Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,414 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Liberty transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #36

Jun 022011

Liberty

  • 45,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty diesel crd. The contact stated that the vehicle caught on fire twice, in June 2011 and again five weeks later, for the same related failure. The contact stated that the fires were caused by the transmission vent that released fluid onto the exhaust pipe. The transmission failed and while driving, caused the fluids to leak and cause a fire under the hood. There were no injuries during either fire. A fire report was filed. The insurance company was contacted and the vehicle was towed to the dealer. The manufacturer was contacted and a complaint was filed. The failure was a reported as a mechanical problem and the vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 45,500 and the current mileage was 46,000.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #35

Mar 312011

Liberty

  • 85,100 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start after several attempts. The vehicle was then towed to a local mechanic where he was advised that the ignition switch and steering column would need to be replaced. There was no electrical current passing through the starter and the mechanic advised that there were aluminum pieces that fractured in the steering column and caused the failure. The vehicle was not repaired because the parts needed were on backorder. The contact believed that the manufacturer was ignoring the issue which he stated was a severe safety issue. In addition, the contact stated that the transmission was replaced twice since owning the vehicle. The failure mileage was 85,100. The VIN was not available.

- Los Angels, CA, USA

problem #34

Sep 152010

Liberty

  • 50,000 miles
2005 Jeep Liberty shift head button broken (50,000 mi) shift is moved by small force because shift button is stuck in pushed position not coming bck to locking position so it dangerous gearshift change to different position unexpectedly by little force while driving.

- Tarrytown, NY, USA

problem #33

Aug 092010

Liberty

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Jeep Liberty, automatic, with 71K miles. Traveling on freeway with cruise control on when sudden loud "thud" followed by forward jerking motion. Disengaged cruise control. Was able to continue to destination. On return, Jeep started but will not move in any gear. Towed to repair center. Diagnosis showed that the transmission failed but not due to lack of maintenance or driving habits. Transmission just failed. Replacement transmission is on backorder from Jeep for two weeks as of this writing. I will write to Chrysler as transmission are not to just fail after 71K miles. This is a defect that Chrysler needs to acknowledge.

- Auburn, WA, USA

problem #32

Jan 282010

Liberty

  • 83,000 miles
2005 Jeep Liberty diesel with transmission problems due to torque converter. Jeep replaced the first one at 28,000 mi and I am replacing the 2nd at 83,000 mi. I am replacing it because between 25 and 45 mph the RPM's constantly vary by 200 to 500 RPM as well as occasionally a shifting shudder occurs which can cause rupture of the tc and subsequently destruction of the transmission at time of acceleration. I had to do something to avoid being stranded on a hill somewhere.

- Cambria, CA, USA

problem #31

Dec 302009

Liberty

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty diesel engine purchased new April 2005. While attempting to park the vehicle he could smell a burning odor. Upon exiting the vehicle, he noticed smoke coming from both the driver's and passenger's side rear wheels. He then attempted to move the vehicle, but it would not engage into drive mode. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and he was awaiting the diagnosis of the vehicle. He speculated that his failures are identical to the description referenced in recall campaign id number 06V341000 (power train:automatic transmission). No repairs were made to the vehicle to date. The failure and current mileages were under 40,000. The VIN was not available.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #30

Dec 122008

Liberty

  • 26,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 55 mph on normal road conditions, a one axle trailer was attached to the vehicle. The vehicle exhibited an extremely low power response. In addition, the fuel mileage was poor. The failure occurred without warning. In 2007, the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 05V460000 (power train:automatic transmission); however, it has not corrected the issue addressed in the safety defect. The vehicle has not been repaired. The contact stated that the horsepower was reduced after the recall remedy was performed on the vehicle. The failure mileage was 26,000 and the current mileage was unavailable.

- Gwinn, MI, USA

problem #29

Feb 042008

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,600 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The vehicle was parked in the driveway on a slight incline and the engine was turned off. An hour and a half later, the vehicle rolled backwards into the street. The contact pulled the vehicle back into the driveway. The vehicle has not been inspected by a dealer. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 05V460000 (power train: Automatic transmission). The current and failure mileages were 27,600. Updated 03-04-08

- Longmont , CO, USA

problem #28

Jun 212007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. While the vehicle was in the park position, it began to roll in reverse and struck a small tree. The contact was able to drive the vehicle to the dealer. The rear window will need to be replaced and other damages are present. The contact believes that the failure is related to safety recall # 05V460000 (power train: Automatic transmission). The current and failure mileages were 10,000.

