fail? something should be done about this, because obviously this is a problem that not just I am having. There are a lot of others having this same problem with their Jeep. Updated 04/02/12

- San Jacinto, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 032008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the passenger side window failed and fell down into the door panel abnormally. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing where the technician advised the contact that the cable that was attached to the motor was fractured. The motor was replaced but the failure recurred. The failure also occurred on the front and rear driver side window as well as the passenger side window. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 03/12/12 updated 04/26/12

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Jul 272011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
Re: failure of passenger side power window (1) while driving to work, I attempted to roll down the passenger side door window and the window just fell down inside the door. At that point, I was unable to roll up the window. (2) the window could not be operated by the power switch and therefore, I had to remove the door panel and secure the glass with a piece of wood. (3) the failure has not been corrected at this time. While researching this problem - I have found that this is a reoccurring problem across the country with Jeep Liberty's and I feel that this is a great safety problem. The glass in the window is for protection and should it fall out while driving at a normal rate of speed - this could potentially cause damage to the driver, passengers or other cars on the highway. I feel like Chrysler corperation should bear the costs to correct this problem and not leave it up to the owners to correct this defect in the Liberty. There are pages and pages online with Liberty owners who have had this same problem. Just entering (Jeep Liberty window problems) will take you to numerous complaints about this issue. It is disheartening to still be paying on a vehicle that is like new but is falling apart. I was already involved in an accident in which the faulty ball joints just gave way. Thankfully, I was not on the interstate when this happened. Now this failure of the window is another recall I would like to see happen. It would be appreciated if you would make Chrysler corporation stand behind their products. The Jeep Liberty is not a cheap vehicle to buy but it is certainly cheaply made and it is sad to wonder what is going to happen next while driving this vehicle.

- Sevierville, TN, USA

problem #1

Feb 022004

Liberty

  • 15,000 miles
Glass for the hatchback broke without warning.

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?