Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,771 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 7 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #135

Aug 302010


  • 47,000 miles


2006 Jeep Liberty sport 4 X 4 window regulator failure: About to leave for work and found a rear window down on my Jeep. When I tried to use the button to raise it a loud grinding noise occurred and the window would not go up. Chrysler dealership charged me $442.73 to replace the regulator with, what the representative said, was the new type that Chrysler uses now. Rep also said I had to buy a new window glass because the new regulator was not guaranteed to work with the old glass. The new glass is not tinted to match the other car windows. There are thousands of complaints posted online, from Jeep Liberty owners, who have had the same problem repeatedly. There is an online petition to Chrysler to recall these vehicles and absorb the expense of having these faulty regulators replaced. There is a class action suit against volks wagen for this same problem. Not knowing when one of your car windows will drop is a safety hazard. There is a potential for broken glass, a dangerous driving distraction, and I was not secure in my car, though having all doors locked, my window would not go up. This leaves the car open to easy theft. Since Chrysler is using a "new" window regulator, that doesn't fit the old glass, it must know of the widespread problem of their faulty original regulators. In the thousands of posted consumer complaints, regarding this problem, it shows the problem has been going on for years. Customers are paying hundreds of dollars for replacement costs.

- Fraser, MI, USA

problem #134

Jan 012009


  • 45,000 miles
Driver's side window went off track and I took it to the dealer and they fixed it. Now the driver's side rear window falls down for no apparent reason. It happens several times daily I can not keep it up. The driver's side window keeps going off track. The passenger side window squeaks real bad.

- Hesperia, MI, USA

problem #133

Aug 302010


  • 46,632 miles
2006 Jeep Liberty. Just had a third window fall into the door of my vehicle. I have already replaced two, costing me $200 a piece with an extended warranty. My car was left exposed to elements all night and luckily was not broken into. The window motors fail for no apparent reason. The new mechanism requires a whole new window. Jeep knows about this problem, there are tons of posts on the internet where the same thing has happened to other people. Jeep is ripping off it's customers, it should pay for the replacement of the windows. What if it falls down while I am driving down the interstate in the rain with my two kids in the back? it's shameful.

- Whispering Pines, NC, USA

problem #132

Aug 202010


  • 56,500 miles


Vehicle parked in lot - not moving at all - driver side rear window dropped in door. Unable to lift with power window button. This is the seventh window regulator to fail on this vehicle - fourth one for this particular door. Dealer diagnosed as failed regulator and indicated that manufacturer fix for this problem is replacement of regulator part and window glass - $575.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #131

Aug 142010


  • 41,311 miles
Power window regulator broke/needed replaced on 2006 Jeep Liberty. Second one to fail, first covered under warranty, second was not (price $340 dollars). Happened to both rear windows which are rarely down.

- Springboro, OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #130

Aug 172010


  • 91,000 miles
I left work today and walked out to my car to find my back driver side window down. When I tried to put it up, it wouldn't go. This is the third time I have had this problem on the same vehicle and this will be the second time, almost a year to the day, that this window has had this problem. The regulator will need to be replaced, again, and the cost will again be over $300. Even after the regulator is replaced my vehicle will not be safe. The complete randomness of this occurrence and the fact that this is the second time on the same window within a year, leaves me to believe that it will happen again. I can no longer leave anything of value in my car. I have to be careful when traveling with my dogs. I won't be able to take children in my car without another adult present. The window falls completely into the door leaving the space totally open and unsafe. After researching this I have found that there are thousands of people having this same problem, it is only a matter of time before someone gets hurt.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #129

Aug 122010


  • 43,750 miles


1. there are not events leading up to the failure. 2. the rear drivers side window regulator. It has broken 3 times in two years. The consequence is that during times of extreme heat or cold, the window will stay down posing a health risk (in cold weather-cold related illness and in hot weather-dehydration) as well as a safety risk (outside debris entering vehicle at high velocities) to the rear passenger. 3. the regulator has been replaced three times: Twice by dealership and once by myself. The old parts are not available.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #128

Jun 012007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the window regulator were defective. The rear right window fell inside the door and would not close. The windows also cracked in half due to improper settings of the regulators. The owner had all four windows replaced at her expense. Chrysler stated that they were aware of the failure but there were no recalls. The owner stated that Chrysler was offering a discount to repair the vehicle; however, it should be at no charge. The current and failure mileages were 48,000. Updated 11/08/10 * bf updated 11/10/10

- Medina , OH, USA

problem #127

Jun 162010


  • 54,000 miles
While driving the car the windows fall down and possibly break under right circumstances and all eventually fall down and don't work when fall make big bang scares the driver at high speed you think you hit someone!!

