Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,422 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

Mar 062007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000 regarding the lower ball joints. The dealer stated it will take approximately three months for the part to become available. The contact began to hear a growling noise from the tire region of the vehicle. The dealer was unsure if the noise was related to the lower ball joint. For a proper diagnosis the lower ball joints would need to be inspected at the contact's expense. The current and failure mileage were 20,000.

- Palmetto, FL, USA

problem #52

Apr 092007

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. On April 9, 2007 the contact received a recall notice. The manufacturer and dealer stated that the lower ball joints were replaced in 2005. The contact was advised that it would be safe to tow a boat to the vehicle. The current mileage was 31,500.

- Elmira, OR, USA

problem #51

Apr 092007

Liberty

  • miles
Called dealership twice about recall on Jeep Liberty ball joint problem. I wastold it could be several months before I could have my Jeep repaired because daimler Chrysler was sending a few parts at a time. If this was serious they could certainly look at the sales of the dealerships and determine an average number to send to each one, even if in stages. What am I supposed to drive until then? do I just take my chances and hope for the best. If manufacture has a recall they should make sure the dealerships could take care of thier customers faster than a couple of months.

- Carlock, IL, USA

problem #50

Apr 022007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000 for the lower ball joints. The dealer stated that repair work could begin in approximately three months, and the contact felt the estimated wait time was too long. The current and failure mileage were 21,000.

- North Aurora, IL, USA

problem #49

Apr 042007

Liberty

  • miles
Daimler Chrysler safety recall F23 lower ball joints. Recall started in September 2006, did not receive mailed recall notice till 3/10/07. Called dealer, who said that the parts are on backorder, and people have been on a waiting list since December of 2006, that seems to be a four or five month waiting list for a problem that the recall says will take one hour to fix.

- Naperville, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #48

Apr 032007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
There is no parts availability for safety recall F23-lower ball joints. I am writing on behalf of my wife who is the original owner. I am very concerned with this safety recall. I have been trying to get this taken care of for approximately 4 months now and every time I do the dealerships say they don't have any parts. I do not blame the dealerships, I blame the manufacturer because I have contacted a number of dealerships and it's the same story everywhere. I would like some pressure to be put on daimler-Chrysler to begin to mass produce these parts as I am becoming increasingly worried for the safety of my wife. It states in the recall notice "ball joint separation can result in a loss of steering control and could cause a crash without prior warning". something needs to done immediately because if something should happen I would hold both the manufacturer and the NHTSA responsible.

- Morrisville, NC, USA

problem #47

Mar 232007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000. The dealer advised that it will take approximately 3 months to receive the lower ball joint partm and to perform the repair. The dealer stated they were only getting 4 parts per month. The current mileage on the vehiclewas 17,000. There had been no failures to date.

- Belpree, OH, USA

problem #46

Mar 192007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for the front lower ball joints. The dealer informed the contact it would be a minimum of a month before she would be able to have the vehicle repaired. The dealer stated they were only receiving two or three repair kits a week. The current mileage was 24,000 miles. There had been no failure to date.

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #45

Mar 272006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Daimler Chrysler - safety recall F23 - concerning lower ball joint. Taylor motors 50 North columbus road, athens, oh 45701, phone: (740) 594-3528. My wife tried to make an appointment for this recall the representative was upset and rude, stating there were at least 60 people ahead of you, and I did not have any parts. Chrysler send out these recalls and no body told me. No schedule time was given to fix safety recall F23 - lower ball joints.

- Nelsonville, OH, USA

problem #44

Feb 242007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received two recall notices regarding the vehicle's lower ball joint. The contact stated that the dealer was not receiving enough parts and was taking too long to have the vehicle serviced. The current mileage was 6,200.

- New Castle, IN, USA

problem #43

Mar 272007

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been trying to schedule service on my Jeep libery after receiving a recall notice from the manufacturer. I have been waiting for over two months to get the Jeep service station to receive the part. I was told today (3/27) that it may be another five months before the part comes in. In the meantime, I am driving an unsafe Jeep Liberty. This is unacceptable. The recall is on: Lower ball joints (safety recall F23).

