Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,867 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #66

Feb 162015


  • 124,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the steering wheel started to shake and the vehicle became more difficult to control. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and it was determined that the rear lower control arms had rusted out. The contact was made aware of NHTSA recall campaign number: 12V085000 (suspension); however, the VIN was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 124,000. Updated 04/06/16

- Lousville, KY, USA

problem #65

Feb 192015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 95,723 miles
Right rear lower control arm broke while I was driving, causing me to lose control of the vehicle because the rear passenger wheel went under the fender causing me to almost hit an oncoming vehicle head-on. Upon investigation, I realized that the rear lower control arms on this vehicle had been recalled in April 2012 in the "salt belt" states due to rust. Although I live in Kentucky, which I am told is not the salt belt, it is still obvious that these defective parts were used on my vehicle which was purchased new in 2005 and had no previous owners. A mechanic has also verified that the right lower control arm broke due to rust and that the left lower control arm is rusted. And although I have been a repeat customer having also purchased a 2009 Dodge journey new and a 2012 Dodge Ram new, the company has refused to replace these obviously documented defective parts. I have recently contemplated purchasing a new Jeep Laredo; however, I am done with Jeep, Dodge and Chrysler products and intend to go with Ford, GM and/or Chevrolet in the future.

- Baxter, KY, USA

problem #64

Sep 272014

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
On Saturday September 27th while driving my vehicle I noticed a rumble noise while climbing a modest hill. An inspection of the vehicle revealed that the rear axle had moved forward several inches and the driver rear wheel had moved into a position where it was contacting the inner fender which caused the noise. Further investigating the cause lead me to notice that the lower control arm had failed due to corrosion which allowed axle to move forward. I have contacted Chrysler by registered letter regarding this issue but I have received no response.

- Hamilton, VA, USA

problem #63

Dec 192014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 170,000 miles


Driver had just pulled out of driveway and was going down the street. After about 150 feet from driveway, vehicle suddenly pulled to the left, hit a parked van, rode up on the van's front tire and rolled over. Inspection of the underside of the vehicle revealed the the drivers side lower control arm had snapped causing loss of control.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #62

Jan 312015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 114,926 miles
I would like to know if the recall has been done on the vehicle I have.

- South Riding, VA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #61

Oct 222014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id numbers: 12V085000 (suspension) and 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that the parts were not available for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Vinton, VA, USA

problem #60

Jul 262014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 136,706 miles


I had turned into the parking lot and the lower ball joint on the passenger side had broke. I had this taken care of by a non Jeep dealer due to short on funds to have it done by a Jeep dealer, at the time this happened did not know Jeep would have covered the cost of the repairs since this issue was a recall issue that had been fix back in 2007. This Jeep I had purchased used in Dec 2013. I had called Jeep Corp to check on recalls after I had first purchased. Found things were fixed but was not told there was a 10 year warranty on that work that was done back in 2007 by the previous owner. If I would have know that at the time I had this issue again on July 26 2014 I would have taken it to the Jeep dealer, but because I did not have a lot of money I had it fixed by another auto repair service. I would like to be reimbursed for the cost at $534.40 I had to pay in July 2014 for issues with the same that were recalled and fixed back in 2007. I had called today to find out what I could do and was told nothing now since I had it fixed by a non Jeep dealer. I really think it should be reimbursed do to the fact I had to have this fixed after it was recall and fixed by a Jeep dealer and it still broke. I have the receipt for the repairs that were done July 2014.

- Cocoa, FL, USA

problem #59

Oct 062014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 136,367 miles
Failure on driver rear trail arm. Trail arm fractured when I took off from a stop. This appears to be the same issue Jeep issued a recall on (#L27), in March 05, 2012, for Jeep Liberty my 2004 - 2007. Contacted Jeep recall hotline and they refused to honor the recall since my Jeep was bought in Kentucky. Recall is only valid for Jeep sold in states North of Kentucky. According to recall fracture is linked to the excessive corrosion due to the application of road salts during winter weather conditions. Northern Kentucky (where I live) has the same weather as southern Indiana. Indiana is covered and Kentucky is not.

- Smithfield, KY, USA

problem #58

Sep 282014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
The driver side rear lower control arm broke from being corroded.this should be part of the 12V-085 recall but is not because I live in the wrong state.

- Independence, KY, USA

problem #57

Jun 182014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
An ongoing problem with the fuel gauge is that whenever I fill up I can drive about 20 miles (more or less) and then all of a sudden the engine light and gas light come on and the fuel gauge goes all the way to empty. Which can be pretty scary the first time you see it happen and you're going 75 mph on the interstate. The second problem is the suspension. Any time I turn the steering wheel it creaks. Riding over even barely bumpy roads causes my car to creak and groan. It shakes horribly when driving between 50-55 or even idling but gets better when I take my foot off the gas, apply the brakes, or go at higher speeds.

