Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,724 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Jun 042013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received important safety recall N46/NHTSA 13V-252 about a year ago. Have inquired with the dealer several times and not getting anywhere with the inspection of oem trailer hitch. They keep telling me that parts not available yet. I am very concerned about rear end collision and fuel leakage.

- Minnetonka, MN, USA

problem #16

Dec 272013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure), however the remedy part was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #15

Apr 292014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he attempted to have his vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Farmington , MO, USA

problem #14

Feb 062014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline and structure) but was advised by the dealer that the part needed to complete the repair was not available. The contact received the notice months ago. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide a reasonable timeframe for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Winchester, MA, USA

problem #13

Jan 252014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed was not available to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the remedy part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 06/10/14

- Bayville, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Nov 202013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Whitewater, CO, USA

problem #11

Sep 232013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number:13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline and structure) and stated that the parts were not available. The contact received the notification three months prior. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cassadaga, NY, USA

problem #10

Mar 202014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before March of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #9

Mar 062014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
TL- the contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she attempted to have her vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should be a remedy available before March of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #8

Dec 022013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified and they were unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Carrollton, OH, USA

problem #7

Dec 182013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the remedy part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- La Jolla, CA, USA

problem #6

Jan 012014

Liberty

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The manufacturer advised the contact that the approval for the recall remedy had not yet been received therefore, the part was not available for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #5

Jun 102013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
This was the first time that we had filled the tank up on our 2006 Jeep Liberty since we purchased it on June 7, 2013. While standing at the pump waiting for the tank to fill up, the tank started overflowing with gas. I had gas all over me, the car, and the ground. I wrote it off as being a problem with the pump. 1 week later I go to a different pump to fill it up, and it happens again. So I called the dealership that services my vehicles and explained the problem and we took it in for them to look at. They said that this is a common problem but Jeep will not fix the issue. I started looking on Jeep forums and have found quite a few instances of this same problem on the Jeep Liberty and these people have also filed claims to the NHTSA. The only way for the problem to be fixed is for the tank to be replaced because there is a check valve in the tank that is causing this. This is a very costly repair as I have called a couple of dealerships around in the are with the tank alone costing over $1,400 dollars. This is a known issue that Jeep refuses to fix. It is a safety issue due to a manufacturing defect.

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

problem #4

May 012013

Liberty

  • 90,000 miles
We were driving down the road and we went to roll down the rear window and it fell into the door and wouldn't go up or down. When we stopped to attempt to fix the window the door will not open at all.

- Springboro, OH, USA

problem #3

Jun 012010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
My 2006 Jeep Liberty has a serious problem with the window regulators and lift plates. June 1, 2010, was the first regulator to go out. The second one went out shortly after that. Now the first one has dropped again. The first time, I paid over $400 for the repair. The second one was covered by Chrysler completely, and they reimbursed me $333 for the first repair when the second repair was done. They are going to "consider" reimbursing me for this third one, but I have to jump through all of their hoops for it to be considered. This is a serious problem that is affecting many many Liberty owners. There should be an extended warranty on these regulators and plates. My daughter is driving this car and should not have to be concerned with whether her windows are going to stay up. This is a serious safety issue. NHTSA should demand that Chrysler either recall these or at bare minimum put an extended warranty on all Liberty for these parts. Ugh. This is ridiculous. Oh, and we bought the car used in November 2009. For all we know, multiple regulators might have been put on this car in its first 36,000 miles before we bought it.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #2

Feb 012009

Liberty

  • 50,000 miles
The power windows in my 2006 Jeep Liberty have a design defect. The original design includes a plastic part which breaks and allows the window to fall down into the door. My driver-side passenger window has been held up with tape for the past 12 months. I recently had to pay $250 to have the driver's-side window regulator replaced. Researching online I have seen incidents where owners have had to have the same window replaced two or three times at $300-$500 per incident.mopar body service bulletin 23-008-09 and 23-014-08 detail the issue and chysler's correction. Please let me know (jgcraven@kc.rr.com) if this is subject to a NHTSA safety recall or of I should start a class-action lawsuit to correct this defect. There is an aftermarket kit which replaces the faulty plastic part with a steel part at www.steigerperformance.com.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #1

May 162006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,628 miles
: the contact stated after having a dvd player installed in the vehicle by the dealer, leaking occurred between the driver and passenger side seats while parked or in motion consistently after or during a rain storm. The leaking created mold and the vehicle was taken to the dealer on four separate occasions but could not find the source of the problem. The manufacturer was contacted and expressed that the dealership needed to repair the vehicle. The water damage was covered under warranty. The contact received a letter from the manufacturer that stated that there was nothing more the dealer or manufacturer could do. The vehicle was not driven since the incident due to mold infestation. The dealer and manufacture refused to provide additional assistance. 08/29/06 plastic trim piece on dash up by windshield popping up on passenger side. Map light lens coming out and dome light replaced.

- Millersville, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?