- Mundelein, IL, USA

problem #27

Aug 112005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,305 miles
Constant problems with shifting, acceloration, transmission issues, A/C alternator etc.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #26

Mar 122007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contacts was concerned that there were safety recalls on the vehicle, and two in particular on this vehicle, and she has not received any information stating that there was a safety recall on the vehicle. The contact stated that on 03/12/2007 she went on the internet and found that there were two safety recalls that applied to this vehicle. There had been no failures to date. The current mileage was 29,000. Update 05/04/07

- Newport, MN, USA

problem #25

Feb 222007

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty diesel. Without a cause or warning, and while driving 70 mph, the vehicle slowed down from high to low gear to 35 mph. The last failure was on 02/22/2007. The contact stated that the last 3 times the failure occur the roads were either icy or covered with snow. The manufacturer was aware that the failure was due to the computer controlled transmission, and although there have been campaigns, the failure continued to exist. The contact considered replacing the transmission. The failure was a safety hazard and a nuisance. There were related failures listed on the internet. The current and failure mileage was 56,000. The transmssion abruptly shifted into first gear. Updated 03/19/07.

- Jeddo, MI, USA

problem #24

Dec 062006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,080 miles
I bought a new 2005 Jeep Liberty from Chrysler. It has less than 30,000 miles on it (warranty is for 36,0000/3years). I have always kept it in good condition, and have done all maintenance (oil changes, tire rotation, etc.).a few of my oil changes were done at an oil shop, even at the dealer. So, out of the blue (no warning lights, or "strange" sounds previous to this) as soon as I started it, I heard a funny "clanking" sound. I got in, figured IżżD be cautious, and take it around the block.when I put my foot on the gas, the "clanking" noise increased. So, I parked it and had it towed to the original dealership. First, they looked at and said they weren't sure what the problem was, but would have the engine tech. Look at it. He finally did (after 3 days of hearing nothing) and said that I had a żżbad valveż. then they called me a day or so later and said that my "engine head" was bad and that the entire engine would have to be replaced. I asked what the cause of this and they said that my oil was sludged up so badly that it knocked the engine apart! not to mention, wouldnżżT the first tech. Have noticed something so obvious"?" now they are saying they want me to pay the $6,000 to replace the engine even though it is still under warranty! the only way they will cover it, is if I bring all of my oil change receipts in. Well, don't have all of my oil change receipts! nowhere in the warranty book does it state that you must keep all receipts! I've contacted Chrysler via email, and they said, "we concur with the dealer...ż so now I'm at a stand still and very frustrated! I'm a single mom that has special needs child, and need my car to take him to the dr. Frequently. I don't know what to do. But I do know that I'm angry and feel that this is unfair, dishonest! according to my reseach this "oil sludge" problem seems to be something that Chrysler has said to many customers. Particularly with 3.7 engines of 2002-06 Jeep.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #23

Aug 112006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,528 miles
1.a) ck engine lt came on, heavy black smoke, Jeep would stall, fuel mil decreased, B) A/C quit working, C) Jeep violently jerked while accelerating/braking, Jeep would lurch after coming to a complete stop, Jeep stalled during turns and in middle of intersections leaving the Jeep stuck in the path of oncoming traffic, D) safety recall of lower ball joints, E) while out of state, driving home at pm on highway, the elect throttle and battery warning lights started flashing, electronics and lights on Jeep failed, Jeep stalled on highway and would not restart, F) after P/U the Jeep up from the shop for a new starter and battery, within 30 miles, same warning lights appeared, electr quit, and Jeep again stalled in traffic and would not restart, rear hatch opened and windows stuck down 2.a) wouldn't run properly, unsafe to drive B)A/C quit C)not safe operate Jeep for 5 days until auth dealer could take in thejeep D) recall replacement E) had to have Chrysler tow to shop (first site didn't even work on diesels, second didn't have a certified diesel tech in) F) had to have Chrysler tow to shop 3.a)egr etc replaced but in shop for 5 days due to backorder on parts B) transducer switch replaced, refrigerant refilled; safety backup switch on A/C not replaced because part was on backorder, part installed a month later C) authorized dealer stated diagnostics showed transmission failure to include front pump, seals, and other misc. Parts with the torque converter out of range, service bullentin issued by Chrysler indicated parts were on backorder, parts installed after 10 days in the shop D) lower ball joint kit installed, in shop and unable to drive for 1 day E) installed new starter, let Jeep sit for 1 day and was not able to start, put in new battery and stated Jeep was fixed, unable to drive Jeep 7 days F) Jeep still there, no power, may be the alternator but because battery is dead, the failure history is unretrievable, not able to diag problems other thean prob electrical.

