Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,422 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Mar 082007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000. The dealer stated that it would take 3 months for the lower ball joint to become available. The current mileage was 20,500. The contact had not experienced any problems with the vehicle at this time. The VIN was unavailable.

- Fallston, MD, USA

problem #32

Mar 192007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000 on 3/20/07. The dealer/manufacturer advised her that it would take approximately 1 month for the lower ball joint part to become available. The current mileage was 21,000 the contact has not experience any problems with the vehicle at this time. The dealer informed customer the lower ball joints were in good condition and could wait the month for replacement parts. Update 4/9

- Fort Meyers, FL, USA

problem #31

Mar 152007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,800 miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall O6V28800. The dealer/manufacturer advised the contact they would not have the lower ball joint part available until July. The current mileage was 11,800. Update 4/9

- Carlisle, PA, USA

problem #30

Mar 162007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact was concerned about the length of time itwas taking for daimler Chrysler to make the safety repairs to the lower ball joints. The contact stated that it was ridiculous that the dealership was only receiving 20 parts per week, and she was told that she would have to wait to have the safety repairs made about two months or more. The contact stated that as far as she knew had not had any problems with the vehicle.

- Terra, PA, USA

problem #29

Mar 142007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall #06V288000. The dealer and manufacturer stated that the part will not be available for approximately 3 months. The contact has not had any failures at this time. The current and failure mileage were 30000.

- Dalton, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #28

Mar 132007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have received a recall notice on my 2005 Jeep Liberty regarding the lower ball joints, a condition which, apparently can lead to a crash. I received the notice on 3/10/07, although the recall was apparently initiated in September of last year. Upon contacting my dealer, I am told that there is a ten week wait for the procedure. In other words, it will be at least nine months from the time Chrysler knew of this potentially life threatening problem to the time that I can get it fixed. This strikes me as a "(failure) to remedy this defect...within a reasonable time", and I think the company should be severely sanctioned.

- Duxbury, MA, USA

problem #27

Mar 122007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contacts was concerned that there were safety recalls on the vehicle, and two in particular on this vehicle, and she has not received any information stating that there was a safety recall on the vehicle. The contact stated that on 03/12/2007 she went on the internet and found that there were two safety recalls that applied to this vehicle. There had been no failures to date. The current mileage was 29,000. Update 05/04/07

- Newport, MN, USA

problem #26

Mar 132007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
As explained by service writer at Chrysler of culpeper, I can not get an appointment for a recall until the last week of may or early June because Chrysler is only allowing 2 repairs a week. Since I will be traveling on vacation before then, this does make be feel very safe. Is it really necessary to wait this long?

- Rhoadesville, VA, USA

problem #25

Mar 022007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty which had a safety recall #06V288000 for the lower ball joint. The contacts was not satisfied that it will take more than three months to repair the vehicle. The contact stated that when he made a left turn, tried to park, or to turn thevehicle around he heard a popping noise. The contact stated that he didn't know if thiswas related to the safety recall or not because he I was not a mechanic. The contact stated that he may not be able to take a planned trip because his wife was concerned about the safety repair that needed to be corrected. The contact stated that the weather was not an issue and that each time this has happened he was only driving 15 mph. The contact also was concerned that his vehicle only got 15 miles to the gallon of gasoline in the city. The current mileage was 31000.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #24

Jan 092006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
- the contact called regarding the 2005 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000 on 3/10/07. The contact stated that in January 2007 the vehicle failed the state inspection because of the lower ball joints. She called a daimler Chrysler dealer and she was put on a waiting list. The contact stated she did not know there was a recall on the lower ball joints. The contact stated on 1/9/07 she was traveling at 40 mph, the road conditions were dry and she lost control of the vehicle and hit a telephone pole. There was front end damage and damage to the front driver and passenger tires. There were no warning indicators before the crash. The contact was belted there were two serious injuries. The airbags deployed. The insurance company took pictures of the vehicle. A police report was taken. The contact had contacted daimler Chrysler, and was told they would look into the incident. The current and failure mileage were both 19000.

- West Bridgewater, MA, USA

problem #23

Mar 082007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact called regarding the 2005 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000. The dealer has advised him that they will not have the lower ball joint part for approximately 6 weeks. The contactwas concerned for his safety as hewas traveling in the vehicle. The mileage on the vehicle was 28000. There had been no failures to date.

