Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,072 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #58

Mar 012012


  • 60,000 miles


When trying to roll down front driver window, it made noise and cable worm came up in between glass and door jam, flapping on inside of window. Window still worked but the cable wire would come loose sometimes and window would either not roll all the way down, or not roll down at all and other times would roll down just fine. I rolled the window down the other day and the cable wire came flapping up while the window glass is stuck inside the door. Had to pry window out of door and tape shut. Window motor still makes sound but no longer operates window.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #57

Mar 012008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The windows in the Jeep fail anytime and generally starting under 50,000 miles. What happens is the window will roll down, but then you will not be able to get it back up and it stays down, even manually raising it, it will still fall down. Chrysler is aware of the problem and has made a repair kit for the windows. The problem is to have someone repair the windows it costs $300-$400 per window. I have had my driver side window fail, the driver side back window fail and the passenger side front window fail all within a 3 year time frame. Chrysler recalled this problem on the 2007-2008 Jeep Liberty and after reading multiple message boards, this is a huge issue with the 2004-2005 models as well. Several people have had multiple repairs on the same window. 3 out of 4 failed windows is unacceptable.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #56

Mar 052004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
From March 5 2004, 2 months after purchase of brand new Jeep Liberty the windows have fallen down a total of 14 times. After the warranty expired I have had to pay a total of over $780. For repair. I am 76 & on social security. The back window has fallen again 2 days ago & I can't afford to have it fixed.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #55

Oct 152011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles


While driving on the highway at approximately 65 mph the passenger side front window fell into the door. The window regulator was what went wrong. Did alot of looking on the internet regarding this and found that it is a common problem with Jeep. I did not know how common until driving in 20 degree weather last week and the drivers side rear window did the same thing. I have contacted Chrysler about this and was informed that it is not covered under any recall. So I now have two windows braced in the up position with 2X4's and a total loss of respect for a company that I have supported by owning their products for well over 20 years.

- North Ridgeville, OH, USA

problem #54

Oct 032011


  • 170,000 miles
Power window regulator fails causing window to unexpectedly fall into the door panel. Front and rear windows failed within 3 months of each other. Multiple complaints filed on this vehicle for the same issue.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #53

Nov 052007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Power windows fail and window slides down and cannot be brought back up in order to close the window. Have had three of my windows fail in exactly the same way, all of them needing to have the entire window regulator and motor assembly replaced, costing over $500 in each of the three time that this happened.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #52

May 062009

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles


2004 Jeep Liberty window regulators. Replaced left rear window regular ($450) in 2009. Replaced left rear window regulator in July, 2010 at cost of $96 (goodwill warranty). Right rear window regulator needs to be replaced but hasn't because of cost. Now front left window regulator has to be replaced for $350. This causes hardships in inclement weather conditions while driving the windows get stuck or fall down while driving causing distractions as well as financially having to pay labor and parts costs each repeat time.

- Aubrey, TX, USA

problem #51

Jul 052007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 39,733 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated the drivers side window fell into the door and she was unable to place it back in position. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the window regulator and motor needed to be replaced four years after the previous failure occurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but only advised the contact to contact NHTSA. The vehicle was not repaired. Updated 11/03/11 updated 11/14/11

- Carthage , MO, USA

problem #50

Sep 192011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Power window regulator failure. This is the fourth time in 2 years. This is a major problem that is very expensive to fix. The regulator fails when the car is not even in motion. The window will fail to roll up or down when the regulator fails and it makes a grinding sound when you try to roll the window up or down. This is obviously a huge problem judging by how many complaints are listed on this website. Jeep needs to recall the power window regulators in these vehicles and take care of their customers. Who has three hundred dollars to fix an ongoing problem two times or more a year. I am a very upset customer and I think something needs to be done about this problem.

- Kingman, AZ, USA

problem #49

Aug 152011


  • 87,000 miles
The window regulator for the rear driver's side window has failed, leading to the window unable to roll up and loss of window control that leads the window to fall inside the door and glass to shatter.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #48

Aug 062011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles


I have a 2004 Jeep Liberty in which 3 of the window regulators have went out. The reason this is an issue is driving down the freeway my driver window regulator quit working, the window fell down into the door. I almost wrecked because of the distraction and sound of my window falling.

