Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,297 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments

problem #16

Oct 202013


  • 30,200 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact stated that while the vehicle was stationary, the rear passenger's side window independently and partially opened, preventing the interior and exterior door locks to unlatch when accessed with the key fob or manually. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 30,200.

- Hampden, ME, USA

problem #15

Mar 062012

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact stated that vehicle would surge forward when shifting into any gear and the vehicle would also loose power abnormally. The egr (exhaust gas recirculation) valve melted, causing a burning smell to release into the vehicle. In addition, the gear shifter would shift out of park independently, causing the vehicle to roll away. The contact also stated that the rear passenger side door handle became defective, making it impossible to open the vehicle door from the interior of the vehicle and the ABS, esp and traction control lights were illuminated on the instrument panel. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer were notified of the failures. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 101,000.....updated 06/18/12 the consumer also stated there was a problem with the control arm on the vehicle and because of the widespread problem a recall as issued. The consumer was then informed the recall was old, and her VIN was not included. The vehicle would loose power suddenly after driving forward, the windows would make a dragging noise, even though the dealer replace, the wheel speed sensor was replaced, the interior door handle on the passenger side was inoperative. The check engine light illuminated several times. Updated 06/22/12 updated 6/25/12 updated 06/29/12

- Canon City, CO, USA

problem #14

Aug 132011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the rear driver side door would not open from the inside or outside of the vehicle. The electronic key fob was used but would not allow the doors to be opened. In addition, the rear driver side window fell down into the door panel and could not be closed. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was advised that the regulator in the door had failed. The failure and current mileages were 32,000. Updated 09/21/11 the consumer stated the door lock would not work from the inside. Updated 11/02/11

- Diamond Springs, CA, USA

problem #13

May 072011


  • 63,345 miles


Key stuck in ignition. Steering wheel turns, shifter works, keys will not come out of ignition.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #12

Mar 302011


  • 40,000 miles
Rear driver's side power window regulator broke after only 40,000 miles on a 2006 Jeep Liberty limited 4X4. Window received only light used, was not used while frozen with ice. This failure results from a plastic part that is specified in the regulator design that is not durable enough for this application. This failure renders the vehicle unsecure as the window either falls down on its own or can be pushed down from the outside by hand. It also causes a safety issue as the window can fall down unexpectedly. This is especially an issue during winter or storm conditions. Incurred $250 in repair costs. Replacement parts have the same design flaw and can be expected fail again in similarly short peroids of time.

- Hastings, MN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Sep 202010


  • miles
It is common that 2006 Jeep Liberty window regulators fail frequently. I have had all 4 of my windows fail; two of the windows have failed a second time following dealer repair. Although the rear windows are rarely used, both have fallen completely into the door while I was driving. This is clearly a dangerously flawed design that should be corrected by Jeep/Chrysler.

- Walling, TN, USA

problem #10

Aug 312010


  • 120,000 miles


Key stuck in ignition- shifter failure.

- Goleta, CA, USA

problem #9

Dec 182009


  • miles
2006 Jeep Liberty, owned since new in late 2005 currently 75,000 miles. All windows have broken at least once, some more than once, I have lost count. First three times fixed under warranty. Last four or five times fixed at my expense.

- San Angelo, TX, USA

problem #8

Feb 112009


  • miles
The window don't work and we have to tape them shut because we can't afford to fix them will this be a recall.

- San Cristobal, NM, USA

problem #7

Mar 272010


  • 50,002 miles
Window regulators break with normal use. This has created a financial stress and safety issue. My doors will not open. I was informed by a dealership that door opening mechanism gets interfered with when the regulator breaks. They were able to get the windows to stay up, as I cannot afford the replacement. But both rear doors will not open from the inside, and the windows will not function.

- Royse City, TX, USA

problem #6

Mar 242010


  • 45,000 miles


I have a 2006 Jeep Liberty, the front drivers window and the rear drivers window have both fallen while driving. I currently have them ty wrapped up. This is a temporary fix but also a serious safety concern as the driver would have a problem with egress in an accident. Chrysler will not address this issue, this is obviously a factory defect based on the amount of complaints, this needs some attention!

- Wayne, MI, USA

problem #5

Aug 212009


  • 50,000 miles
I bought a 2006 Jeep Liberty limited on 8-20-09 in excellent condition with approximately 50,000 miles. Before I even drove the car off the dealerships lot, the rear driver's-side window/window regulator failed rendering the window inoperable. Dealership did not have part and had to seal in up position so as not to fall, while part is being ordered. Upon extensive research on the internet on various highly respected car review/rating sites, I have learned that the 2006 Jeep Liberty has a known defect in quality of window regulator design and material used which causes windows to drop into doors or cease operating routinely on average of every 2-3 months. Yesterday while driving, my rear passenger window dropped while I was driving 65 mph on a major highway in traffic. I was subsequently startled to the point I swerved, and narrowly missed hitting another car which would have caused a multiple car collision on a major interstate. I have since taped my window in the "up" position until I can resolve this issue with dealer. Dealership has informed me that they will only cover this first replacement/repair, and that I will be responsible for future window regulator repairs of $500 each. This is absolutely unacceptable. A company/dealership should stand 100% behind their product and should certainly address potential safety issues resulting from something as critical as this. The known window regulator failure could cause accidents, bodily injury, theft/vandalism issues, and depreciation and degradation of vehicle interior due to weather damage. I will be filing complaints with state attorney general and car manufacturer/corporate headquarters. A safety recall should immediately be issued, and these window regulators should be redesigned with something other than plastic that has proven to repeatedly fail. While certainly an inconvenience of time, and a financial drain and stress to consumer, this is most assuredly a very serious danger to occupants & other drivers.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #4

Jun 112009


  • 47,600 miles
Locks continuously unlocked and locked, which drained the battery. Car would not start or even turn over. Remote keyless entry did not work. (identical to the 2004 recall).

- La Mirada, CA, USA

problem #3

Apr 062009


  • 66,000 miles
The regulator motor of the rear driver side window malfunctioned and the window slid down the track. Consequential damage of this defect caused the door latch to brake, making the door inoperable. The consequence is a safety hazard if an accident or rollover required the passenger to exit the automobile. The failure of regulator electric window motors is commonplace on Chrysler products, whereas, these occurrences are all over the internet. The dealer fixed the problem at a cost of $600. The vehicle was out of Chrysler warranty, and the extended warranty insurance carrier would only cover the motor. They did not cover the broken door latch, or the window glass. After several conversations with Chrysler, they admitted to having a running change in the engineering of the electric window assembly, and you cannot buy the regulator motor separately. You must buy the glass window and the entire assembly together. I believe the history of this failure warrants a recall by the manufacturer for safety concerns with the door latch breaking as a result of bad engineering.

- Ellwood City, PA, USA

problem #2

Jul 042008


  • 30,000 miles
Numerous mechanical problems all dash lights come on at once between 15 - 50 mph dealer replaced body control module lights still come on now has more problems after repair by dealer. Several recalls on this leased vehicle running up miles back 2 dealer rear window fall down repaired motor tried 2 quit 3 times could be dangerous in traffic seems it loses prime on fuel system. Also excessive tire wear on front tires had it aligned myself was out from factory 10 deg. I have no confidence in dealer 2 fix since I have more problems after last visit. Horn doesn't sound on key pad door lock and fog lights stay on at highbeam after electrical work. Vehicle has locked me out when I shut doors 4 no apparent reason switch keys in ignition and motor running.

- Elkton , KY, USA

problem #1

May 312008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 66,600 miles
Back hatch door doesn't open anymore, latch jams.

- Waterloo, IL, USA

Not what you are looking for?