Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,557 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #154

Mar 032014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact waited for approximately six months to have the vehicle serviced according to the recall due to the part not being available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Auburn, NH, USA

problem #153

Sep 032012

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 ( fuel system, gasoline, structure) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN number was unavailable.

- Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #152

Dec 112013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Re: NHTSA recall# 13V-252 had our vehicle inspected Jan-14. Vehicle is one that is under the safety recall. Dealer still does not have parts - was told Chrysler is sending dealerships limited quantities each week and we are on their list to receive the part & installation when our name finally comes up. I feel 9 months is excessive for repair and concern is growing. Please advise.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #151

Jan 012013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had exceeded the reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part was unavailable and there was a waiting list of over 100 vehicles. The dealer also mentioned that the manufacturer was only issuing 20 parts at a time. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay on several occasions. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/24/2014 updated 04/20/2015

- House Springs, MO, USA

problem #150

Sep 152014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/23/2014 updated 4/7/2015

- Bethlehem, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #149

Jan 072013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline structure) and stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle had not been available for over a year. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Grays Lake, IL, USA

problem #148

Aug 152013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Over the past 12 months, I have received three (3) separate notices for vehicle recall, notification code N46. Each time I have called my dealer and each time my dealer has told me they do not have any of the parts to accomplish the repair on the recall. They also tell me they have no idea when they will get the parts in. If my vehicle is subject to a recall, I have been driving an unsafe vehicle for quite some time. The dealer shows no sense of caring if I get the vehicle fixed or not. They open themselves up to a lawsuit if something should happen. I think the NHTSA should fine Chrysler and the dealer as neither care about getting my Jeep fixed. Can you please help me get this thing fixed? my dealer's phone number in athens, ga is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Colbert, GA, USA

problem #147

Sep 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to rear structure reinforcement recall notice issues. According to the recall notice, the parts were not available. Recall # 13V252000.

- Osceola, WI, USA

problem #146

Sep 052014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Waynesboro, PA, USA

problem #145

Sep 082014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the dealer stated that the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The contact was later informed that the parts were ordered and would take four to six weeks to arrive. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mounds View, MN, USA

problem #144

Aug 152013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The marion police department owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/26/2014 the consumer stated it had been at least 10 months and the repair has not been completed. Updated 2/23/2015

- Marion, NC, USA

problem #143

Aug 282014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jefferson City, MO, USA

problem #142

Aug 012013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that she was waiting for over a year to have the vehicle repaired, but the dealer stated that the part was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Baltimore , MD, USA

problem #141

Jan 082014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles
Pump does not shut off when gas tank is full. Results in gas spillage. Have tried twice to get it fixed. Dealer can't see anything wrong with it.

- Bradford, PA, USA

problem #140

Aug 012011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
See compliant NHTSA id number: 10616194. I am having the same problem. The gas station pump does not automatically stop when I am filling the tank. I have to estimate when the tank is full. Most times I am right other times it causes spills.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #139

Aug 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to the extensive amount of time since recall notice and no attempt to remedy the situation. The consumer stated it has been over a year since, he received the recall notice. The consumer referenced recall # 13V252000.

- Bandon, OR, USA

problem #138

Aug 142013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part was not available for the repair. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #137

Aug 102014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2years ago was told my daughters Jeep was not safe if hit from behind due to gas tank.they said they would install a receiver to block impact area.I keep getting the run around on when I can get it fixed.

- No. Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #136

Jan 102014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
This is concerning recall N46/NHTSA 13V-252. We received the notice in Jan. 2014 and were told Chrysler would contact us when parts were available for the recall. I contacted Chrysler in April 2014 and again was told we would be contacted. As of today, 8/8/2014 we still have not received any word on the recall. I am concerned about the safety of the Jeep. Can you help?

- Scottsville, VA, USA

problem #135

Jul 152013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that the part needed was unavailable in order to performed the recall repair. The dealer was uncertain of when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 9/4/14

- Crystal River, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?