Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
125 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Liberty exhaust system problems

exhaust system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments

problem #2

Oct 092005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 250 miles


Leased massey-yardley Jeep new 2005 Jeep Liberty 8/27/05, 1 week check eng light on, 9/6/05 small evap leak told that I did not tighten gas cap, 9/16/05 eng light on tested no problems found. 10/6/05 again, complained to service manager, tested as vapor leak code, replaced split gas cap & checked system, no vapor leaks present. 10/17/2005 returned with engine light on, code for small leak service, cleared code, passed 4 evaporative emissions test, test drove 20 miles & no problems found, 11/09/05 again eng light on, service has ca 5 days, puts 189 test miles on new leased car, did smoke test & could not duplicate. I explain to service manager I cannot being car in every 2 week, he states that I am doing this, for a new car. Mine w/ less than 2000 miles/service put 200 miles. Emailed/phoned complaint to dealership manager, "his service manager knew what he was doing & why not go somewhere else". 11/30/05 eng light on, go to accardi dealer, extremely backed up due to hurricane wilma, service person quickly test on computer, small vapor leak, reset eng light & politely ask come back if possible. 11/30/05 email complaint to Chrysler ref#14321893 no response. 12/16/05 eng light on, due to "wilma", & holidays, eng light on until. 2/8/2006, for service polite accardi dealer computer shows evap small leak, smoked system fuel pump ring leaking, retorqued seal is corrected. Weeks later engine light on, getting tired & let light stay on, it goes off on occasion, on most of the time. 8/14/06 accardi for service & eng light on, computer states no codes present, no problem found. Week later engine light on, I worry something serious but cannot return to dealer ship every few weeks reset. 3/28/07 at dealership for service & engine light on, indicates small evap leak, service find broken hose under vehicle, repaired hose ran diagnostics & showed corrected. Email complaint to Chrysler 3/29/2007, ref#16080404, 18 months later. Waiting for Chrysler reply & check engine light.

- Wilton Manors, FL, USA

problem #1

Aug 252006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2005 Jeep Liberty crd has a transmission "shudder" and looses power between 55 and 60 mph. This appears to be a common problem with crd owners and Jeep has issued several tsb's that consist of computer reflashes that have not corrected the problem. I am to the point where I do not Transport my children in this vehicle because it looses power at 55 mph on highway merges and cruising. I am very concerned with the safety, because other crd owners have experienced transmission failure following the "shudder" symptom. Jeep only made 11,000 crd's (discontinued in 2006, however still part of their marketing campaign!) and the owners are having a difficult time getting them to respond to several safety problems. The erg valve is another issue. Mine has been replaced once, other crd owners have had multiple replacements. My Jeep crd totally lost power when the egr valve failed. It was on an interstate traveling 65 mph. Luckily I had a clear path to coast to the shoulder.

- Warwick, MD, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?