- Prattville, AL, USA

problem #56

May 142014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 116,750 miles


When driving faster than 15 mph, when I would take my foot off the accelerator or brake, the car would swerve violently and randomly to the right or the left even though I was not turning the steering wheel. This is the exact same issue in NHTSA campaign number: 12V085000, but my vehicle was not included in this recall.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #55

Apr 042014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 101,427 miles
I was at a full stop at a red light, and when the light turned green, made a right hand turn. During the turn I heard a loud thud from the rear passenger's side wheel area, and the back end of the car shimmied a little bit. I pulled into a shopping center about a 1/8 mile away, parked my vehicle, and got out to inspect the area I heard the noise come from. My lower control arm had almost completely snapped. I decided to inspect the driver's side rear lower control arm, which was cracking as well. I decided to look up any recalls on my make, model and year, as I take very good care of my vehicle and found this odd. Turns out there is a recall for the lower control arms, the "L27" recall. I was not made aware of this by Chrysler. I contacted their customer service, and was told that it would be towed to the nearest dealership for inspection; also, if I requested that my vehicle be taken to a different dealership, there would be an additional fee. It was brought to the dealership, and it was confirmed to be the recall. I asked if there were any other recalls, and I was told by the sales rep that there is another recall, this one concerning the fuel tank, which Chrysler would install a free trailer hitch for to protect it from rear end collisions. The rep then informs me "but we don't have those parts, no one really has them, so we aren't doing anything about that right now". hits me for a $4,400 quote for other things they found wrong. I had my car there for a week, and I had to pay for my rental car. I was told by Chrysler that it is up to the dealership to offer help with that, which this one doesn't. I told them that I should not have to pay $350 extra to cover a rental because of a recall that is their brand's fault and responsibility to repair. I am lucky I wasn't on a highway. Both Chrysler and dealership refuse to pay for rental car.

- Fishkill, NY, USA

problem #54

Feb 232014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
I was driving home after picking up my kids from school and noticed that my back end was swaying slightly. I thought it might be from a wet road surface but then noticed a crack and groan when I drove up my curb on to my driveway. I got out and looked under the vehicle and noticed that my passenger side lower control arm was completely rusted through and my rear axle was slightly skewed with the passenger tire slid forward in the wheel well. I noticed that Chrysler had a recall for this very problem (safety recall L27/NHTSA 12V-085 rear suspension lower control arms) but mine was not covered because I don't live in a 'salt belt' state. I live in omaha, ne and our roads are salted every winter. I believe this is directly associated with the previous recall and would like Chrysler to replace my lower control arms.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #53

Jan 212014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Timken corporation had recall 12E047000 but [xxx] is a non working number. As new owner of Jeep need verification recall was complete on Jeep. Need help to verify if recall correction has been completed or not. Need valid contact information for timken corporation. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #52

Jan 302014


  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the rear suspension control arm failed and caused the contact loose control of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the rear suspension control arm was corroded and the wheel alignment needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 113,000.

- Grayson, KY, USA

problem #51

Oct 032013


  • 88,680 miles
Corroded upper control arm needs to be replaced.

- West Holyoke, MA, USA

problem #50

Mar 022011


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the rear of the vehicle continuously swayed from side to side making it nearly impossible to control the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the rear control arm and bushings needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 177,000.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #49

Jun 262012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 143,546 miles
Hi there, I am taking my Jeep Liberty for a recall on the rear suspension lower control arms to my local Chrysler dealer tomorrow June 27, 2013. Apparently the recall was made because the control arms are made out of a material that can corrode and break without warning causing a crash. I find this interesting because on June 26, 2012 almost a year ago to the day, I had the Jeep in for a replacement of the transfer case and the mechanic replaced my front control arm noting that he had never seen such a thing, it was rotted almost completely through and those almost always outlast any vehicle they are on. I paid $549 to have that replaced and I would think it was the same cheap metal as the rear control arms...why wouldn't it be? anyways, I would like to be reimbursed for the repair of their cheap parts. I am also very concerned about the pending recall on the gas tank placement of my Liberty which can cause a fire or explosion. I am not a mechanic and trust auto companies to keep my safety and that of my family to be paramount. If I had of known that there was a potential danger to our lives that could have been avoided I would never, ever have purchased this vehicle. I might also mention that besides the front driveshaft, the rear control arms, the transfer case replacement, I have also had the rear end redone twice now. I have the original bills for all of this work. If Chrysler had any decency at all they would recall these vehicles without question. I am in Ontario, Canada and your sheet does not allow me to choose this option so state and zip will be incorrect.

- Scarborough, CA, USA

problem #48

May 252013


  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 06V288000 (suspension: Front lower ball joints) and took the vehicle to the dealer for recall repairs. The dealer refused to perform the recall service because the driver and passenger side upper ball joints were corroded. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure was reported to the manufacturer, but the manufacturer refused to provide any financial assistance for additional repairs outside of the recall. The failure and current mileage was 83,000.

- Stockton , CA, USA

problem #47

Mar 222013


  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the front driver's side ball joint malfunctioned, making the vehicle difficult to steer. The contact was able to move to the side of the road and the vehicle was towed to a local mechanic. The mechanic stated that the malfunction was caused by rusted ball joints. The mechanic replaced both front ball joints. An authorized dealer was contacted and advised that the vehicle was previously repaired under the NHTSA campaign id number: 06V288000 (suspension). The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Glendale, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?