- San Tan Valley, AZ, USA

problem #47

Jun 072011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 81,187 miles
I have a 2004 Jeep Liberty. On June 7, 2011 the passenger rear window just fell down inside the door. Our extended warranty doesn't cover replacing window regulators. That cost $300 to repair. Then, on June 27, 2011 the passenger front window just fell down inside the door. It is in the repair shop and it will cost another $300 to be repaired. The driver side window regulator is also about to break. When I put the window down the whole inside door panel expands and the repair shop said it's about to break. I think its a big safety hazard if my windows just fall down inside the door especially when I'm driving and have small children in the car and weather conditions. Also, when the window falls inside the door it makes a loud noise which is a distraction from the driver. There needs to be a recall because my repair guy said that these regulators have to be replaced quite often at $300 a pop!!! I am not a satisfied customer what so ever.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #46

Jun 012011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Window regulators have been repaired 9 times on my vehicle. Please contact mack massey jepp in el paso and bill luke Jeep in phoenix for details. This has been ongoing thing since 2008.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #45

Jun 012011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
The rear drivers side window regulator needs replacement as it is defective. The extended warranty nor the dealership will cover this very common defect which will cost me $450.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #44

Oct 302010


  • 90,000 miles
I'm working in a big city and park my car all day in a open parking lot. The left rear window of my car was open, not sure if it was open all day.. for right now im duck taping that window from the inside, nothing has been done yet waiting to order and have it fixed, part alone will cost at least $ $150 and then repair cost"???"

- Jacksonville, AR, USA

problem #43

Apr 102011


  • 39,400 miles
While driving down the highway, the rear driver-side window began to open of its own Accord. Trying to stop the window from lowering further using the control button on the console did nothing but make a terrible grinding noise inside the door. Within five miles of driving, the window glass had disappeared into the door panel. This has happened twice now. The first time was a year ago, mid-April 2010, also while driving on the highway. This year it happened to the same window again, mid-April 2011, which means the replacement parts failed, too. The wind in the car was awful, not to mention the cold! it certainly made for a noisy, freezing, and uncomfortable drive. When I arrived at my destination, I had absolutely no way to close up my car, since the window glass had disappeared into the door. I was very afraid someone would steal my car.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #42

Jan 212011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 57,287 miles
Normal use of the vehicle. Normal use of the power windows. No bumps, accidents, rough driving, inclement conditions, rough terrain, unusual external force applied or anything that would constitute replacing the third power window regulator in approximately 2.5 years. I've fortunately only had to replace the right side of the vehicle's window regulators. Both the front and the rear have gone out, the rear twice in the past 2.5 years. Jeep has apparently only acknowledged the issue because of the part number revision of the part 6 times since 2004. It would be great to have this problem fixed once and for all and to have all the regulators replace by an authorized dealer with a part that can be guaranteed for the life of the vehicle. I don't want money since this hasn't cause and personal or property damage but I would not like to pay hundreds of dollars every 6-9 months to replace a part that technically should last 5 times as long as it does.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #41

Jan 112011


  • miles
My spouse was driving on the highway when the left window fell into the door of our 2004 Jeep Liberty. On further research I became surprised to find hundreds of complaints about the same problem. The costs for repair are nuts and unwarranted because of poor design by Chrysler. How is it that the ones to pay for all the mistakes created by manufactures ends up being the consumer. We have done enough for the big corporations it is time to do something for the people. I'm going to recommend to all that I know not to purchase Chrysler products.

- Firestone, CO, USA

problem #40

Jun 012008


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 65 mph the rear passenger window rolled down on its own. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician stated that the window regulator unit needed to be replaced on all four windows. The failure occurred nine times on all four windows intermittently. The repairs were made to the window regulator unit eight times. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that they would pay for the parts. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000.

- Kenner, LA, USA

problem #39

Dec 102010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I am a 2004 Jeep Liberty owner. While driving my vehicle, I attempted to lower my passenger window on a clear sunny day. My passenger side window made a loud pop and then my window fell down. It would not go back up. I finally pulled over and tugged it up in to position and got it to close. It now will not raise or close properly. I called the dealership service department and they tell me it is the window regulator has failed. This sudden collapse of the window caused me to look immediately right to see what I thought was something hitting my vehicle. Then the surprise of my window dropping while driving in traffic. This could have caused me to make a sudden driving error causing an accident as it scared me when it happened. It was a very loud pop sound ! I called the dealership service department and I was told it would be about $500 to fix. After researching this on the web, I see I am one of thousands with defective windows that drop for no reason in these doors of the Jeep Liberty. Some 6-7 times. We as consumers deserve better from Chrysler. If you check the service records for this problem it should stand out like a sore thumb. We desperately need a recall of for this part of the vehicle that the dealerships are willing to replace while under warranty and acknowledge there is a problem and replace the defective ones but once the warranty expires then we are on our own. The problem is in the design itself. The window regulator is causing problems that are a safety concern and hazard. Please investigate this issue with the Jeep Liberty. Customer service is no help. They tell me to pay the repair expense (caused by the manufacturer's cheaply made product) then send in my receipt and it may get reviewed. This is a safety issue. There are too many that are having to be replaced. This is a problem. I urge someone to launch an investigation into this. This is not Jeep quality that I thought I was purchasing when I paid the huge amount for this vehicle brand new.

- Northport , AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?