Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,538 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Liberty steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Sep 292016

Liberty

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Lower front right ball joint snapped while I was driving. Called Jeep and they said it was recalled and replaced. I asked for a location and a service order and the would not give it to me. They keep telling me to take it to the Jeep dealer which I cant because it is broke. These ball joints where recalled for breaking. Now for a second time it broke and I cant get any proof that it was ever replaced

- Dunedin, FL, USA

problem #37

Sep 162015

Liberty

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. While driving at approximately 20 mph, there was an abnormal noise coming from the rear passenger side of the vehicle. The contact stated that the steering wheel was very difficult to maneuver. The contact discovered that the rear suspension arm fractured on the ground. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Liberty, MO, USA

problem #36

Jun 062013

Liberty

  • 165,065 miles
While driving noticed driving wheels sloppy. There is to bolts in front frame connected to steering, when turn wheels one side stays and rest pivots as need to turn steering. On other side bolt and whole bolt and mechanism pivots and makes a grinding noise. Makes a popping sound as well. Have noticed recently that if hit a bump steering get very shaky.

- Port Huron, MI, USA

problem #35

May 072015

Liberty

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is a safety complaint on a 2005 Jeep Liberty complaint for the 3 recalls. Ball joints, trailer hitch and control arms. On this day I brought my vehicle to transitowne in williamsville, NY for the recalls, I never received the ball joint recall previously. My vehicle was safe, no noise, no problems and was currently in mint condition mechanically and otherwise. I dropped it off Thursday night 5/7/2015 to be worked on 7/8/2015. They called the morning of 7/8/2015 to say the vehicle was complete. As I drove home the wheel shakes and front end makes noise while braking and sounds loose. I immediately returned it, they were rude and after my obvious frustration finally decided to take a test drive. When sal, the service coordinator came back and actually admitted (with a witness) I was one in a million that received bad ball joints but that they don't have any more I would have to wait. I explained when braking something is rubbing, steering is shaky and makes a clunk noise from ball joints. They let me drive away with a vehicle that is unsafe. Loose ball joints with any play in them can result in an accident. They offered no rental, no help and ignore me. I have my own business (sole) and cannot drive it, I don't trust it and it cannot be driven to kayaking. My entire weekend was ruined not to mention I cannot drive a noisy, dangerous vehicle. They did not replace the trailer hitch even though it's 10 years old (I put it on myself) did not come with the Jeep, and it's welds are rusty and brittle, they did not care about that either. Chrysler case # 26946712. I feel like nobody cares about my problem, it can't be legal for a dealership to send drivers home with vehicles that have loose ball joints and tell them it's safe, they have no idea where I go and drive with my vehicle, it's construction season and one pothole on the thruway could kill me.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #34

Jul 032014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
I was coming home the day before the holiday. It was a busy day around 4:30 pm. I began heading down the heel and the car just turned off. I was unable to restart, steer, brake or control any aspect of the car. Unfortunately when the car stopped, it threw me forward into the dash. Fortunately, the gentleman that was in front of me saw me waving and yelling I couldn't stop and risked his life by pulling in front of the oncoming traffic to allow my car to continue soaring down the hill. Once I reached the bottom of the hill, my vehicle came to rest between two lanes of a four lane road. Mind you this road has hills coming from both ways. Fortunately again, a tow truck driver came along and stopped traffic until he could safely tow me into my driveway (free of charge). When I tried starting the vehicle again it ran like it was about to blow up and rattled something terrible. I contacted Chevrolet and they explained that they had never heard of any such situation regarding my type of vehicle. However, as the stories began spilling into the media, it was like reliving that moment over and over again, but unfortunately for some their situation didn't turn out as well. How long will this major motor company be able to risk human lives just to make a profit. Why don't they just admit that they used defective parts to make a big profit and it has now back fired.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #33

Sep 132014

Liberty

  • 33,594 miles
Making a left turn onto a major route at 30 mph when all of a sudden the vehicle takes off on it's own and begins to swerve picking up speed while both my feet are off of the pedals. It hits one concrete wall on a bridge and proceeds to cross yellow line picking up more speed before smashing straight into other concrete wall. It's the only thing that stopped this vehicle from continuing on. Air bags went off and split expelling strange odor. A Jeep dealer commented that either a sensor went or accelerator pedal had stuck. I could not straighten the vehicle out by steering at all.

