Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,159 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Nov 032009

Liberty

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I drive a 2006 Jeep Liberty (4 door). Both windows on both backseat passenger doors fell into the doors on more than two occasions in the last 6 months. The glass windows fall into the doors and will not come back up.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #23

Apr 202008

Liberty

  • 28,521 miles
Driver's side door windows (front and back seat) fall down and fail to stay up without tape. They have been taped up for over a year B/C we refuse to pay to have them fixed. Have researched online and found countless complaints about this. Dealership claims we would have to pay to get it fixed although it is obviously a defect. The main component of the regulator is plastic and runs on a metal track, causing the plastic to wear down and no longer be able to grip on the rail and support the window. Newer model Jeep do not have this part, so obviously they were aware of the problem and upgraded the part to eliminate this problem.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #22

Nov 202008

Liberty

  • 32,000 miles
Like many Jeep Liberty owners, I too have a rear driver's window that is taped up to prevent it from falling down into the door. My mileage at the time 32,000. Estimated cost $280.

- Corry, PA, USA

problem #21

Apr 032009

Liberty

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side front window fell down. Upon investagatoin found regulator wire came out.

- Ridgway, PA, USA

problem #20

Sep 072009

Liberty

  • 78,450 miles
My 2006 Jeep Liberty passenger window fell in the door while I was driving. I was driving upstate and had to ride four hours with the window down at night. When I called the dealership about the window they said it was a common problem with the window regulator and cost about $500 to replace.

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

Aug 282009

Liberty

  • miles
Rear drivers side window broke, fell into door Aug 2008 and was repaired by the dealer, one year to date same problem, dealer now tells me I must pay $75 to have it repaired, regardless of the fact that it was a recall issue! I feel the dealer is wrong in charging this but I am stuck.

- Flowery Branch, GA, USA

problem #18

Aug 282009

Liberty

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Jeep Liberty sport, 44,000 miles. Left rear door window all of a sudden slammed down for no reason, will not go up now, appears all repair parts are back ordered.

- Exeter, NH, USA

problem #17

Aug 212009

Liberty

  • 50,000 miles
I bought a 2006 Jeep Liberty limited on 8-20-09 in excellent condition with approximately 50,000 miles. Before I even drove the car off the dealerships lot, the rear driver's-side window/window regulator failed rendering the window inoperable. Dealership did not have part and had to seal in up position so as not to fall, while part is being ordered. Upon extensive research on the internet on various highly respected car review/rating sites, I have learned that the 2006 Jeep Liberty has a known defect in quality of window regulator design and material used which causes windows to drop into doors or cease operating routinely on average of every 2-3 months. Yesterday while driving, my rear passenger window dropped while I was driving 65 mph on a major highway in traffic. I was subsequently startled to the point I swerved, and narrowly missed hitting another car which would have caused a multiple car collision on a major interstate. I have since taped my window in the "up" position until I can resolve this issue with dealer. Dealership has informed me that they will only cover this first replacement/repair, and that I will be responsible for future window regulator repairs of $500 each. This is absolutely unacceptable. A company/dealership should stand 100% behind their product and should certainly address potential safety issues resulting from something as critical as this. The known window regulator failure could cause accidents, bodily injury, theft/vandalism issues, and depreciation and degradation of vehicle interior due to weather damage. I will be filing complaints with state attorney general and car manufacturer/corporate headquarters. A safety recall should immediately be issued, and these window regulators should be redesigned with something other than plastic that has proven to repeatedly fail. While certainly an inconvenience of time, and a financial drain and stress to consumer, this is most assuredly a very serious danger to occupants & other drivers.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #16

Aug 202009

Liberty

  • 50,000 miles
I bought a 2006 Jeep Liberty limited on 8-20-09 in excellent condition with approximately 50,000 miles. Before I even drove the car off the dealerships lot, the rear driver's-side window/window regulator failed rendering the window inoperable. Dealership did not have part and had to seal in up position so as not to fall, while part is being ordered. Upon extensive research on the internet on various highly respected car review/rating sites, I have learned that the 2006 Jeep Liberty has a known defect in quality of window regulator design and material used which causes windows to drop into doors or cease operating routinely on average of every 2-3 months. Yesterday while driving, my rear passenger window dropped while I was driving 65 mph on a major highway in traffic. I was subsequently startled to the point I swerved, and narrowly missed hitting another car which would have caused a multiple car collision on a major interstate. I have since taped my window in the "up" position until I can resolve this issue with dealer. Dealership has informed me that they will only cover this first replacement/repair, and that I will be responsible for future window regulator repairs of $500 each. This is absolutely unacceptable. A company/dealership should stand 100% behind their product and should certainly address potential safety issues resulting from something as critical as this. The known window regulator failure could cause accidents, bodily injury, theft/vandalism issues, and depreciation and degradation of vehicle interior due to weather damage. I will be filing complaints with state attorney general and car manufacturer/corporate headquarters. A safety recall should immediately be issued, and these window regulators should be redesigned with something other than plastic that has proven to repeatedly fail. While certainly an inconvenience of time and financial drain and stress to the consumer, this is most assuredly a very serious danger to the consumer.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #15

Apr 102009

Liberty

  • 37,000 miles
The driver's rear window regulator broke and now the window will not go up and down and slides down by itself. Chrysler only sells the motor and regulator and everything as one package, so even though I can hear the motor working and it is most likely a broken piece of plastic, because that is what Jeep use for regulators, that is causing the problem im going to have to pay 300 dollars to buy everything. If Chrysler would use a metal bracket as a regulator instead of a cheap piece of plastic there would not be so many problems with Jeep Liberty's window regulators breaking. And since they don't sell regulators by themselves it is almost like Chrysler is doing it just to make more money and that they don't care about their customers at all. It is a little bit ridiculous that they have not recalled these shotty quality regulators or even addressed the problem at all.

