If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,652 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #46

Jul 262015

Liberty

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The lower ball joint broke causing the frame and wheel to separate. The frame fell onto the tire. The rim was sliced completely in half. And the brand new tire was busted. It caused us to loose control of the vehicle. The vehicle feared of the road and landed ina ditch. We had to have a tow truck pick up the vehicle. It cost us 300 dollars to have the vehicle brought home. After getting home we found out the piece that broke, the lower ball joint, was part of the Jeep recall in 2006. I called Chrysler and they did admit that part was a recall fix in 2006. We are now waiting on Chrysler to call us back to let us know what we are suppose to do next. We are without a vehicle.

- Leakesville, MS, USA

problem #45

Jun 262015

Liberty

  • 94,700 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, there was a squeaking sound that came from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and was diagnosed that the lower ball joints had excessive rust and fractures and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 06V288000 (suspension). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 94,700.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #44

Jul 142015

Liberty

  • 44,567 miles
While driving there is a rambling sound coming from the front of my front of my vehicle, when I press on the breaks there is a grinding noise, I have taken my vehicle to southern Chrysler Jeep of greenbrier located in chesapeake, va and they advise the unit need front upper control arms and lower ball joints. According to contacting Chrysler the manufacture I was advise the part was inital change in 2007 and the current part (lower ball joints) is currently on back order. According to the dealer/service facility they stated there is approximate 500 lower ball joints on back order, I have contacted Chrysler via web chat and they confirm part is not available. I have express my fear of driving the vehicle due to issue and ask to be compensate for a car rental in which I was decline. I am complaining due to part stock availability is un-acceptable and I fear of driving this unsafe vehicle

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #43

Jul 122015

Liberty

  • 75,445 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Leaving driveway moving about 5mph there was a loud bang, checking the noise I found the driver side lower ball joint bolt broke in half.had to tow vehicle to repair shop.

- Daytona, FL, USA

problem #42

Jun 072015

Liberty

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph attempting to make a left turn, the vehicle stopped independently without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the lower ball joint needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 06V288000 (suspension). The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Craig, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #41

Feb 162015

Liberty

  • 115,000 miles
A large noise followed by deteriorated control steering my vehicle. After forcing it into a parking lot, a view of underneath front drivers side revealed a large metal object broken and jammed into my wheel. This sounds like the recall #09E039000 or recall id # 91163. Local dealership states my VIN is not in this recall and cannot fix it under the recall. My make, model and year of vehicle matches the recall and I think this calls for further investigation into additional vehicles.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #40

Feb 192012

Liberty

  • 74,760 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The lower control arm and ball joint failed per F 23 recall of Jeep Chrysler and damaged the tire and rim which had to be replaced. We filed a claim with Chrysler customer assistance on Aug 20, 2014 and they were processing it and told us they would reimburse the $1146.83 not later than Oct 20, 2014. We had not heard anything from ccassistance so we telephoned today. Brad, the agent, could not find any record and also said that the recall was completed and that there would not be any reimbursement to us for the repairs we had to make. That is not in Accord with the recall and furthermore, the lower control arm and ball joints failed again on August 18, 2014 and the safford Chrysler Jeep Dodge of springfield Virginia replaced the control arms and ball joints on both the left and right side under a F23 recall warranty at no charge to us. We request that NHTSA contact Chrysler and require them to reimburse us for the $1146.83 which we paid out of pocket.

- Falls Church, VA, USA

problem #39

Dec 012014

Liberty

  • 132,000 miles
While driving veh. Slowy went over a speed bump heard a loud bang. Upon inspection noticed that rear trailing / control arm. Had separated / rusted. Unable to drive at speed or control steering. Did not crash though.

- Gastonia , NC, USA

problem #38

Dec 022014

Liberty

  • 61,600 miles
We are the original owners of the Jeep Liberty 2006 that had a recall on the ball joints and stabilizer bars in 2006. Of course, we had the vehicle repaired when the Jeep was only a few months old. It may have had less than 1000 miles on it at the time. When visiting the dealer on Dec 2, 2014 for an oil change and tire balance. I was informed that the ball joints on driver's and passenger's side of Jeep were in need of replacement at a cost of $1100 (we only have 61,600 miles on Jeep) I was shocked that a vehicle that has been garage kept and only driven by the mom of the family around town of about 6000 miles a year could incur such a drastic problem. This is a valid safety issue with the integrity of the recall. The repair should have a lifetime warranty or at least 100K miles. There is absolutely no way, these ball joints disintegrated without being faulty from the being. My question lies if my vehicle was really taken care of, or was it just looked at because it was brand new at the time. Our Liberty has had full synthetic oil changes and treated with the utmost care. So it really saddens me that Chrysler has such "safety" issues. Of all things that can go wrong with a car, when it refers to a previous recall, it's obvious the issue was never really addressed.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #37

Nov 142014

Liberty

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while entering a parking space, the front lower ball joint became fractured. As a result, the frame came down and rested on the front driver's side wheel. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 06V288000 (suspension). However, the parts were unavailable to remedy the vehicle. The dealer was made aware of the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 104,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Ruma, IL, USA

problem #36

Sep 242014

Liberty

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Zubecks Chrysler/Ford in oscoda mi 48750 refuses to fix Jeep with new hitch as stated in recall there service dept has been screwing up my Jeep everytime I bring it in for repair or recall and now wont do the recall