- Alburtis, PA, USA

problem #32

Jul 202011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 39,999 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In a clear sunny day I was entering the freeway when I heard a big bang on my lower end front of my Jeep Liberty. There was nothing in the road that could have damaged it. The road was clear of any debris. After a couple of years taking it in into my Jeep dealership they could find nothing wrong with it. Finally not third but forth was a charm when they told me the lower front arms and bushing needed replacing. I have heard from many Jeep owners that they have had the same problems I want to know why these parts have not been recalled.

- Grimes, IA, USA

problem #31

Jul 262014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 136,706 miles
I had turned into the parking lot and the lower ball joint on the passenger side had broke. I had this taken care of by a non Jeep dealer due to short on funds to have it done by a Jeep dealer, at the time this happened did not know Jeep would have covered the cost of the repairs since this issue was a recall issue that had been fix back in 2007. This Jeep I had purchased used in Dec 2013. I had called Jeep Corp to check on recalls after I had first purchased. Found things were fixed but was not told there was a 10 year warranty on that work that was done back in 2007 by the previous owner. If I would have know that at the time I had this issue again on July 26 2014 I would have taken it to the Jeep dealer, but because I did not have a lot of money I had it fixed by another auto repair service. I would like to be reimbursed for the cost at $534.40 I had to pay in July 2014 for issues with the same that were recalled and fixed back in 2007. I had called today to find out what I could do and was told nothing now since I had it fixed by a non Jeep dealer. I really think it should be reimbursed do to the fact I had to have this fixed after it was recall and fixed by a Jeep dealer and it still broke. I have the receipt for the repairs that were done July 2014.

- Cocoa, FL, USA

problem #30

Dec 302011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
When driving over metal plates or small patches of ice front wheels lock and make steering impossible if brakes are being applied. This is happening at very low speed. I bought this Jeep used.

- S Ozone Pk, NY, USA

problem #29

May 142014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 116,750 miles
When driving faster than 15 mph, when I would take my foot off the accelerator or brake, the car would swerve violently and randomly to the right or the left even though I was not turning the steering wheel. This is the exact same issue in NHTSA campaign number: 12V085000, but my vehicle was not included in this recall.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #28

Aug 212013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle was involved in a crash with a light pole and small tree. Driver was forced to the right side of the road to avoid a head on crash with another vehicle. Two of the front bumper sensors were hit, but the air bags failed to deploy. The drive hit the steering column that had broken off with her sternum, and the passenger hit the windshield. There was a question involving the seat belts not holding either of the individuals in place. The 2005 Jeep had several recalls, and many shop bulletins of part failures on file though this one was checked by the dealer and certified as ok...updated 09-18-13 updated

- Pueblo West, CO, USA

problem #27

Apr 042013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 99,800 miles
Failure of steering column rod to actuate ignition sense switch caused vehicle no start and driver stranded. Rod goes between key cylinder and ignition switch. Key can still be turned, but if ignition switch does not actuate engine does not start. There are no dealer serviceable components in steering column. This leads to the entire steering column needing replacement for the failure of a 3mm aluminum cast rod. Dealer estimate of $1200 for repair. Pictures are available.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #26

Feb 012013

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • 104,104 miles
This is the second incident on the same vehicle with the right front wheel falling off due to the five studs being sheared off. First incident was @ 104104mi and second at 152212mi. All mileage is highway mileage on the 4X4. No of-road rough treatment.

- Bowser, Bc Canada, AP, USA

problem #25

Jan 232009

Liberty

  • 31,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, the vehicle made loud whining noises. The vehicle had not been diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified but stated there were no recalls for the VIN. The contact did extensive research on the internet and determined that the failure was the power steering pump. The contact also stated that the windows in the vehicle randomly open independently. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 31,000.