- Groton, CT, USA

problem #22

Mar 052004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,551 miles
Safety recall F23 lower ball joints water may enter into the front suspension lower ball joints this can cause the ball joint to corrode and separate. Ball joint separation can result in a loss of steering control and could cause a crash w/O prior warning. Contacted dealer to get appointment on 3/5/07 told couldn't make an appointment for over a month or so back order on recall dealer only gets 3 a week.

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #21

Nov 302006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty and received a recall #06V288000 concerning suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint. The notice stated: Water can cause lower ball joint failure and loss of steering control. The contact attempted to schedule an appointment with the dealer, and was advised that the parts were on back order. The manufacturer advised him to contact another dealer that was1.5 hours away from the local dealer. The dealer stated the parts would be available in 6 weeks. The contact was aware of the safety risk involved due to the lower ball joints, and didn't feel safe driving the vehicle. The current mileage was 46,000. The contact wasn'texperiencing any failures at this time. Updated 03/30/07.

- Hummelstown, PA, USA

problem #20

Mar 052007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Safety recall F23 for lower ball joints on a 2005 Jeep Liberty; I went to the dealer to have the recall fixed. They put me on a list. I am number 143 I think. The list is so long the dealer said he can only get parts once a week to fix maybe 2 cars. I was told maybe by the end of the summer my number might be up. Does this seem like it can be fixed within a reasonable amount of time? the bottom of the recall notice reads we are concerned for your safety (from Chrysler)

- Salem, NJ, USA

problem #19

Feb 202007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,400 miles
- the contact called regarding the 2005 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000. The contact was on a waiting list for the lower ball joint. The contact had been waiting for approximately 2 months. The contact had steering problems when the vehicle was in the four wheel drive mode. The current mileage was approximately 7400.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #18

Feb 012006

Liberty

  • miles
2005 Jeep Liberty sport with concerns about recall on lower ball joint* the consumer was upset that know one at her local dealership mentioned the recall on the lower ball joints, despite the fact she had been there several tires to have her vehicle serviced. The emergency brake did not hold, the dealer adjusted the parking brake. The vehicle would pull to the left, the dealer performed an alignment.

- Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #17

Jan 082007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Received safety recall ltr F23 - lower ball joints for my 2005 Jeep Liberty on January 8, 2007. Found out that recall actually began September 11, 2006. Called 4 different dealers in my area to schedule repairs, 6-8 month wait at hayes Chrysler Jeep, 6 month wait at buford mall of ga Jeep, atlanta Jeep Dodge stated that they were not receiving parts to fix the vehicles from the company, premier Chrysler Jeep 6 month wait. Ridiculous when the letter states "ball joint separation can result in a loss of steering control and could cause a crash without prior warning". I made contact with daimler Chrysler - which stated they could not help getting the vehicle fixed.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #16

Jan 092007

Liberty

  • miles
- the contact received recall L 06V288000 for the lower ball joint on a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact called to schedule an appointment for the repair, and she was number 31 on the list. The contact had safety concerns about driving the vehicle. The contact stated the driver could feel somethingwas wrong when driving the vehicle.

- Summberfield, SC, USA

problem #15

Dec 262006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I had my vehicle in for an oil change at the dealer who sold me my 2005 Jeep Liberty and was informed at that time that there was a recall on my vehicle. I was not notified previous to that. That is not my major complaint. My area of concern is that I had to put my name on a list and wait until parts are available. The recall is for ball joint and while it could lead to a very serious accident Chrysler seems unconcerned. My dealer told me that Chrysler sends out 20,000 letters per week to notify customers of the problem but only produces 1,000 units that will rectify the problem and make the vehicle safe to drive. I feel that Chrysler should be doing everything that they can to protect their customers. I feel very unsafe in my own vehicle.

- East Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #14

Dec 162006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
- on 12-16-06 the contac, drove vehicle on the highway at 65 mph and found an obstcle in the road. While trying to avoid the obstcle swerved from left to the right and lost control of vehicle. It struck a car, as well as a guard rail. The contact felt that the loss of control was due to the ball joints separating, causing him to lose control of the steering. Also, the contac stated that he never got NHTSA recall 06V288000. The contact stated that he could not provide copy of police report, but, he could provide pictures of vehicle if needed.

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?