- Oscoda, MI, USA

problem #35

Apr 082014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact mentioned that when the steering wheel was turned right or left, the vehicle would make a loud popping noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the lower ball joints needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and made the contact aware that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 06V288000 (suspension). The failure mileage was 141,000. Updated 10/22/2014 the consumer stated the vehicle was dangerous to drive. The suspension was loud and began to turn slightly. Updated 4/2/2015

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #34

Jul 152007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I was in stop-and-go commute traffic traveling approximately 15 mph. Traffic started moving a little faster when the car in front of me brake hard, I pressed hard on the brake pedal and my Jeep lurched forward before braking hitting the car in front of me. The road was dry and there were no skid marks.the way the Jeep lurched forward it felt like the brake pads were worn out or the rotors were warped or the shocks were faulty. We had bought the Jeep Liberty new less than one year earlier. I was able to drive the Jeep home. That was a Friday and by Monday my stomach became so distended I could barely move. I had been in contact with kaiser advice nurses throughout the weekend and that Monday I was hospitalized. 2 weeks in the hospital resulted in the first of 3 surgeries that changed my life and my families life permanently. Surgery 1 was an illeostomy in July 2007, surgery 2 was J-pouch surgery in December 2007. Surgery 3 was abdominal reconstruction surgery in September 2013. I have permanent nerve damage in my stomach, painful scar tissues throughout my upper torso, a degenerating disc in my lower back and ongoing abdominal and hip pain. The physical and emotional toll this has had on my family is tremendous. My 2006 Jeep Liberty has been determined to be a lemon by the state of California.

- Pinole, CA, USA

problem #33

Jul 042014

Liberty

  • 128,000 miles
Front lower drivers side ball joint broke while driving, was told by mechanic that all upper and lower ball joints are bad and need to be replaced..as well as rear suspension replacement.

- Snyder, OK, USA

problem #32

Jun 292014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 128,000 miles
The wheel came off of my 2006 Jeep Liberty renegade as I was driving in a residential neighborhood, I was told by a mechanic the ball joint came off and broke in half.

- Snyder, OK, USA

problem #31

Apr 152014

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • 194,700 miles
As I had just exited the Florida's turnpike North bound at kendall drive in miami and attempted to enter the town and country mall at about 20 mph, the front passenger side ball joint of my 2006 crd 4X4 Jeep Liberty came apart causing the vehicle to lock the front wheel as the steering arm with part of the ball joint enter and landed inside the rim and the tire, perforating it and preventing the tire from turning causing the Jeep to almost buck like a horse sending us head first towards the windshield. Thankfully, it did not happen 45 seconds earlier when my family and I were on the express way driving 65 mph...it would have been catastrophic! this equipment/part failure is known as recall F-23 by Chrysler/Jeep and they are well aware of it!! I was never aware of such recall !! Chrysler/Jeep, after one month at their dealer continue to refuse to fix the collateral damage on the vehicle (rim, etc) created by their defective part!! using as an excuse that the factory warranty is over when it has nothing to do with that. Chrysler sent an "independent" inspector to view the vehicle. This "independent" inspector's bill is paid by Chrysler. This equipment failure is extremely dangerous!! and could be fatal!!! please help!! at this time I only want my Jeep fixed properly, and that Chrysler honors the traditional Jeep quality and commitment to their customers!! a letter has been sent to Chrysler claims after multiple attempts to solve this problem in person and via telephone. No results!! updated 06/04/14

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #30

Mar 292014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 70,816 miles
We purchased a used 2006 Jeep Liberty last year. Last night we went to drive it up the road and the right front passenger side tire disengaged from the steering knuckle and the ball joint disconnected. Luckily enough we weren't driving very fast otherwise it could have caused injury considering the tire is now almost at a 90 degree angle and we can't move the car. I understand the statute of limitations is 8 years after the original purchase date, I would like to know if I can get a manufacturer repair done free of charge, and would rather have it done at a dealer knowing they would have the correct parts. Normally my 1 year old is in the car, luckily he wasn't last night, but would like to know if I am entitled to repairs.

- Williamsburg, OH, USA

problem #29

Mar 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the vehicle was traveling approximately 35 mph when the front passenger's side lower ball joint suddenly became fractured. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 06V288000 (suspension). The failure mileage was 119,000.

- Windermere, FL, USA

problem #28

Feb 262014

Liberty

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, he heard a loud noise as the vehicle came to a complete stop. The contact mentioned that after inspecting the vehicle he noticed that the front passenger's side bolt joint was fractured and punctured the wheel. Also, the contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 06V288000 (suspension) for the same failure. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 69,000.

- Alexandria , VA, USA

problem #27

Jan 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle front end alignment and brake problems. The consumer stated the vehicle pulled to the left at times, with or without the cruise control on. Also, the cruise control would not disengage, when he tapped the brake.

- North Tazewell, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?