- Centennial , CO, USA

problem #24

Jan 012008

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the vehicle could not be started and the steering wheel was locked in place. The vehicle was later towed to the dealer where they advised her that the steering column needed to be replaced due to the ignition rod being fractured. The vehicle was repaired for the steering column. The failure recurred six months later. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage was unknown.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #23

Nov 132012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 32,436 miles
On a rainy morning on 11/13/2012 while merging onto the interstate my Jeep Liberty went into a skid and I lost control of the vehicle and hit the roadside barrier. The front and back bumpers were damaged. The problem was not the skid but that the steering wheel locked in place and could not be steered to help control the truck. This had happened at least twice before when the truck went into a skid. My husband had asked our local service dealer about it and he said that this was part of the Jeep suspension and was not a defect in the vehicle operation. Based on that inquiry, I thought the first time this happened, that maybe it was just a fluke. However, now I am not so sure. I do not believe that the steering column on a vehicle should locked in place and not allow the vehicle to be controlled. Additionally, I have been waiting eight months for my local Jeep dealer to get the part for the latest safety recall, L27/NHTSA 12V-085 rear suspension lower control arms. We checked last month and the service department stated that we were still number two on the list and when they got the repair part we would get the repair part. We have been told since May 2012 that we were number two on the repair list. I need answers on why my steering wheel does this or I need to get rid of this vehicle because if this happens again I might have very different results than the past two times.

- Odenton, MD, USA

problem #22

Jun 282011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 107,989 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that when driving over 45 mph, the vehicle would start to wobble uncontrollably. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was notified of the issue who offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 107,989. Updated 08-03-12 updated 8/31/2012

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #21

Feb 212012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Late night I had stopped at a traffic light and had begun to move when I heard a noise coming from the back end of the Jeep. I was then driving at about 30 - 35 mph when the backend started to "slide" out like I was on ice. Since there was no ice I pulled over to check it out with a flashlight. I checked the wheels, put the hazard lights on, and since I was pretty close to home I drove between 10 - 15 mph. Today I found out the one of the control arms was so rusted that it broke and the other was rusted badly where it was welded. Nothing else on the bottom of the Jeep looked so rusted and I take good care to get the under body washed often in the winter. The arms looked like they had been sitting in a junk yard for 20 years or so, they were that bad! we called the local Jeep dealer to ask about a warranty or even a recall but were informed there was neither. She gave us a number to call at Chrysler which we did immediately. We were told the same thing there but they gave us a case number. I did find an article on the internet from Sept. 20, 2011 that said there were at least 11 complaints of the same problem and that it was being investigated by NHTSA. I was lucky enough that I wasn't driving on the freeway 70 + mph since I usually leave for Arizona this week. Since there may be other Jeep owners out there unaware that this could happen, I decided to make this complaint. I think that this is excessive rust on a vehicle only 7 years old. Even though there was no accident or a death, please take this complaint seriously. I do have some really good pictures of the parts before they were removed from the Jeep if you need them.

- Holland, MI, USA

problem #20

Nov 012011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 83,500 miles
I was on my way home from my job early and I had noticed a funny grinding sound when I pulled out of my parking space. I got out, checked around the truck and saw nothing. I then drove home about 7 miles from my house my car had began going right then left and I was unable to steer it at all. I was fortunate that I was not going fast and I was able to stop and pull into a parking lot. I would have crashed if this had happened minutes before when I was on the interstate. I had my car towed to the nearest garage and learned that the rear suspension control arms had both completely rusted through and the only thing keeping my Jeep rear end together was a sway bar. The mechanic says he had never seen anything like it. I have contacted Chrysler also. I purchased the car in Connecticut.

- Ooltewah, TN, USA

problem #19

Sep 152011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My Jeep is making winding and grinding noises. I thought that it was the ball joints which Chrysler eventually agreed to replace since it is considered a repeat recall for them but the noise, vibration and shimmy in the steering has persisted and the service dept. At the dealer informed me that I also need control arms and sway bar links. The service rep told me that it was not considered to be normal wear and tear. I contacted Chrysler and the person assigned to my case told me he would get back to me to follow up. Days later when I finally tracked him down in between his breaks and phone calls he told me that the dealer told him that it was just normal wear and tear. I haven't taken my car off road and it hasn't been in the snow or on salty roads. The last time that I tried to reach him I was told that he did not work on wednesdays. Still no response from Chrysler from anyone regarding whether or not its a safety concern that they will cover or assist with. I updated my case with the info that I would add to your ongoing investigation if I did not receive an update regarding assistance from them. The Jeep is 5 yrs. Old and is still making a horrible noise on the front driver's side and I cannot get a response of any kind from Chrysler. I have a power train warranty in effect until the end of November. Please let me know if you can assist with expediting this matter with Chrysler since I do not feel safe driving the Jeep in this condition. Originally, I was told by my case manager that everything including the control arms and sway bar links would be replaced along with the ball joints but now I'm being told that it was a miscommunication because its normal wear and tear. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?