- Kensington, MD, USA

problem #42

Mar 272007

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I received notification code F23 from daimler Chrysler recalling my vehicle for a serious safety problem with ball joints this month. I first read about the recall in September of 2006, but it took six months for them to notify me. After receiving the notice, I called my Jeep dealer on 3/27/07. I was told that there were 170 people on the list ahead of me, and that the most they would fix was 10 vehicles per week. Next, I called daimler Chrysler's 800 number that was listed on the recall notice. After being placed on hold while they were trying to find another dealer, I was cut off. A recall that will take over one year to remedy is not acceptable! please let me know what I should do if I have an accident that kills someone while I am waiting!

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #41

Mar 272007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000 for the lower ball joint. The contact was 40th on the waiting list. She heard a popping noise while driving. The current mileage is 30,000. There had been no failures to date.

- Pikeville, KY, USA

problem #40

Mar 262007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
There was a recall on ball joints for Jeep Liberty....I called the dealership addy Chrysler in lexington, SC for appointment to fix the recall, they told me it would be 2-3 months because chryler would only allocate 3 sets of ball joints at a time to each dealer. What kind of secuitywas this. How many accidents have to happen before Chrysler will authorize enough parts for the recall.

- Swansea, SC, USA

problem #39

Mar 152007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty which has a safety recall on the lower ball joints. They have contacted 2 to 3 dealers to schedule the work, and they each stated that it would take six to eight weeks just to receive the parts, and then they will call them to schedule the repairs. She believed that NHTSA should be concerned and set a specific deadline in which to repair the vehiclesbecause someone could have a accident waiting for the parts to come in. The current mileage was 28000. There had been no failures to date.

- Townsend, DE, USA

problem #38

Mar 232007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
This complaint was about daimler Chrysler's failure to correct a recall in a timely manner concerning NHTSA recall campaign id number : 06V288000. This recall started on 9/11/06. I did not get a recall notice until over 6 months later. On 3/23/07, I called the dealer to schedule the repairs, and was told the earliest they were accepting appointments was June, 2007. Other Liberty vehicle's ball joint failures was due to the Virginia sate safety inspection. Because of this problem they had to take ball joints from other recalled customers in order to get the failed Liberty vehicles back on the road. Since this recall was for a potentially catastrophic failure something needed to be done to get these parts in so repairs could be made.

- Madison, VA, USA

problem #37

Mar 132007

Liberty

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
I have a 2005 Jeep Liberty which was recalled back in September 2006 due to lower ball joints.,my car was serviced back in October, and there was no mention of such recall at the time. Now that I received the notice by mail I called to have it replaced, and I then have to wait 6-8 weeks on a part that was a safety issue and could cause a death in my family, that problem was supposed to be corrected at that time of service, also the hand brake never worked the way it should since the car was mpurchased took vehicle on several ocassions to dealer, but they kept saying that nothing was wrong with it, very bad customer service, and I'm not the only one saying that, just have to listen to the people waiting on their vehicles while they were being serviced.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #36

Mar 232007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,800 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact called in reference to recall # 06V288000 regarding the lower ball joint. The dealer quoted a wait time of approximately four months before the vehicle could be serviced. The current and failure mileage were 35800. The consumer states was contacted on 4/13/07 regarding repair and date set for possible repairs on 4/16/07. Update 4/25/07

- Union City, PA, USA

problem #35

Mar 122007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I am writing in response to recalls that have been issued for my type of vehicle (2005 Jeep Liberty). I was never notified of the recall issued for lower ball joints for my vehicle. When I called customer service at daimler Chrysler to inquire why I was not notified, I was made to feel unimportant. I then called my local dealership and spoke to the service manager. He was aware of the recall, however never notified me that it needed to be repaired. I take my vehicle there for service every month or so since purchasing in June 2005. He claimed that the parts were back ordered and he would let me know when they would be in. That was on 3-12-07 and today is 3-22-07 and he has not returned my call. I am a new mother of a baby boy (3 months) and it does not make me or my husband happy that we are riding in a vehicle with a defect. I am being to think that the Jeep Liberty is a "lemon". after calling and complaining, I received a recall notice postmarked 3-16-07. What actions can I take from this point? I am very unhappy. I have mailed a letter of complaint to the dealership and daimler Chrysler. Please let me know how to proceed from this point. I am awaiting your response. The dealership I purchased from is as follows: Galeana Jeep 180 greystone blvd. Columbia, SC 29210 thank you for your assistance. Sincerely, robin tidwell

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #34

Mar 222007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notice 06V288000 regarding the lower ball joint. The dealer stated that it would be twenty weeks before the vehicle could be repaired.

- Hampton, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?