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #126

Mar 062009


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated the two rear windows failed. The contact was advised by an independent mechanic that the motors failed and would need to be replaced. The contact stated the rear driver side window motor was replaced one year prior. The rear passenger side window motor was replaced one month prior to the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 69,800.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #125

Jul 272010


  • 48,712 miles


In March 2009 I purchased a used 2006 Jeep Liberty and in August 2009 the driver side rear window stopped working just a loud clicking sound and then you can manual pull and push the window down. A new regulator/cable and window had to be installed. In March 2010 the same thing happened on the front drivers side window and the front passenger window. In July 2010 the rear driver side window stopped working again. Each time the windows stops working they need to replaced. Money out of my pocket, now my extended warranty is no longer in effect and the work that gets down only has a warranty for so long. There has to be a better fix then forking over $500+ each time a window stops working. It seems at this rate it's going to happened now every year. I am afraid to use the window at all. This needs to be addressed!!!!

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #124

Jul 232010


  • 47,150 miles
Rear driver side window regulator failed and the window dropped. Research shows that this is very common with Jeep window regulators. A cheaply made plastic clip routinely breaks causing the window to drop (both front and rear power windows). Many owners have replaced multiple window regulators costing several hundred dollars each. Failure occurs even on windows that are rarely operated. The failures create a safety issue and should be addressed with a recall. The weak window regulators also make it very easy to break into a vehicle.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #123

Jul 042010


  • 55,000 miles
I own a 2006 Jeep Liberty, for no apparent reason the rear passenger window just fell down. I went to the dealer and they told me this is happening all the time. It seams to me that this would be a safety concern if you have children. The regulators break causing the window to fall (per mechanic).

- Lowell, IN, USA

problem #122

Jul 162008


  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the window regulator would continuously fail. The front driver side window failed once and the rear passenger side window failed once. The dealer replaced the window regulator twice at the contact's expense. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not under recall but advised they would cover the costs for parts and the contact would be responsible for the cost of labor. The dealer made repairs to the window. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 28,000 and current mileage was 41,000.

- Lee'summit, MO, USA

problem #121

Jul 122010


  • miles
All the window regulators in my 2006 Jeep Liberty have failed and I am on my 2nd go round now. Had one replaced on 7/12 and on 7/14 had another one fail. I simply cannot afford the $1000 to fix both within a 3 day time period. I'm sorry - this is really unacceptable for chrsyler to have not issued a recall. It is a safety issue!.because of the high cost involved that I just couldn't afford I had a friend "rig" yet another of the windows only a few short months ago and now it cannot be opened at all. Please do something about this issue. I see hundreds of other complaints online from Jeep owners that have had the same problem over and over. Thank you for listening!

- Hobe Sound, FL, USA

problem #120

Jan 102010


  • 60,000 miles
Replaced 3 windows that would not stay closed (common problem). Went to dealer for an oil change found out that all 5 (or 6) break hoses were about to burst and car was unsafe to drive. No fault of my own but Jeep has "no idea" how it happened! kept my car for 4 weeks! now the key gets stuck in the ignition every time I turn off the car! car's a lemon!!!

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #119

Jul 032008

Liberty 4WD

  • 19,170 miles
Both rear windows on my 2006 Jeep Liberty fell down into the doors. The rear windows had only been lowered and raised four times. The first one fell at 19,000 miles; the second fell at 22,000 miles on vehicle.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #118

Jul 082010


  • 43,887 miles
While driving on 75N with no warring my back passenger window made a loud grinding noise then just fell down and would not go back up. I had two puppies in the back seat and while I was driving they were trying to go by the window. Drove 5 miles like this to the nearest exit and was fortunate to find a tuffy auto service store. The window was diagnosed as a faulty regulator and I was told it would be $400 to fix it and about 3 hours. I could not afford that at the time, so I duck taped plastic to the window and drove another 2 hours North on 75 to get home. This was very scary and after a server safety issue! I have contacted Jeep/Chrysler's complaint line and after two days have still not received a call back from a case manager. I was absolutely shocked to discover that there are close to 200 complaints on this very situation on and that Jeep is not backing their products. I am waiting to hear from them to see how this will be covered. This truly could have been very serious with the death of my dog and what if a baby was back there. In many cases the window's are actually shattering with out warning as they fall.

- Oxford, FL, USA

problem #117

Sep 192007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the rear passenger window fell off track into the door while she was driving approximately 35 mph. A few weeks later, the rear driver side window fell when the vehicle was parked. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the regulator was replaced for both windows. In April 2010, the rear driver side window fell inside the door; however, the dealer replaced the regulator and the window. In July 2010, the front driver side window failed while driving approximately 10 mph. The vehicle was in the dealers possession when the complaint was filed. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that they would follow up with her but had not done so. The current mileage was 15,759. The failure mileage was approximately 800. Updated 09/09/10. Updated 09/10/10

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #116

Jul 012010


  • 66,000 miles
Jeep Liberty 2006 left rear window crashed down while driving. Regulator broken found that there where many complaints on this with Jeep.

- Syosset, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?