Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,728 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Liberty body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #68

Mar 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to dealership has not addressed the fuel tank problems recall notice. The consumer stated he was first informed in March 2014, the parts were not available. As of August 2015, the parts were still not available.

- Greenacres, FL, USA

problem #67

Jun 192013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure)exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer stated that the parts were not available and that there was a two month wait list for the part. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Montgomery , AL, USA

problem #66

Jun 252013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fenton, MO, USA

problem #65

Apr 062015

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #64

Apr 032015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Indianapolis , IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #63

Mar 182015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/16/15

- Conneaut, OH, USA

problem #62

Sep 042014

Liberty 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a letter notifying me that there was a recall on my vehicle in late August of 2014. I have called the Jeep recall center 4 times since then and I still have not had my Jeep repaired. The last time I called on January 29th, 2015 the customer service representative put me in contact with kendall Dodge in miami. I spoke to [xxx] from the car dealership and she advised me that I was fourth on the waiting list for this repair. It is now February 12th, 2015 and I have not heard anything from kendall Dodge or the Jeep recall center. How much longer do I have to wait for such a simple repair of my Jeep?...updated 05/14/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 05/28./15 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #61

Feb 022015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Jeep Liberty. Consumer states its been 13 months and the dealer keeps telling him no parts are available. Would like to get problem fixed. The consumer referenced recall # 13V252000.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #60

Jan 132015

Liberty

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle was incapable of supporting the proper installation of a hitch due to deterioration near the hitch attachment point. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 83,000.

- Beech Mountain, NC, USA

problem #59

Dec 032014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cornelius, NC, USA

problem #58

Jan 122015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall N46/NHTSA 13V-252 received recall notice called dealer, was told parts were backordered and would be called later. Never called. Received another recall notice, called dealer for appt. And was told still did not have parts. Made appt. For repair when parts come in put on list. Never called then received another recall notice stating we never replied to recall notice ? this is a lie and will be contacting Chrysler to complain about treatment from dealer.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #57

Aug 252014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline and structure) and stated that the part was not available for the repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available and informed the contact that the vehicle was number twenty-nine on the waiting list. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/09/15 updated 01/13/15 updated 1/21/15 updated 01/26/15

- York, PA, USA

problem #56

Dec 012014

Liberty 4WD

  • miles
2005 Jeep Liberty. Care has had few recalls which includes the most recent recall regarding the gas tank. Customer very unhappy with her car. The consumer stated the radiator, water, rocker arms, spark plugs all had to be replaced. Also, the engine light illuminated after the repairs were done. The dealer informed the consumer the head gaskets and cylinder heads needed to be replaced.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #55

Aug 252014

Liberty

  • miles
2005 Jeep Liberty. Consumer was told the recall could not be performed on the vehicle due to corrosion. Recall # 13V252000.

- Upper Arlington, OH, USA

problem #54

Jun 192014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the parts were not available for repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Saco, ME, USA

problem #53

Dec 022013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I am contacting you in reference to recall N46 / 13V- 252 on the Jeep hitch issue. I have jumped thru Chrysler' hoops for the last 12 months only to be told know that my reese hitch that I had installed prior to all this starting is not a "oem" part and that Chrysler will not reimburse me for it. I had this hitch installed at a licensed dealer and the hitch meets icc requirements for a class 3 hitch. I am sure that I'm in the same boat that many other owners are in, and I hope you can advise me where do I go from here.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #52

Nov 032014

Liberty

  • miles
Consumer writing in regards to 2005 Jeep Liberty. States that the could rupture in a rear end collision. The consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- Glen Carbon, IL, USA

problem #51

Sep 302014

Liberty

  • miles
2005 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to NHTSA recall number 13V252000.* ld the consumer was under the impression, (oem) parts were being used. However, he learned the trailer hitch the dealer installed was not a usable trailer hitch for hooking up a boat, or trailer, etc. It would in fact cause considerable damage to the under structure of the vehicle. Updated 11/20/14

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #50

Oct 312014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). However, the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 12/11/14/

- Romney, WV, USA

problem #49

Oct 282014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to advise when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Turlock, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?