Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,557 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #134

Jul 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to rear structure reinforcement recall notice issues. The consumer was informed, the part was not available. The consumer received the notice six month ago.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #133

Jan 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Received a recall noticed about the first of the year concerning the fuel tank. I have since had my Jeep in for a tune up twice and both times I have been told that they do not have the part in yet. And that the factory has not done anything about replacement parts. I keep calling and have been told the same thing from the parts department...part not in, factory is not sending any parts. I purchased this vehicle brand new from a Jeep dealer and have only had my Jeep serviced from them in the past 9 years.. does this warrant a complaint.

- Walnut Cove, NC, USA

problem #132

Jul 212014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that the part needed was unavailable in order to performed the recall repairs. The dealer was uncertain when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 9/4/14 the vehicle was fixed. Updated 09/17/15

- Balwind, MO, USA

problem #131

Jul 112013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the parts needed for the recall repair was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Castine, ME, USA

problem #130

Jun 182014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
An ongoing problem with the fuel gauge is that whenever I fill up I can drive about 20 miles (more or less) and then all of a sudden the engine light and gas light come on and the fuel gauge goes all the way to empty. Which can be pretty scary the first time you see it happen and you're going 75 mph on the interstate. The second problem is the suspension. Any time I turn the steering wheel it creaks. Riding over even barely bumpy roads causes my car to creak and groan. It shakes horribly when driving between 50-55 or even idling but gets better when I take my foot off the gas, apply the brakes, or go at higher speeds.

- Prattville, AL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #129

Dec 202013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number:13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. When the fuel was full there was no click to ensure tank was full. The contact had to let go of the fuel pump and fuel had poured out intermittently. The service engine sensor was also illuminating intermittently. The contact had to adjust the fuel cap to get the sensor to turn of which works but was only an interim fix for the failure. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repairs. Dyd

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #128

Jun 202013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the parts were not available to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to repair the vehicle. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- St. Albans, WV, USA

problem #127

Mar 052014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the dealer did not have the parts available for the repair. The contact stated that the repair was not performed in a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Belavista, AR, USA

problem #126

Jan 012014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had exceeded a reasonable amount for time for repair. The dealer stated the parts were not available. The manufacturer stated they expected to have the parts available possibly in August 2014. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced any failures.

- Fairmont , WV, USA

problem #125

Jan 162014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the remedy part was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Saxonburg, PA, USA

problem #124

Dec 202013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did provide a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #123

Jun 102014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Safety recall notice N46 / NHTSA 13V-252 states that parts are not yet available. This recall was issued months ago yet parts are (still) unavailable. We consider this to be a high priority recall notice since it relates to dangers associated with the fuel tank in a rear end accident. I contacted our dealer today and as of June 10th 2014 parts are still unavailable and there is no time-frame given on when parts will be available to correct this dangerous condition. We believe this recall should be expedited.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #122

Dec 272013

Liberty 4WD

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The dealer stated that the part for the repair was unavailable and did not know when it would arrive. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/11/14

- Stitzer , WI, USA

problem #121

Feb 102014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Hello my name is [xxx] and I recently learned that my Jeep Liberty is up for a recall the letter from the dealer says the fuel tank on your vehicle has a small chance of experiencing a fuel leak during certain types of rear ends collisions. Fuel leakage in the presence of an ignition source can result in an underbody fire. I already went to the dealer and they say that they don't have the parts, that was on February and they haven't contact me. I don't speak english so please contact me in spanish. Thanks and have a good day.

- Guayama, PR, USA

problem #120

Jun 032014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 150,166 miles
I just registered a 2005 Jeep Liberty I went to the gas station to purchase gasoline. The fuel tank will not allow me to pump fuel into the tank. The fuel back lashes and shoot out of the tank. It took 20 minutes to pump $20 worth of fuel at pumping.50 cent worth at a time then allowing it to settle.

- Hammond, LA, USA

problem #119

Jan 012014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, and structure) had surpassed the reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer advised the contact that the parts were still not available in order to perform the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The vehicle had not exhibited the failure. The vehicle current mileage was unknown.

- Waterford , MI, USA

problem #118

Jul 182013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, and structure). The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time to make the parts available in order to have the vehicle repaired. The dealer was contacted and made the contact aware that parts were not available therefor the repairs were unable to be performed. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Washington , VA, USA

problem #117

Feb 032014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that the repair had exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The dealer stated that parts were not available. Contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not notified about the problem.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #116

Dec 182013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The dealer stated the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Soledad, CA, USA

problem #115

Mar 212013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 66,210 miles
Fuel spitbacks severely during filling. Poses potential fire or personal injury.

- Center Sandwich, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?