- Mt Sterling, OH, USA

problem #22

Nov 172006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles
***unsafe condition with 2005 Jeep Liberty limited crd transmission***** due to failure of transmission to properly lock-up at overdrive at 50-55 mph, the vehicle shudders, and has on several occasions caused the vehicle to stall. This is a very serious condition that is not being addressed by the manufacturer. There are only 11,000 diesel Jeep liberties in production, and I think a recall is necessary immediately to prevent serious injury as the 2005 and 2006 models begin to experience an increase in failures.

- Lafayette, CO, USA

problem #21

Nov 142006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,250 miles
2005 Jeep Liberty crd 4X4 vehicle began shuddering upon acceleration. Would hesitate and bog down when slowed from speed then resuming acceleration. Very unexpectedly. More than one occasion while crossing lanes of traffic. Dealer mis-diagnosed first time, brought back as problem got worse. Dealer diagnosed as failed torque converter and failed fluid pump in automatic transmission. Delay on getting repair parts due to common problem with vehicle and transmission.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #20

Nov 152005

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
: the contact stated while driving 15 mph, the vehicle had difficulties accelerating. The vehicle was taken to the service dealer, who determined it was a transmission problem. The contact attempted to get assistance from the service dealer several times, but the parts were unavailable.

- Clarksdale, MS, USA

problem #19

Oct 282006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Jeep Liberty crd has intermittent and unpredictable issues with "shuddering" and "bucking" both on the highway and at low speed or stop. The vehicle sometimes dies unexpectedly at intersections, or hesitates when accelerating such as turning from stop at an intersection. The automatic transmission "gear hunts" between 50 and 60 mph, causing the vehicle to shudder and lurch unpredictably. Most notably dangerous problem is that of the vehicle dying when the brake is stepped on while approaching an intersection, or dying when pulling away from an intersection. This situation could cause an accident, as the vehicle will stop without the brake being applied. The vehicle has been taken to the dealership 3 times for the same trouble. The hesitation problems seems to disappear for a time, but always return. The transmission shudder and "gear hunting" have never ceased. The dealer has repeatedly suggested that it is "turbo lag" or the "filters need to be replaced." Filter replacement has done nothing.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #18

May 132006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,500 miles
My 2005 Jeep Liberty diesel had a catastrophic transmission failure on the drive home from the purchase from the dealer. I bought it used with 18,000 miles and during the drive home I had irregular shifting followed by high engine revs and then a loss of power on the highway with multiple warning lights (almost as if I had lost a gear). After taking it to the dealer the first time, they replaced an internal component in the transmission, I drove it home (approx. 30 mi.) and had the same thing happen. The second time the dealer said that the originally, they did not replace enough of the trans. To fix the problem. I ended up needing a new torque converter and various other internal transmission components. This must have been quite the popular repair because the dealer had my car for 3 1/2 weeks as the part was on Chrysler backorder. Sometimes the transmission still seems awkward and I get an occasional shudder however, the occurrences vary and it is almost impossible to predict or pinpoint when something strange happens.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #17

Sep 212006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,400 miles
1. random event, vehicle start after overnight rest (min 8 hrs), cold start driveway. Not affected by ambient temp or season. This has occurred since vehicle was purchased new and randomly happens once per week on the average. 2. vehicle started, either backed from garage or parking lot driveway, placed in drive and drive away initiated until stopped at intersection. Transmission locks up and stalls engine at /or in intersection. Since this is random, work around safety measures cannot be predicted to provide safe entry into intersection, hence sometimes we are in the middle of an intersection with a stalled engine. 3. vehicle has been to delivered to dealership purchased from. There has been 4 visits/attempts to repair with no avail. Meeting with dealership resulted in dealership explaining they don't know what to do, nor does the Jeep tech rep "john stick rod", and they have no solutions from Jeep auburn hills service organization since they claim this is not a problem to their knowledge. We have submitted other internet acknowledgements of this problem to the dealership in order to educate them of the availability of this common problem on Jeep Liberty crd diesel models.

- Breese, IL, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?