- Johnston, IA, USA

problem #14

Jun 152008

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. no unusual events, window (rear driver's side) seldom cycled in use. 2. 1 occurrence, window gaped slowly from about an inch to three inches when car was stationary. And would fall completely down when driving. Consequences? interior of the car was exposed to weather. 3. regulator failure diagnosed. Part replaced under warranty.

- Elkhart, KS, USA

problem #13

Jun 282009

Liberty

  • 38,402 miles
2006 Jeep Liberty rear driverside window dropped in to the door frame while driving down highway on 6-28-09. At 60mph the noise almost caused me so crash!! told it was window regultor...... it would cost me 500 to replace. I only have 38, xxx miles on my Jeep.......after reading online this is has been a large problem for a while.... which just snuck up on me yesturday. Please review this window concern thank you myra rooks willard Missouri

- Willard, MO, USA

problem #12

Dec 122008

Liberty

  • 40,500 miles
Wanted a smoke and rolled down the rear window a little by mistake. Tried to roll it up and nothing. Look back and the window is sitting halfway down. Pulled over to try and get the window up and the door wont open. Piece of the window assembly is interfering with the lock because the kids got in that door when we left. Door will not open from inside or outside. It opens 1/2 inch and sticks.

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #11

Feb 142008

Liberty

  • 35,108 miles
Dealership stated there was nothing wrong with my front ABS brakes. Still after 14,746 miles give or take a few my brakes still have periodic pulsation. I should of wrote this complaint 14,746 miles ago my vehicle now has 49,175 I bought it 34,429 thank god for extended warranties because otherwise I would have no windows because after buying a $16,000 vehicle I could not afford to replace all the window regulators that broke oh and I had to have a fuel pump module replaced it did not fix the problem my main concern on this heap im mean Jeep are the breaks front and rear and that Chrysler Jeep will not be held accountable for these problems until a person has died. There are many other problems cosmetic problems like the interior and heater vents. But not life threatening. I also have many concerns with the electrical system but again the dealer crown motors of redding California states that they cant manifest it they cant fix it every time I get my Jeep back from them it runs worse that it did prior.

- Anderson , CA, USA

problem #10

Aug 162008

Liberty

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the rear driver's side window regulator fractured, which caused the cables to snap and the window to fail. She called the dealer and they stated that the front window regulators were in the process of failing. The repair would cost $329 for each window and associated parts. The technician stated that the failure was common for this year, make, and model vehicle. As of March 12, 2009, the vehicle has not been repaired. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 60,000 and current mileage was 65,000.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #9

Feb 282009

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 80 mph on normal road conditions, the contact heard a loud noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. Unexpectedly, the rear passenger window glass began to fall inside the door panel. The driver immediately pulled over to secure the glass with a heavy duty adhesive. The authorized dealer stated that the window regulator was the cause of the failure and would cost $450 to repair. The parts were unavailable for the repair so the contact scheduled an appointment to secure the window glass in the interim. The failure and current mileages were unavailable.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #8

Jan 032007

Liberty

  • 10,182 miles
Power window failure. Front left two different times. Rear left two different times. Same problem each time. Window stops going up or down with power switch and then window falls into the door. Safety issue is that this happened while driving on the interstate. First instance 1/3/07 10,182 miles: 2nd instance 4/20/07 16,789 miles; 3rd instance 11/08 61,777 miles; 4th instance 1/09 64,000 miles. First two times were repaired under warranty. Last two times are my responsibility. (vehicle is out of warranty due to high mileage.)

- Ponder, TX, USA

problem #7

Feb 102009

Liberty

  • 65,750 miles
2006 Jeep Liberty window fell down without having any reason. I have read on this website that an investigation does not need a specific number of complaints to start. I am just wondering why a part that cost from 350-600 to replace and has a number of complaints does not have an investigation. This to me seems like a one way for the Chrysler dealer decided to start to make money. This vehicle has had all four window regulators replaced in the last year and a half and now the driver side is down again. When will the manufacture or safercar going to step to the plate and do what they say they will do?

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #6

Dec 162008

Liberty

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. Within six months, the window regulators that power the windows failed. Four different regulators had to be replaced. In addition, all of the windows on the vehicle had to be replaced under warranty. The warranty expires in March of 2009 and the regulators continue to fail. The manufacturer stated that they would not repair the regulators for free during the next repair and that no recall was available for the windows. The failure mileage was 21,000.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #5

Nov 282008

Liberty

  • 45,975 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. While driving approximately 45 mph, the contact accidentally lowered the rear driver's side window. She attempted to close the window, but was unsuccessful. She pulled over to the side of the road to physically push the window back up; however, the window fell into the door. The vehicle was driven in cold weather with the window down and the contact's toddler in the back seat. The vehicle was inspected by a local mechanic at her residence and she was informed that the regulator needed to be replaced. The dealer has not been notified. The manufacturer advised her to call the senior department, but she received no assistance. The current mileage was 46,000 and failure mileage was 45,975.

- Greenwich , OH, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?